Related Guides
United States
- NACJD: Child Abuse & Maltreatment (ICPSR) The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago
- National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN) The National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect (NDACAN) promotes secondary analysis of child abuse and neglect data by providing researchers with high quality datasets, documentation and technical support, and encourages collaboration within the scientific community.
- National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System (NCANDS) The National Child Abuse and Neglect Data System (NCANDS) is a voluntary data collection system that gathers information from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico about reports of child abuse and neglect. NCANDS was established in response to the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act of 1988. The data are used to examine trends in child abuse and neglect across the country, and key findings are published in our Child Welfare Outcomes Reports to Congress and annual Child
- Kids Count Data Center: Child Abuse & Neglect By providing high-quality data and trend analysis through its KIDS COUNT Data Center, the Foundation seeks to enrich local, state and national discussions concerning ways to secure better futures for all children
- Credibly Accused (ProPublica) Nationwide dataset of 6700 Catholic clergy credibly accused of sexual misconduct or assault.
- U.S. Customs and Border Protection Child Detentions, 2017 to 2020 (The Marshall Project) The Marshall Project received public records from U.S. Customs and Border Protection in October, 2020, related to the detention of minors. This data was used for the story 500,000 Kids, 30 Million Hours: Trump’s Vast Expansion of Child Detention by Anna Flagg and Andrew R. Calderón.
- NACJD: Juvenile Delinquency & Justice (ICPSR) The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago
- Compendium of National Juvenile Justice Data Sets (OJJDP) The Compendium of National Juvenile Justice Data Sets is an online resource for researchers that is intended as an aid to investigations of juvenile offending, victimization, and contact with the juvenile justice system. It both publicizes data sources that users may find valuable and provides information intended to help with the practical aspects of obtaining and analyzing data.
- Easy Access to Juvenile Populations (EZAPOP) Provides access to National, State, and County level population data detailed by age, sex, race, and ethnicity. Users can create detailed population profiles for a single jurisdiction or create State Comparison or County Comparison tables.
- Statistical Briefing Book (Office of Juvenile Justice & Delinquency Prevention) The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information via OJJDP's Web site to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system. Developed for OJJDP by the National Center for Juvenile Justice, SBB provides timely and reliable statistical answers to the most frequently asked questions from policymakers, the media, and the general public. In addition, the data analysis and dissemination tools available through SBB give users quick and easy access to detailed statistics on a variety of juvenile justice topics.
- Statistical Briefing Book Data Analysis Tools (OJJDP) The OJJDP Statistical Briefing Book (SBB) enables users to access online information via OJJDP's Web site to learn more about juvenile crime and victimization and about youth involved in the juvenile justice system. Developed for OJJDP by the National Center for Juvenile Justice, SBB provides timely and reliable statistical answers to the most frequently asked questions from policymakers, the media, and the general public. In addition, the data analysis and dissemination tools available through SBB give users quick and easy access to detailed statistics on a variety of juvenile justice topics.
- National Juvenile Court Data Archive The National Juvenile Court Data Archive (Archive) houses the automated records of cases handled by courts with juvenile jurisdiction. The Archive was established by the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, within the U.S. Department of Justice, to promote access to automated juvenile court data sets for juvenile justice research and policymaking efforts. This web site was developed to inform researchers about the available data sets and the procedures for use and access.
- Easy Access to Juvenile Court Statistics (EZAJCS) Developed to facilitate independent analysis of national estimates of delinquency cases processed by the nation's juvenile courts. With this application, users can perform unique analyses on the age, sex, and race of juveniles involved in these cases as well as the referral offense, the use of detention, adjudication and case disposition. Users can also view pre-formatted tables describing the demographic characteristics of youth involved in the juvenile justice system and how juvenile
- Easy Access to State and County Juvenile Court Case Counts (EZACO) Easy Access to State and County Juvenile Court Case Counts (EZACO) gives users quick access to State and county juvenile court case counts for delinquency, status offense, and dependency cases. Data are from 1997 to 2019.
