NACJD: Gangs (ICPSR)
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago
LEADS Gang File Summary Data (ProPublica)
This dataset provides counts of the number of people entered into the LEADS (Law Enforcement Agencies Data System) Gang File by Illinois state and local police in each year since 1993. Race and gender totals are also included for each year.
Chicago Police Department Data on Gang Members (ProPublica)
his dataset contains descriptive information on individuals that the Chicago Police Department has classified as gang members. There are no names or identification included in the data, but each row includes the gang affiliation, race, age, date of subject’s first arrest or first entry into the data system, and the police beat where the first arrest occurred.
Cook County Regional Gang Intelligence Database (ProPublica)
This dataset is a snapshot of the gang database maintained by the sheriff’s office and jail in Cook County, Illinois, along with other law enforcement agencies. Names and other personally identifying details have been removed, but the data includes information about the gender, appearance, gang affiliation, zip code, and race of the individuals listed. Additional information is also included, such as whether the individual wears gang colors or has tattoos, has self-identified their gang involvement, is under probation and more.