Related Guides
International General Sources
- National Statistical Offices (United Nations Statistics Division) The United Nations Statistics Division maintains a list of National Statistical Offices and their websites. Arranged by region (Africa, the Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceania)
- United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) A core mission by UNODC is to produce and disseminate high quality statistics on drugs, crime and criminal justice at the international level. UNODC regularly updates global statistical series on crime, criminal justice, drug trafficking and prices, drug production, and drug use.
- United Nations Surveys of Crime Trends and Operations of Criminal Justice Systems Series (ICPSR) The main objectives of the survey include: to conduct a more focused inquiry into the incidence of crime worldwide, to improve knowledge about the incidence of reported crime in the global development perspective and also international understanding of effective ways to counteract crime, to improve the dissemination globally of the information collected, to facilitate an overview of trends and interrelationships among various parts of the criminal justice system so as to promote informed
- Data Matters (UNODC) The Data Matters series provides short, easy-to-read research briefs on topics related to crime, criminal justice and drugs. This series aims to make UNODC data accessible to policy makers and the general public in a timely manner. Key facts emerging from solid evidence to inform the international community: the spirit of the series is to focus on the essential, and to let the data speak for themselves.
- International Crime Victims Survey (University of Lausanne) The International Crime Victims Survey (ICVS) was initiated in 1987 by a group of European criminologists with expertise in national crime surveys (Van Dijk, Mayhew, Killias, 1990). The survey was set up to produce estimates of victimisation that can be used for international comparison. The survey has evolved into the world’s premier program of standardised surveys looking at householders’ experience of common crime in different countries. There have so far been five main rounds of
- International Crime Victims Survey (UNICRI) The main database for the ICVS can be downloaded from this section of the internet site. This part is meant for skilled professionals who are familiar with research methodology and statistics.Data files and codebooks.
- International Crime Victims Survey (OpenICPSR) 5 rounds of surveys in the period 1989-2005
- International Crime Victimization Series (NACJD) The International Crime Victim Survey (ICVS) series was developed by the ICVS international working group. Overall funding was provided by the Ministry of Justice of the Netherlands. The project was set up to fill the gap in adequate recording of offenses by the police for purposes of comparing crime rates in different nations and to provide a crime index independent of police statistics as an alternative standardized measure. The ICVS is the most far-reaching program of standardized sample surveys to look at a householders' experience with crime, policing, crime prevention, and feelings of insecurity in a large number of nations.
- Global Terrorism Database (START) Managed by the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START), the Global Terrorism Database™ includes more than 200,000 terrorist attacks dating back to 1970.
- Second International Self-Report Delinquency Study (ISRD-2) The Second International Self-Report Delinquency Study (ISRD-2) was a large international collaborative study of delinquency and victimization of 12 to 15 year-old students in seventh, eighth, and ninth grade classrooms. The study was a school-based study that drew on random samples from either city level or national level. In general, the cross-national description of the prevalence and incidence of delinquent behavior allowed for the assessment of national crime rates by comparison with the
- European Sourcebook of Crime and Criminal Justice Statistics, 6th ed. This edition of the Sourcebook is composed of six chapters. The first five cover the current main types of national crime and criminal justice statistics – police, prosecution, conviction, prison, and probation statistics – for the years 2011 to 2016, providing detailed analysis for 2015. The sixth chapter covers national victimization surveys, providing rates for the main indicators every five years from 1990 to 2015.
- Eurostat: Crime and Criminal Justice Since 2008, the crime statistics published by Eurostat cover: Police-recorded offences by type of crime; Homicide victims by age, gender, and relationship to offender; Offenders by justice process stage (suspected, prosecuted, convicted) and by age and gender; Personnel by institution (police, prosecution, courts, and prisons) by gender; Legal cases by type and stage; Prisoners by age, gender and citizenship;
- Consortium of European Social Science Data Archives (CESSDA) Data Catalogue The CESSDA Data Catalogue contains descriptions (metadata) of the more than 30,000 data collections held by CESSDA’s Service Providers, representing 20 European countries. It is a one-stop shop for searching and finding data, enabling effective access to European social science data. A topic search for crime yields hundreds of results.
