Related Guides
United States
- JEET: Justice Expenditure and Employment Tool (BJS) The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) extracts justice expenditure and employment data from the U.S. Census Bureau's Annual Government Finance Survey and Annual Survey of Public Employment and Payroll. BJS has made these data available through the Justice Expenditure and Employment Tool (JEET), an interface that can generate expenditure and employment statistics for different justice categories (Total Justice, Police Protection, Judicial and Legal, Corrections) and different levels of government (National, State, County, City). The JEET will be updated annually with subsequent years and historical data from 1982 onward.
- NACJD: Law Enforcement (ICPSR) The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago
- Arrest Data (FBI Crime Data Explorer) Arrest Data for the nation are derived from Summary Reporting System (SRS) and National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) reports voluntarily submitted to the FBI.
- Arrest-Related Deaths (BJS) The Arrest-Related Deaths (ARD) component of Mortality In Correctional Institutions (MCI) (Formerly Deaths In Custody Reporting Program (DCRP) is a national census of all manners of arrest-related deaths and includes all civilian deaths that occurred during, or shortly after, state or local law enforcement personnel engaged in an arrest or restraint process. ARD data were collected on annual cycles that began January 1 and ended December 31 each calendar year from 2003 to 2012.
- Police-Public Contact Survey (BJS) The Police-Public Contact Survey (PPCS) provides detailed information on the characteristics of persons who had some type of contact with police during the past year, including those who contacted the police to report a crime or were pulled over in a traffic stop.
- Census of State and Local Law Enforcement Agencies (BJS) This report presents data on law enforcement agencies that employ at least one full-time equivalent sworn officer with general arrest powers and are operated by state and local governments. The report provides the number of law enforcement officers and the size of the populations they serve. It also describes tribal police departments, sheriffs’ offices, and law enforcement agencies with special jurisdictions.
- Law Enforcement Management and Administrative Statistics (BJS) Conducted periodically since 1987, the LEMAS core collects data from over 3,000 general purpose, county, and local law enforcement agencies, including all those that employ 100 or more full-time sworn officers and a nationally representative sample of smaller agencies. Data are obtained on agency responsibilities, operating expenditures, job functions of sworn and civilian employees, officer salaries and special pay, demographic characteristics of officers, weapons and armor policies,
- Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted (FBI) Data about officers who were killed—either feloniously or accidentally—or assaulted, are derived from reports voluntarily submitted by the officers’ employing agencies to the FBI’s Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted (LEOKA) Data Collection.
- Police Data Initiative The Police Data Initiative is a law enforcement community of practice that includes leading law enforcement agencies, technologists, and researchers committed to engaging their communities in a partnership to improve public safety that is built on a foundation of trust, accountability and innovation. The PDI represents the great work and leadership of more than 120 law enforcement agencies who have released more than 200 datasets to date.
- TRAC FBI The information about the FBI, its staffing and criminal enforcement efforts, was compiled by TRAC from a variety of sources. The sources included computerized data obtained under the Freedom of Information Act from the Justice Department and from the United States Office of Personnel Management. These data were supplemented by interviews with current and former government officials, attorneys, and agency data processing specialists.
Forfeiture
- Civil Asset Forfeiture (Institute for Justice) For 28 states, we obtained revenue data describing individual forfeited properties—a total of 355,000 properties for the 24 states with usable data. For another 11 states, we obtained revenue data for individual agencies or prosecutors’ offices. We also collected data on spending from forfeiture funds for 17 states, the largest collection of such data. We organized all these data into a single database for a total of over 17 million data points. Civil forfeiture allows police to
- Policing for Profit (Institute for Justice) Most states and the federal government have laws allowing police and prosecutors to seize and permanently keep Americans’ cash, cars, homes and other property suspected of being involved in a crime—without regard to the owners’ guilt or innocence. This is civil forfeiture, and it is rampant nationwide, with local, state and federal agencies using it to collectively forfeit billions of dollars each year. Many of these billions go directly to law enforcement, including the same
Policing
- National Use-of-Force Data Collection (FBI Crime Data Explorer) The FBI created the National Use of Force Data Collection in 2015, in partnership with law enforcement agencies, to provide nationwide statistics on law enforcement use-of-force incidents. The National Use-of-Force Data Collection offers big-picture insights, rather than information on specific incidents. The collection does not assess or report whether officers followed their department’s policy or acted lawfully.
