United States
Incarceration & Criminal Justice System
- The Sentencing Project The Sentencing Project compiles state-level criminal justice data, including black-white and Hispanic-white disparities.
- Black Disparities in Youth Incarceration (The Sentencing Project) Despite long-term declines in youth incarceration, the disparity at which black and white youth are held in juvenile facilities has grown. Black youth are more than four times as likely to be detained or committed in juvenile facilities as their white peers.
- Latinx Disparities in Youth Incarceration (The Sentencing Project) Latinx youth are 28 percent more likely to be incarcerated than their white peers, a sharp improvement over the course of the decade.
- Racial Justice (The Sentencing Project) Statistics, publications, news and more on racial disparities in criminal justice.
- Visualizing the racial disparities in mass incarceration (Prison Policy Initiative) Racial inequality is evident in every stage of the criminal justice system - here are the key statistics compiled into a series of charts.
- Incarcerated populations by race/ethnicity and gender for each state (Prison Policy Initiative) With comparative total population counts and incarceration rate per 100,000 calculations [xlsx]
- Opportunity Atlas Data Tables (U.S. Census) These data are a comprehensive Census tract-level dataset of children’s outcomes in adulthood using data covering nearly the entire U.S. population. For each tract, we estimate children’s outcomes in adulthood such as earnings distributions and incarceration rates by parental income, race, and gender. These estimates allow us to trace the roots of outcomes such as poverty and incarceration to the neighborhoods in which children grew up.
Policing
- Fatal Encounters Database A step toward creating an impartial, comprehensive and searchable national database of people killed during interactions with police.
- Mapping Police Violence (Campaign Zero) Mapping Police Violence integrates data from a number of sources, most notably Fatal Encounters.
- The Stanford Open Policing Project Police pull over more than 50,000 drivers on a typical day, more than 20 million motorists every year. Yet the most common police interaction — the traffic stop — has not been tracked, at least not in any systematic way.
- Washington Post Police Shootings Database In 2015, The Washington Post began to log every fatal shooting by an on-duty police officer in the United States.
- "1033" Program Transfers Since Ferguson (BuzzFeed News) This repository analyzes the transfers made by the Defense Logistics Agency to local law enforcement since the protests in Ferguson, Missouri in August 2014 in support of a BuzzFeed News story, published on June 4, 2020.
- An Analysis of Racial Disparities in Police Traffic Stops in Suffolk County, Massachusetts, from 2010 to 2019 (Vera Institute) This report shows that Black drivers are disproportionately pulled over by law enforcement in Suffolk County, Massachusetts, particularly for non-traffic-safety offenses. The Vera Institute of Justice’s (Vera) Reshaping Prosecution program partnered with the Suffolk County District Attorney’s Office (SCDAO) from July 2020 to March 2022 to study racial disparities in the criminal legal system. Vera’s analysis revealed that non-traffic-safety stops in Suffolk County are worsening racial disparities in traffic enforcement. This report shares findings from Vera’s analysis of 10 years of traffic stop and criminal case data from Suffolk County.
Poilice Violence at BLM Protests
- Police Brutality During George Floyd Protests This repository exists to accumulate and contextualize evidence of police brutality during the 2020 George Floyd protests.
- George Floyd Protest Police Brutality Videos on Twitter Includes the city and state of the incident, links to visual documentation on Twitter and YouTube, and a short description.
- Map of Police Brutality Incidents at BLM Protests (2020PoliceBrutality) 2020PoliceBrutality formed in the wake of protests following George Floyd's murder, when municipal, state, and federal police met peaceful protesters with violence. Volunteers on Reddit created an open-source project to source, archive and visualize incidents of police brutality and abuses of power at protests from George Floyd's death onward. This website charts those incidents. Click on the map markers or scroll down through the timeline to learn more about each incident.
- Attacks on Journalists During BLM Protests 140+ “reports of arrests, violence, and intimidation against journalists” at the protests.
Lynching
- National Lynching Data (Charles Seguin) Data for a national lynching inventory 1883-1941. These data supplement Tolnay & Beck's inventory to cover all 48 contiguous states.
