Skip to Main Content
U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) is the United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics. The mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
JEET: Justice Expenditure and Employment Tool (BJS)
The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) extracts justice expenditure and employment data from the U.S. Census Bureau's Annual Government Finance Survey and Annual Survey of Public Employment and Payroll. BJS has made these data available through the Justice Expenditure and Employment Tool (JEET), an interface that can generate expenditure and employment statistics for different justice categories (Total Justice, Police Protection, Judicial and Legal, Corrections) and different levels of government (National, State, County, City). The JEET will be updated annually with subsequent years and historical data from 1982 onward.
Search Raw Data Collections (BJS)
BJS stores the full data sets, surveys, and codebooks for most of their data collections at the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) as soon as the data have been finalized. These raw or ‘micro’ data are what analysts use to generate the summary data tables found within BJS reports, statistical tables, and data tools. The archived data allow researchers to conduct secondary analysis of BJS data.
All Data Analysis Tools (BJS)
List of Data Analysis Tools that the BJS offers.
Search Publications (BJS)
The data tables found in BJS publications can be accessed in .CSV format by clicking on the "data tables" links on the right side of our publication detail pages.
Data by Topic (BJS)
Click one of the options below to access BJS data by topic. You'll be taken to the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) website where BJS stores our full datasets and related documentation.
Crime Data Explorer (FBI)
The FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE) aims to provide transparency, create easier access, and expand awareness of criminal, and noncriminal, law enforcement data sharing; improve accountability for law enforcement; and provide a foundation to help shape public policy with the result of a safer nation. Use the CDE to discover available data through visualizations, download data in .csv format, and other large data files.
Summary Reporting System 1979-2020 (SRS) (FBI)
This dataset contains estimated data at the state and national level and was derived from the Summary Reporting System (SRS). These data reflect the estimates the FBI has traditionally included in its annual publications. Download this dataset to see the FBI's estimated crime totals for the nation and all 50 states, 1979 to current year available. CSV.
Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) (FBI)
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program generates reliable statistics for use in law enforcement. It has been providing crime statistics since 1930. The UCR Program includes data from more than 18,000 city, university and college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies. Agencies participate voluntarily and submit their crime data either through a state UCR program or directly to the FBI's UCR Program.
Crime in the United States 1995-2019 (FBI)
An annual publication for more than eight decades, the Crime in the United States report contains a compilation of the volume and rate of violent and property crime offenses for the nation and by state using Summary Reporting System data and summarized data from the National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS). Data at the level of local law enforcement agencies are also provided for those contributors supplying 12 months of complete offense data. This report includes arrests, clearances,.
Crime in the United States 1930-2019 (HeinOnline)
An annual publication for more than eight decades, the Crime in the United States report contains a compilation of the volume and rate of violent and property crime offenses for the nation and by state.
National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS) (FBI)
Implemented to improve the overall quantity and quality of crime data collected by law enforcement, NIBRS captures more detailed information on each single crime occurrence. NIBRS’ first annual compilation of published data covered calendar year 2011. NIBRS data has also been used to publish some specialized topical crime reports.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (University of Albany)
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States presented in over 600 tables from more than 100 sources. Selected data to 2013.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (HeinOnline)
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data about all aspects of criminal justice in the United States presented in over 600 tables from more than 100 sources. 1973-2003.
The Court Statistics Project
CSP collects and publishes state court caseload data from the courts of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, Northern Mariana Islands, and Guam.
U.S. Sentencing Commission: Data Files
The Commission collects, analyzes, and disseminates a broad array of information on federal crime and sentencing practices. The Office of Research and Data collects data from documents submitted by the courts in each case in which a defendant is sentenced. From that data, the Commission prepares and disseminates public reports on a wide variety of sentencing issues. The Commission also uses this data in its consulting capacity to the courts, Congress, and the Executive Branch..
ProPublica Criminal Justice Datasets
Datasets on rape clearance, gangs, police officer earnings, child abuse, gun cases, hate news, nuisance abatement and more.
Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC)
Since 1996, TRAC has mounted and updated a series of specialized sites on the World Wide Web with highly detailed but easy-to-access information on selected federal enforcement agencies, special topical reports, and "bulletins" about federal enforcement, staffing and expenditures. The sites — featuring colorful maps and graphs and tens of thousands of pages of tables and other supporting material — are available without charge to anyone with access to the web. Currently
Data.gov is the home of the U.S. Government's open data.Find federal, state, and local data, tools, and resources to conduct research, build apps, design data visualizations, and more.
ResearchDataGov is a web portal for discovering and requesting access to restricted microdata from 16 federal statistical agencies
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives This link opens in a new window
The Roper Center is a public opinion archive that preserves the data from polls conducted by many leading survey organizations. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. The iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. by more than 150 survey organizations. Direct links are given to study documentation and datasets. Date coverage: 1930s – present.
General Social Survey
"For more than four decades, the General Social Survey (GSS) has studied the growing complexity of American society. It is the only full-probability, personal-interview survey designed to monitor changes in both social characteristics and attitudes currently being conducted in the United States."
Pew Research Center: Criminal Justice
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
Odum Institute Archive Dataverse
The Odum Institute Archive Dataverse contains social science data curated and archived by the Odum Institute Data Archive at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Some key collections include the primary holdings of the Louis Harris Data Center, the National Network of State Polls, and other Southern-focused public opinion data.
Policy Map This link opens in a new window
Easy-to-use online mapping and visualization tool. Downloadable U.S. demographic, economic and social data by city, state, zip code, county or census tract. Types of data include crime, housing, health, education and occupations, derived from both public and proprietary sources.