- National Officer-Involved Homicide Database (NOIHD) The new National Officer Involved Homicide Database was developed to determine the factors related to officer-involved homicides nationally and in cities and towns.
- Washington Post Police Shootings Database In 2015, The Washington Post began to log every fatal shooting by an on-duty police officer in the United States.
- Mapping Police Violence (Campaign Zero) Mapping Police Violence integrates data from a number of sources, most notably Fatal Encounters.
- Fatal Force: Database of People Shot and Killed by Police (Washington Post) The Washington Post is compiling a database of every fatal shooting in the United States by a police officer in the line of duty since Jan. 1, 2015. Police shot and killed 585 people in 2019, according to an ongoing Washington Post database project that tracks and details the deaths.
- Fatal Encounters Database A step toward creating an impartial, comprehensive and searchable national database of people killed during interactions with police.
- The Henry A. Wallace Police Crime Database The Police Crime Database includes summary information on 10,287 criminal arrest cases from the years 2005-2014 involving 8,495 individual nonfederal sworn law enforcement officers, each of whom were charged with one or more crimes.
- The Stanford Open Policing Project n a typical day in the United States, police officers make more than 50,000 traffic stops. Our team is gathering, analyzing, and releasing records from millions of traffic stops by law enforcement agencies across the country. Our goal is to help researchers, journalists, and policymakers investigate and improve interactions between police and the public.
Poilice Violence at BLM Protests
- Police Brutality During George Floyd Protests This repository exists to accumulate and contextualize evidence of police brutality during the 2020 George Floyd protests.
- George Floyd Protest Police Brutality Videos on Twitter Includes the city and state of the incident, links to visual documentation on Twitter and YouTube, and a short description.
- Attacks on Journalists During BLM Protests 140+ “reports of arrests, violence, and intimidation against journalists” at the protests.
Police Misconduct & Accountability
- Police Misconduct Settlements (FiveThirtyEight/The Marshall Project) A FiveThirtyEight/The Marshall Project effort to collect comprehensive data on police misconduct settlements from 2010-19.
- NYPD Misconduct Complaint Database (Civilian Complaint Review Board) This database is a record of NYPD misconduct complaints made by the public to the Civilian Complaint Review Board (CCRB).
- OpenDataPhilly Complaints Against Police The Philadelphia Police Department (PPD) publishes three datasets: The Complaints Against Police (CAP) dataset documents the civilian complaints alleging police misconduct; the CAP Findings dataset provides demographic details of the police officer involved, the allegations, and the status of the PPD's Internal Affairs Division's investigation of and findings (if available) about the allegation; and the Complainant Demographics dataset shows the race, sex, and age of each person who
- Citizens Police Data Project (CPDP) (Invisible Institute) Citizens Police Data Project (CPDP) takes records of police interactions with the public – records that would otherwise be buried in internal databases – and opens them up to make the data useful to the public, creating a permanent record for every CPD police officer.
- Beneath the Surface Library of Misconduct Complaints (Invisible Institute) Our data team uncovered a pattern of Chicago Police officers allegedly ignoring sexual assault cases or mistreating sexual assault survivors, including dozens of children. The data also show how CPD’s Bureau of Internal Affairs (BIA) often fails to adequately investigate these cases and or to identify troubling patterns in police behavior. The records also demonstrate that BIA almost never sustained complaints against Chicago Police officers accused of misconduct in sexual assault cases.
- National Police Funding Database This database provides publicly available data of federal grants and military equipment transfers to more than 250 local law enforcement agencies across the nation along with demographic and police department data for those jurisdictions. It also provides, where available, information about police misconduct complaints filed by individuals, consent decrees, and settlement amounts.
