Related Guides
United States
- Violent Crime (FBI Crime Data Explorer) Crime data for the nation are derived from Summary Reporting System (SRS) and National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) reports voluntarily submitted to the FBI.
- National Crime Victimization Survey (BJS) Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of about 240,000 persons in about 150,000 households. The NCVS collects information on nonfatal personal crimes (i.e., rape or sexual assault, robbery, aggravated and simple assault, and personal larceny) and household property crimes (i.e., burglary/trespassing, motor vehicle theft, and other types of theft) both reported and not reported to the police.
- Violent Crime (ICPSR) Results from keyword search for "violent crime" in ICPSR collections.
- ALERRT Active Attack Data (Texas State University) This website is part of an ongoing project of the ALERRT Research Team that provides up-to-date active attack data regarding events, shooters, weaponry, and resolution of active shooter events. ALERRT has undergone a change in philosophical approach to the events that we prepare to respond to. A key component of this change is analyzing events other than just shootings. These additional events include vehicle attacks, knife attacks, and any other type of event where the primary concern is an
- Violent Crimes Raw Data (The Trace) The Trace Obtained Data On 4.3 Million Violent Crimes From 50+ Police and Sheriff’s Departments. 22 datasets, include all cities and selected cities (Including Boston)
- YTD Murder Comparison Big city murder comparisons 2021 and 2022.
- Female Murder Victims and Victim-Offender Relationship, 2021 (BJS) The percentage of females murdered by an intimate partner was 5 times higher than for males
International
- United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) A core mission by UNODC is to produce and disseminate high quality statistics on drugs, crime and criminal justice at the international level. UNODC regularly updates global statistical series on crime, criminal justice, drug trafficking and prices, drug production, and drug use.
- Eurostat: Crime and Criminal Justice Since 2008, the crime statistics published by Eurostat cover: Intentional homicide by legal status and sex of the person involved - number and rate for the relevant sex group; Intentional homicide victims by victim-offender relationship and sex - number and rate for the relevant sex group; Intentional homicide victims by age and sex; Intentional homicide victims in largest cities by sex; Intentional homicide offences in largest cities
- United Nations Surveys of Crime Trends and Operations of Criminal Justice Systems Series (ICPSR) The main objectives of the survey include: to conduct a more focused inquiry into the incidence of crime worldwide, to improve knowledge about the incidence of reported crime in the global development perspective and also international understanding of effective ways to counteract crime, to improve the dissemination globally of the information collected, to facilitate an overview of trends and interrelationships among various parts of the criminal justice system so as to promote informed
- Contemporary Maritime Piracy Database (CMPD) The CMPD includes information on maritime piracy attacks from 1991 through 2018, with over 10,000 cases worldwide. Each attack lists information on the date, time, location, target vessel characteristics, victimization, responsible party details, arms, responses, and evasion tactics.
- Crime at Sea: A Global Database of Maritime Pirate Attacks (1993–2020) This dataset contains information from more than 7,500 maritime pirate attacks that took place between January 1993 and December 2020, as well as country indicator data for the same time period.
- IMB Piracy and Armed Robbery Map This live map shows all piracy and armed robbery incidents reported to IMB Piracy Reporting Centre during 2022. If exact coordinates are not provided, estimated positions are shown based on information provided. Zoom-in and click on the pointers to view more information of individual attacks. Pointers may be superimposed on each other. Maps available for 2021 and 2020.
- Historical Violence Database Our goal is to create a collaborative database on the history of violent crime, violent death, and collective violence from medieval times to the present.The purpose is to help scholars better understand violent deaths (homicides, suicides, accidents, casualties of war), serious assaults (attempted murders, sexual assaults, arsons, maimings, aggravated assaults), and contentious political action that leads to violence. Data files from Asia, Europe, Australia, New Zealand, and the U.S.
