Related Guides
United States
- NACJD: White Collar Crime (ICPSR) The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) archives and disseminates data on crime and justice for secondary analysis. The archive contains data from over 2,700 curated studies or statistical data series. NACJD is home to several large-scale and well known datasets, including the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS), the FBI's Uniform Crime Reports (UCR), the FBI's National Incident-Based Reporting System (NIBRS), and the Project on Human Development in Chicago
- Internet Crime Complaint Center Annual Reports (FBI) Internet crime reports and elder fraud reports.
- Consumer Sentinel Network Reports (FTC) The FTC takes in reports from consumers about problems they experience in the marketplace. The reports are stored in the Consumer Sentinel Network (Sentinel), a secure online database available only to law enforcement. While the FTC does not intervene in individual consumer disputes, its law enforcement partners – whether they are down the street, across the nation, or around the world – can use information in the database to spot trends, identify questionable business practices and
- Explore Data (FTC) Explore the FTC’s Consumer Sentinel Network data about consumer protection topics like fraud, identity theft, and unwanted calls based on millions of reports from people across the country. Learn about the top fraud reports, track the latest trends, and download visualizations for presentations or reports.
- FinCEN Mortgage Fraud SAR Datasets (Financial Crimes Enforcement Network) The following links provide expanded data with geographic breakdowns of subjects identified in SAR filings on suspected mortgage fraud. Files contain metadata expanding on the derivation, use, and limitations of FinCEN Mortgage Fraud SAR data. Excel files provide mortgage fraud SAR data from filings received by FinCEN from 2006 to the most recent data.
- Suspicious Activity Report Statistics (Financial Crimes Enforcement Network) A Suspicious Activity Report (SAR) is a document that financial institutions, and those associated with their business, must file with the Financial Crimes Enforcement Network (FinCEN) whenever there is a suspected case of money laundering or fraud.
- TRAC IRS The information about the IRS, its criminal and civil enforcement efforts and the taxpaying behavior of the American people, was compiled by TRAC from a variety of sources. The sources included computerized data obtained under the Freedom of Information Act from the Justice Department, the Internal Revenue Service, and the United States Office of Personnel Management. These data were supplemented by interviews with current and former government officials, tax attorneys, and agency data processing specialists.
- Criminal Investigation Program, by Status or Disposition (IRS Data Book) The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Data Book is published annually by the IRS and contains statistical tables and organizational information on a fiscal year basis. The report provides data on collecting the revenue, issuing refunds, enforcing the law, assisting the taxpayer, and the budget and workforce.
- IRS Criminal Investigation Annual Reports (IRS) The IRS Criminal Investigation Division’s (CI) Annual Report is a compilation of CI’s accomplishments and criminal enforcement actions taken in the past fiscal year. The interactive report summarizes a wide variety of CI activity and includes case examples from each field office on a wide range of financial crimes. CI has published an annual report since 1920. An appendix includes investigation data and incarceration rates.
- National Computer Security Survey (BJS) The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS), along with the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS), fielded a National Computer Security Survey (NCSS), a nationally representative sample of 36,000 businesses across 36 industry sectors. In 2004, RAND was selected to conduct the NCSS. The survey itself was fielded in 2006 with the data collected representing the experiences of companies in 2005. The survey collected data on the nature, extent, and consequences of computer-security incidents, monetary costs and other consequences of these incidents, incident details (such as types of offenders and reporting to authorities), and computer-security measures used by companies. The goal was to produce reliable national estimates of the incidence and prevalence of computer-security incidents against businesses and businesses' resulting losses from such incidents.
- National Computer Security Survey (RAND) The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS), along with the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS), fielded a National Computer Security Survey (NCSS), a nationally representative sample of 36,000 businesses across 36 industry sectors. In 2004, RAND was selected to conduct the NCSS. The survey itself was fielded in 2006 with the data collected representing the experiences of companies in 2005. The survey collected data on the nature, extent, and consequences of computer-security incidents, monetary costs and other consequences of these incidents, incident details (such as types of offenders and reporting to authorities), and computer-security measures used by companies. The goal was to produce reliable national estimates of the incidence and prevalence of computer-security incidents against businesses and businesses' resulting losses from such incidents.
- Software Supply Chain Attacks (Breaking Trust) Dataset of 117 software supply chain attacks and 44 disclosures.
International
- Corruptons Perception Index (Transparency International) The CPI ranks 180 countries and territories around the world by their perceived levels of public sector corruption. The results are given on a scale of 0 (highly corrupt) to 100 (very clean).
- Global Corruptions Barometer (Transparency International) Through our Global Corruption Barometer, tens of thousands of people around the globe are asked about their views and experiences, making it the only worldwide public opinion survey on corruption.
- Corruption & Bribery (UNODC) Prevalence rate ofbBribery
- Fraud (UNODC) Data are collected from national authorities through the annual United Nations Crime Trends Survey (UN-CTS).
- Money Laundering (UNODC) Data are collected from national authorities through the annual United Nations Crime Trends Survey (UN-CTS).
- Occupational Fraud 2022: A Report to the Nations (Association of Certified Fraud Examiners) 12th edition of the largest global study on occupational fraud by the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners.
- ACFE Report to the Nations Archives (Association of Certified Fraud Examiners) Since 1996, the ACFE has produced the world's leading report on the state of occupational fraud.
- Cambridge Cybercrime Centre: Description of Available Datasets The Cambridge Cybercrime Centre is a multi-disciplinary initiative combining expertise from the University of Cambridge's Department of Computer Science and Technology, Institute of Criminology and Faculty of Law. We have already negotiated access to some very substantial datasets relating to cybercrime and we aim to leverage our neutral academic status to obtain more data and build one of the largest and most diverse data sets that any organisation holds.
- Zone-H Zone-H archives defaced websites. Website defacement (a form of hacking) is the replacement of a website’s original content with one’s own content. After Zone-H is notified of an attack (by the hackers) the archivists verify it and permanently document the incident in Zone-H’s archive.
- Project Honey Pot Project Honey Pot is the first and only distributed system for identifying spammers and the spambots they use to scrape addresses from your website.
- Cyberthreat Real-time Map (Bitdefender) Bitdefender collects data on the total number of infections, attacks, and spam at the country level. One can see where the attack originated and the target country, however; hackers often hide their true location.
- Cyberthreat Real-Time Map (Kapersky Lab) Publicly available threat map.
- Demographics of Cybercrime Report Research from Malwarebytes and the Digitunity and Cybercrime Support Network has found that women and Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) individuals across the UK, US and Germany are disproportionally affected by cyber crime.