- Report on Indicators of School Crime and Safety: 2021 (National Center for Education Statistics) This report covers topics such as victimization, bullying and electronic bullying, school conditions, fights, weapons, availability and student use of drugs and alcohol, student perceptions of personal safety at school, and criminal incidents at postsecondary institutions
- Census of Juveniles in Residential Placement (OJJDP) EZACJRP was developed to facilitate independent analysis of national data on the characteristics of youth held in residential placement facilities, including detailed information about the youth's age, sex, race/ethnicity, placement status, length of stay, and most serious offense.
- Juvenile Arrest Rates by Offense, Sex, and Race (1980-2019) Downloadable spreadsheet.
- Juvenile Residential Facility Census Databook (2000-2018) Developed to facilitate independent analysis of national data on the characteristics of youth residential placement facilities, including detailed information about facility operation, classification, size, and capacity. Information about services provided by facilities will be added soon.
- National Survey of Youth in Custody (BJS) The National Survey of Youth in Custody (NSYC) is part of BJS's National Prison Rape Statistics Program, which gathers mandated data on the incidence and prevalence of sexual assault in juvenile facilities under the Prison Rape Elimination Act of 2003.
- Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (CDC) The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) monitors six categories of health-related behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults.
- Black Disparities in Youth Incarceration (The Sentencing Project) Despite long-term declines in youth incarceration, the disparity at which black and white youth are held in juvenile facilities has grown. Black youth are more than four times as likely to be detained or committed in juvenile facilities as their white peers.
- Latinx Disparities in Youth Incarceration (The Sentencing Project) Latinx youth are 28 percent more likely to be incarcerated than their white peers, a sharp improvement over the course of the decade.
- Southern Baptist Church Database of Alleged Church Related Sexual Abuse Offenders Entries for 600+ individuals who have been criminally convicted of abuse and those who have confessed to abuse.
International
- Violent Discipline (UNICEF) In a majority of countries, more than 2 in 3 children are subjected to violent discipline by caregivers. Violent discipline at home is the most common form of violence experienced by children.
- Global status report on preventing violence against children 2020 (WHO) Statistical annex includes country data on homicides, violence against children, violent discipline, sexual violence, bullying, witnessing physical violence, physical fighting.
- Youth Stats: Juvenile Justice (UN) Statistics on violence, homicide and the justice system.
- Second International Self-Report Delinquency Study (ISRD-2) The Second International Self-Report Delinquency Study (ISRD-2) was a large international collaborative study of delinquency and victimization of 12 to 15 year-old students in seventh, eighth, and ninth grade classrooms. The study was a school-based study that drew on random samples from either city level or national level. In general, the cross-national description of the prevalence and incidence of delinquent behavior allowed for the assessment of national crime rates by comparison with the
- Numbers of Children in Detention (Child Rights International Network) No one knows how many children are deprived of their liberty around the world. Global statistics on children in detention are limited and have not been collected in a comparable form. To make better use of what is available, CRIN has compiled information published on the number of children detained in the criminal justice system to highlight the available information as well as the gaps. These statistics do not include children detained in immigration facilities, care institutions, drug
- Life Imprisonment of Children around the World (Child Rights International Network) Sixty seven States retain life imprisonment as a penalty for offences committed while under the age of 18, a further 49 permit sentences of 15 years or longer and 90 permit sentences of 10 years or longer. Life imprisonment and lengthy prison sentences are not the preserve of the diminishing few, they can be found in the laws of the majority of States. In March 2015, CRIN launched a global report setting out these findings.
- Minimum Age of Criminal Responsibility (Child Rights International Network) CRIN has compiled information on minimum ages of criminal responsibility around the world, which you can explore using this interactive map.
- Children and Young People with Charges Finalized (justice.govt.nz) The number of charges and number of children and young people in New Zealand with charges finalised in the Youth Court and in the Youth, District and High Court.
- Crime in the Modern City. A Longitudinal Study of Juvenile Delinquency in Münster (GESIS) Victimisation, self-reported delinquency, educational styles, conflict behaviour, attitudes towards crime, lifestyles, leisure and consumption styles.