- United States National Lynching Data, 1883-1941 These data extend existing data on lynching victims to cover the 48 contiguous United States from 1883 to 1941. The data here cover 38 states not included in Tolney and Beck's (1995) original data, as well as 3 additional victims in the 10 states covered by Tolney and Beck. The authors confirmed 1,319 victims from previous data and found 15 additional victims not recorded in any prior data set.
- Project HAL (Historical American Lynching Data Collection Project) The project is very broadly focused and is intended to continue indefinitely. The goal is to accumulate a database of lynchings that took place at any date within the present borders of the United States. The original data came from the NAACP Lynching Records at Tuskegee Institute, Tuskegee, Alabama. Stewart Tolnay and E.M. Beck examined these records for name and event duplications and other errors with funding from a National Science Foundation Grant and made their findings available to Project HAL in 1998.
International
Consult victimization surveys of other countries to look for victimization and discrimination experienced by minorities,
United Kingdom
- Ethnicity Facts and Figures: Crime, Justice and the Law (Gov.Uk) Includes data on policing; crime and reoffending; courts, sentencing and tribunals; and prison and custody incidents.
- Race and the criminal justice system series (Ministry of Justice, UK) This collection of reports compiles statistics from data sources across the Criminal Justice System (CJS) in England and Wales, to provide a combined perspective on the typical experiences of different ethnic groups.
- Racial Bias and the Bench (Centre on the Dynamics of Ethnicity) Explores and evaluates racial bias as well as antiracism among judicial office holders (‘judges’). Drawing on the findings of a new survey of 373 legal professionals as well as existing research, it evaluates the racial fairness of judges and racial guidance and diversity initiatives. What the report finds-combining its quantitative and qualitative data supported by the work of others-amounts to evidence of institutional racism in the justice system presided over by judges.
Canada
- Policing and Criminology Datasets, Data on Racialized Populations (Ontario Council of University Libraries) A curated list of datasets that include ethnicity and race variables which can be used to facilitate anti-racism research in Canada.
- Collection of data on Indigenous and ethno-cultural groups in Canada’s official police-reported crime statistics (Statistics Canada) The collection of data on Indigenous and ethno-cultural identity has been a subject of discussion in Canada for many decades. The need for quality data about the experience of Indigenous peoples and ethno-cultural communities with Canada's criminal justice system is paramount to understanding the extent to which people from these communities are represented in Canada's criminal justice system, beginning with their interactions with the police
- Indigenous overrepresentation in the criminal justice system Indigenous people are overrepresented in Canada's criminal justice system as both victims and as people accused or convicted of crime. There are only a few national data sources that provide criminal justice statistics disaggregated by Indigenous identity. National data that does exist to identify Indigenous people in the criminal justice system include the General Social Survey (GSS) on self-reported victimization, police-reported homicide statistics, and data on provincial/territorial
- Criminal victimization of First Nations, Métis and Inuit people in Canada, 2018 to 2020 (Statistics Canada) First Nations people, Métis and Inuit are overrepresented among victims of violence in Canada. Previous research has suggested a link between this violent victimization and past and present colonial policies, including the residential school system, marginalization and institutionalized racism.
- Report and Draft Recommendations: Police-Reported Indigenous and Racialized Identity Statistics via the Uniform Crime Reporting Survey (Statistics Canada) Statistics Canada embarked on an engagement process in July 2020 to seek feedback on the collection of Indigenous and racialized identity data through the UCR Survey.
- 2020 Race-Based Data Collection Findings (Toronto Police Service) On June 15, 2022, the Service released the findings of race-based data collected in 2020, which looks at officers’ perceptions of an individual’s race in reportable use-of-force incidents and strip searches.
Roma Population in Europe
- Uncovering anti‐Roma discrimination in criminal justice systems in Europe (Fair Trials) This report presents a summary of the findings of research conducted by Fair Trials, in partnership with APADOR-CH, the Bulgarian Helsinki Committee, the Hungarian Helsinki Committee, and Rights International Spain to provide further insight into the causes of Roma over-representation in the respective criminal justice systems of Romania, Bulgaria, Hungary, and Spain.
Germany
- The German Victimization Survey - Cumulation 2012-2017 (GESIS) The German Victimization Survey is a dark field survey conducted on behalf of the Federal Criminal Police Office (BKA) with the aim of collecting comprehensive information on the topics of fear of crime, victim experiences and reporting behaviour in the Federal Republic of Germany
