Skip to Main Content
NACJD: Courts (ICPSR)
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago
National Center for State Courts (NCSC)
For more than 50 years, the National Center for State Courts (NCSC) has shared authoritative knowledge and expertise to address current and emerging issues and trends in state court administration. NCSC’s mission today—promoting the rule of law and improving the administration of justice in state courts and courts around the world—springs logically from its original purpose to gather information and produce innovations to benefit all courts.
Court Statistics Project
CSP (a joint project of the National Center for State Courts and the Conference of State Court Administrators) collects and publishes state court caseload data from the courts of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Northern Mariana Islands, and Guam.
CSP Stat (Court Statistics Project)
CSP STAT is a collection of interactive dashboards providing a comprehensive look at annual state court caseloads. Available from 2019.
Annual Caseload Reports (Court Statistics Project)
The Court Statistics Project (CSP) has published state court caseload statistics since 1975. 1975 through 2018 are available here. Beginning with 2019 data, CSP no longer publishes a static digest. From 2019 onward, data are published in CSP STAT.
Pandemic Caseloads (Court Statistics Project)
Explore the impact go the COVID-19 pandemic on state court caseloads and its potential effects on future caseloads.
Federal Criminal Case Processing Statistics (BJS)
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS), through its Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC), compiles comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the federal criminal justice system. The Federal Criminal Case Processing Statistics (FCCPS) data tool is an interface that can be used to analyze federal case processing data. Users can generate various statistics in the areas of federal law enforcement, prosecution/courts, and incarceration for the years between 1998 and 2019. Users can also look up data based on title and section of the U.S. Criminal Code for the years
Civil Justice Survey Data (National Center for State Courts)
The Civil Justice Survey of State Courts helps state courts understand civil litigation by allowing researchers and policy makers to analyze and examine statistical data across the nation. The Civil Justice Survey of State Courts commenced in 1992 and is comprised of four different iterations at the trial level.
Federal Court Cases: FJC Integrated Database (Federal Judicial Center)
The FJC, under a working arrangement with the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts (AOUSC), provides through this site public access to its Integrated Data Base (IDB). The IDB contains data on civil case and criminal defendant filings and terminations in the district courts, along with bankruptcy court and appellate court case information.
Statistics and Reports (United States Courts)
Provides statistical data and analysis on the business of the federal Judiciary. Specific publications address the work of the appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts; the probation and pretrial services systems; and other components of the U.S. courts.
The Supreme Court Database
The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2020 terms.
Federal Court Management Statistics (United States Courts)
Gives profiles for regional courts of appeals and district courts, plus national totals and rankings. Data are based on workload per three-judge panel in the appellate courts, workload per authorized judgeship in the district courts, and median times for court action on cases. Covers 12-month periods ending March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31.
United States Sentencing Commission Annual Datafiles
Annual datasets, going back to 2002, on individuals and organizations criminally sentenced in federal court.
United States Sentencing Commission, Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics
The tables and figures available on the ISB are based on the tables and figures available in the Commission's printed Sourcebook of Federal Sentencing Statistics (Sourcebook). The Sourcebook displays federal sentencing data from the Commission's datafiles. As part of its ongoing mission, the Commission provides Congress, the Judiciary, the Executive branch, and the general public with data extracted and analyzed from sentencing documents submitted by courts to the Commission.
National Survey of Tribal Court Systems (BJS)
The National Survey of Tribal Court Systems (NSTCS) is the first complete enumeration of tribal court systems operating in the United States and gathers administrative and operational information from tribal court systems, prosecutors' offices, and indigent defense providers operating in the United States.
National Survey Of Indigent Defense Systems (BJS)
In 2013, the National Survey of Indigent Defense Systems (NSIDS) was designed as a census of all forms of indigent defense public defender, contract counsel, and assigned or appointed counsel in all fifty states and the District of Columbia. Indigent defense was characterized as state-administered (one or two central offices directing indigent defense for the entire state) or county-administered (each county provides and administers indigent defense, without a state central coordinating office).
The National Registry of Exonerations
The Registry collects, analyzes and disseminates information about all known exonerations of innocent criminal defendants in the United States, from 1989 to the present. We publish their stories and we provide accessible, searchable online statistical data about their cases. We also conduct empirical studies of the process of exoneration and of factors that lead to the underlying wrongful convictions.
