NACJD Homicide Data Resource Guide
This Homicide Data Resource Guide was designed by the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) staff to provide easy access to data collections related to homicide. For instance, it provides quick links to certain types of homicide studies and links to studies available for online data analysis. This resource guide also provides useful information for secondary analysis of NACJD data collections, such as customized help for complex data collections, information on how to obtain restricted access data, and links to funding opportunities and publications.
NACJD: Homicide (ICPSR)
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago
Crime Date Explorer: Expanded Homicide Data (FBI)
Expanded Homicide Data for the nation are derived from Summary Reporting System (SRS) and National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) reports voluntarily submitted to the FBI.
Easy Access to the FBI’s Supplementary Homicide Reports (1980-2020)
Provides access to more than thirty years of national and state data on homicide victims and known homicide offenders, including information on the age, sex, and race of victims and offenders, the victim-offender relationship, and the type of weapon used.
Jacob Kaplan's Concatenated Files: Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program Data: Supplementary Homicide Reports (SHR), 1976-2020 (OPENICPSR)
This is a single file containing all data from the Supplementary Homicide Reports from 1976 to 2018. The Supplementary Homicide Report provides detailed information about the victim, offender, and circumstances of the murder. Details include victim and offender age, sex, race, ethnicity (Hispanic/not Hispanic), the weapon used, circumstances of the incident, and the number of both offenders and victims.
Murder Accountability Project
America does a poor job tracking and accounting for its unsolved homicides. Every year, at least 5,000 killers get away with murder. The rate at which police clear homicides through arrest has declined over the years until, today, about a third go unsolved. At this site, you can determine how often police departments in your community clear a homicide through arrest using the "Clearance Rates" tab. You can also explore individual cases reported to the FBI or obtained by the Murder
Washington Post Criminal Homicides Database (GitHub)
The Washington Post collected data on more than 52,000 criminal homicides over the past decade in 50 of the largest American cities. The data included the location of the killing, whether an arrest was made and, in most cases, basic demographic information about each victim.
Mass Killings in America, 2006-Present (AP/USA Today/Northeastern University)
The Associated Press/USA TODAY/Northeastern University Mass Killings database tracks all U.S. homicides since 2006 involving four or more people killed (not including the offender) over a short period of time (24 hours) regardless of weapon, location, victim-offender relationship or motive. The database includes information on these and other characteristics concerning the incidents, offenders, and victims.
National Officer-Involved Homicide Database (NOIHD
The new National Officer Involved Homicide Database was developed to determine the factors related to officer-involved homicides nationally and in cities and towns.
ALERRT Active Attack Data (Texas State University)
This website is part of an ongoing project of the ALERRT Research Team that provides up-to-date active attack data regarding events, shooters, weaponry, and resolution of active shooter events. ALERRT has undergone a change in philosophical approach to the events that we prepare to respond to. A key component of this change is analyzing events other than just shootings. These additional events include vehicle attacks, knife attacks, and any other type of event where the primary concern is an
Fatal Encounters Database
A step toward creating an impartial, comprehensive and searchable national database of people killed during interactions with police.
WISQARS: Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System, National Center for Injury Prevention and Control, Centers for Diesase Control and Prevention
CDC’s WISQARS™ (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System) is an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data from a variety of trusted sources. Researchers, the media, public health professionals, and the public can use WISQARS™ data to learn more about the public health and economic burden associated with unintentional and violence-related injury in the United States.
National Violent Death Report System (CDC)
In NVDRS, a violent death is defined as “a death resulting from the intentional use of physical force or power against oneself, another person, or against a group or community.” NVDRS collects information about homicides, suicides, deaths by legal intervention (excluding executions), and deaths of undetermined intent that might have occurred due to violence.