Skip to Main Content
United States
Expanded Property Crime (FBI Crime Data Explorer)
Expanded Property Crime Data for the nation are derived from Summary Reporting System (SRS) and National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) reports voluntarily submitted to the FBI.
Cargo Theft Master File Data (FBI Crime Data Explorer)
Cargo theft is defined as “the criminal taking of any cargo.” This includes actual physical theft as well as cyber theft and documentation fraud, which is the altering of the ownership, destination, or contents of a cargo shipment. For purposes of this definition, cargo shall be deemed as “moving in commerce” at all points between the point of origin and the final destination. Download file in csv.
National Crime Victimization Survey (BJS)
Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of about 240,000 persons in about 150,000 households. The NCVS collects information on nonfatal personal crimes (i.e., rape or sexual assault, robbery, aggravated and simple assault, and personal larceny) and household property crimes (i.e., burglary/trespassing, motor vehicle theft, and other types of theft) both reported and not reported to the police.
National Stolen Art File (FBI)
The National Stolen Art File (NSAF) is a database of stolen art and cultural property. Stolen objects are submitted for entry to the NSAF by law enforcement agencies in the U.S. and abroad. When an object is recovered, it is removed from the database. However, be aware that not all recoveries are reported to the NSAF.
International
Stolen Works of Art Database (INTERPOL)
Our database of stolen works of art combines descriptions and pictures of more than 52,000 items. It is the only database at the international level with certified police information on stolen and missing objects of art. Requires registration.
Burglary (UNODC)
Rates of police-recorded offenses (burglary), per 100,000 population.
Theft (UNODC)
Rates of police-recorded offences (theft), per 100,000 population
Theft of Cars (UNODC)
Rates of police-recorded offences (car theft), per 100,000 population
Global Incidents and Trafficking Database (Nuclear Threat Initiative)
Providing free and open access to centralized information on incidents of nuclear and other radioactive material that has been lost, stolen, or is otherwise out of regulatory control, the Global Incidents and Trafficking Database and Annual Reports prepared by the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies (CNS) offer researchers and policymakers a unique resource to assess the nature and scope of nuclear security risks.