Capitol Hill Siege Charges (Program on Extremism, George Washington University)
The Program on Extremism has launched a project to create a central database of court records related to the events of January 6, 2021. This page will be updated as additional individuals are charged with criminal activities and new records are introduced into the criminal justice system. You can view today's numbers, check out our interactive visualizations, browse the cases, read our related reports, and download our database below.
iPhone Search Warrants 2019 (Motherboard)
The database includes court-docket information, the requesting agency, the suspected crimes, phone models, and more.
Cook County, Illinois Felony Cases (Cook County States Attorney)
Case-level datasets contain anonymized information about every felony case processed by the SAO (dating back to roughly 2010). They are divided into four categories by stages of interaction with the SAO — Intake, Initiation, Sentencing, and Disposition, and include tens of millions of data points, representing hundreds of thousands of distinct cases.
Salem Witchcraft Site Datasets
The Salem Witchcraft Website contains sixteen data sets. They provide only a small portion of the historical record about Salem. They provide information, primarily of a quantitative nature, about three major aspects of the outbreak: its chronology, its geographic spread, and the social and economic divisions in Salem Village that shaped events. Use the Site Map to locate the datasets.
Innocence Database, Death Penalty Information Center
For Inclusion on DPIC's Innocence List:
Defendants must have been convicted, sentenced to death and subsequently either-
a. Been acquitted of all charges related to the crime that placed them on death row, or
b. Had all charges related to the crime that placed them on death row dismissed by the prosecution or the courts, or c. Been granted a complete pardon based on evidence of innocence.
The Condemned Dataset (The Intercept)
The Intercept set out to compile a comprehensive dataset on everyone sentenced to die in active death penalty jurisdictions since 1976. As of November 30, 2019, the dataset contains information on 7,335 individual death sentences handed down since July 1976. Of these, 2,752 individuals are currently on death row and 1,448 have been executed, while 3,135 people have been removed from death row for a reason other than execution. More than 2,000 have had their sentences reduced. Hundreds have died
National Juvenile Court Data Archive
The National Juvenile Court Data Archive (Archive) houses the automated records of cases handled by courts with juvenile jurisdiction. The Archive was established by the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, within the U.S. Department of Justice, to promote access to automated juvenile court data sets for juvenile justice research and policymaking efforts. This web site was developed to inform researchers about the available data sets and the procedures for use and access.
Easy Access to State and County Juvenile Court Case Counts (EZACO)
Easy Access to State and County Juvenile Court Case Counts (EZACO) gives users quick access to State and county juvenile court case counts for delinquency, status offense, and dependency cases. Data are from 1997 to 2019.
Easy Access to Juvenile Court Statistics (EZAJCS)
Developed to facilitate independent analysis of national estimates of delinquency cases processed by the nation's juvenile courts. With this application, users can perform unique analyses on the age, sex, and race of juveniles involved in these cases as well as the referral offense, the use of detention, adjudication and case disposition. Users can also view pre-formatted tables describing the demographic characteristics of youth involved in the juvenile justice system and how juvenile
Eurostat: Crime and Criminal Justice
Since 2008, the crime statistics published by Eurostat cover:
Legal cases processed in first instance courts by legal status of the court process;
Persons brought before criminal courts by legal status of the court process
Special Data Collections on Administration of Justice (2011-2013) (UNODC)
Total number of prosecution personnel, male and female prosecution personnel, new criminal cases received by public prosecutors, criminal cases disposed of by public prosecutors, criminal cases dismissed by public prosecutors, and more.
Witch Trials in Europe
Dataset of 10,000+ witch trials in 21 countries accused 43,000+ people of witchcraft over a period of 550 years.
Indian Court Cases (Development Data Lab)
We obtained case records from the Indian e-Courts platform -- a public system put in place by the Indian government in 2013. The publicly available information includes the filing, registration, hearing, and decision dates for each case, as well as petitioner and respondent names, the position of the presiding judge, the acts and sections under which the case was filed, and the final decision or disposition. The database covers India's lower judiciary -- all courts including and under the
New Zealand Court Workload Statistics
Workload statistics for New Zealand courts and tribunals are now available online.
These key court statistics provide a picture of court workloads over the past 12 months, and are updated every six months. Statistics are provided for courts by jurisdiction and location. The following categories of statistics are available for the Supreme Court, Court of Appeal, High Court, District Courts, and Specialist Courts and Tribunals.
Death Sentences and Executions 2021 (Amnesty International)
This report covers the judicial use of the death penalty for the period January to December 2021. Amnesty International reports only on executions, death sentences and other aspects of the use of the death penalty, such as commutations and exonerations, where there is reasonable confirmation. In many countries governments do not publish information on their use of the death penalty.