Surveillance and Police Militerization
- Citizens Police Data Project, Chicago Citizens Police Data Project collects and publishes information about police misconduct in Chicago
- Atlas of Surveillance The Atlas of Surveillance is a database of surveillance technologies deployed by law enforcement in communities across the United States. We specifically focused on the most pervasive technologies, including drones, body-worn cameras, face recognition, cell-site simulators, automated license plate readers, predictive policing, camera registries, and gunshot detection. Although we have amassed more than 9,040 datapoints in 4,600-plus jurisdictions, our research only reveals the tip of the
- Drones in Public Safety (Bard College) The Public Safety Drones project is an ongoing initiative to track all local, state, and federal public safety agencies in the United States that own drones for operational use. This project also includes an analysis element that evaluates key datapoints and trends in the proliferation of public safety drones in the U.S. The Center for the Study of the Drone ceased active operations in the spring of 2020. The content on this website will remain available in perpetuity but will not be updated until further notice.
- Police Militarization (Law Enforcement Support Office, Defense Logistics Agency) DLA has the Department of Defense mission of disposing of obsolete/unneeded excess property turned in by U.S. military units around the world. The type of property turned in ranges from military-specific equipment and vehicles to generic office furniture, computers, medical items and shop equipment.
- Department of Defense 1033 Program (Data for Justice Project, ACLU Massachusetts) Spreadsheet of purchases of military weapons by local law enforcement departments from 1994 to 2017. Includes item name, quanitity, cost, and shipping date for police departments in 50 U.S. States and 4 U.S. Territories (District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands). While Boston Police Department does not appear on the list, federal law enforcement entities located in Boston, do.
- "1033" Program Transfers Since Ferguson (BuzzFeed News) This repository analyzes the transfers made by the Defense Logistics Agency to local law enforcement since the protests in Ferguson, Missouri in August 2014 in support of a BuzzFeed News story, published on June 4, 2020.
- National Police Funding Database This database provides publicly available data of federal grants and military equipment transfers to more than 250 local law enforcement agencies across the nation along with demographic and police department data for those jurisdictions. It also provides, where available, information about police misconduct complaints filed by individuals, consent decrees, and settlement amounts.
Police Reforms & Contracts
- 8cantwait use of force policies: city and state comparisons (Campaign Zero) 8cantwait.org advocates for eight restrictive use of force policies associated with fewer police killings. Compare cities and states.
- 8cantwait use of force polices in 100 cities (Campaign Zero) Direct csv download.
- Police Union Contract Project (checkthepolice.org) We are assembling the first open-source database of police union contracts and other documents related to police accountability for the 100 largest U.S. cities. These documents, obtained through FOIA requests via MuckRock, will be used for future analyses identifying the ways in which they impact police accountability.
Costs of Policing
- What Policing Costs: A Look at Spending in America's Biggest Cities (Vera Institute of Justice) To explore the cost of policing at the local level, Vera compiled data from the fiscal year 2020 adopted budgets of 72 of the biggest cities across the United States.
International
- AI Global Surveillance Index (Atlas of Surveillance) The index compiles empirical data on artificial intelligence surveillance use in more than 176 countries around the world.
- The Facial Recognition World Map (Atlas of Surveillance) A map, dataset, and analysis of facial recognition on the country level.
- IndiaPoliceEvents Corpus Covering the 2002 Gujarat Violence We combine corpus-level evaluation requirements with a real-world, social science setting and introduce the IndiaPoliceEvents corpus--all 21,391 sentences from 1,257 English-language Times of India articles about events in the state of Gujarat during March 2002. Our trained annotators read and label every document for mentions of police activity events, allowing for unbiased recall evaluations.
- New Zealand Police Data & Statistics Police routinely releases data on the last working day of each month via an interactive reporting tool known as policedata.nz. policedata.nz reports are designed to support partners and communities to access Police data to help inform their planning, decision-making and policy development. The reports may also be of interest to media, researchers and others. User guides explaining the data in policedata.nz reports are also available.
- German Police Crime Statistics (Bundeskriminalamt) The Police Crime Statistics of Germany (PCS) are compiled on the basis of the individual data sets at the “Länder” Criminal Police Offices (LKÄ) and at the Bundeskriminalamt (BKA, Federal Criminal Police Office).