- International Statistics on Crime and Justice (UN) This document provides member states' international crime data collected by the United Nations Surveys on Crime Trends and Operations Criminal Justice Systems (UN-CTS).
- International Crimes Database (Asser Institute) Project The International Crimes Database (ICD) website, hosted and maintained by the T.M.C. Asser Instituut in The Hague and supported by the Dutch Ministry of Security and Justice and the International Centre for Counter-Terrorism – The Hague, offers a comprehensive database on international crimes adjudicated by national, as well as international and internationalized courts.
- International Crime Statistics (NCJRS) Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
- Crime and Criminal Justice (1970 -2002) (UNODC) Data from previous Surveys on Crime Trends and the Operations of Criminal Justice Systems
- Historical Violence Database Our goal is to create a collaborative database on the history of violent crime, violent death, and collective violence from medieval times to the present.The purpose is to help scholars better understand violent deaths (homicides, suicides, accidents, casualties of war), serious assaults (attempted murders, sexual assaults, arsons, maimings, aggravated assaults), and contentious political action that leads to violence. Data files from Asia, Europe, Australia, New Zealand, and the U.S.
- Global Organized Crime Index The Global Organized Crime Index is the result of a two-year endeavour to evaluate levels of crime and resilience in all 193 UN member states. Through this data, it is hoped that the Index will help inform a truly global response to the pervasive threat of transnational organized crime.
- Global Organized Crime Index Report 2021 he Global Organized Crime Index is the first tool of its kind designed to assess levels of organized crime and resilience to organized criminal activity. It includes in its rankings all the UN member states – 193 countries. This report introduces the Global Organized Crime Index and sets out the results and implications of the 2020 data, the year in which a new pandemic began to ravage the world.
Featured Countries
To locate sources of criminal justice data in individual countries, consult the National Statistical Offices list compiled by the United Nations Statistical Division, or the official websites of the police, ministries of the interior, ministries of justice, or prison administrations.
United Kingdom
- data.police.uk This is the site for open data about crime and policing in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. You can download street-level crime, outcome, and stop and search data in clear and simple CSV format and explore the API containing detailed crime data and information about individual police forces and neighbourhood teams. You can also download data on police activity, and a range of data collected under the police annual data requirement (ADR) including arrests and 101 call handling.
Ireland
- Crime and Justice Datasets (Central Statistics Office) Justice, legal systems and public safety datasets on Ireland's open data portal.
- Crime and Justice Statistics (Central Statistics Office) Includes recorded crime, recorded crime detection, recorded crime victims and suspected offenders, prison re-offending statistics, probation re-offending statistics, and crime and victimisation.
Germany
- German Police Crime Statistics (Bundeskriminalamt) The Police Crime Statistics of Germany (PCS) are compiled on the basis of the individual data sets at the “Länder” Criminal Police Offices (LKÄ) and at the Bundeskriminalamt (BKA, Federal Criminal Police Office).
Australia
- Australian Bureau of Statistics: Crime and Justice Statistics and data on personal safety, prisoners, personal fraud, corrective services, criminal courts, crime victimization, offenders and victims, federal defendants, disability and violence.
- Australian Institute of Criminology: Statistics Statistics on drug use, homicide, deaths in custody, and identity crime and misuse.
New Zealand
- New Zealand Ministry of Justice Data Tables Data is from the calendar years 2012 to 2021. Note that the data in these tables differs to that published by Stats NZ in the NZ.Stat tool. The data tables published here are the best source of information on specific offences or charge outcomes. Data tables for general justice, children and young people, specific offence types, specific justice processes, family court, and justice services.
- StatsNZ: Crime and Justice Statistics about crime and justice report on court charges and outcomes. Find information on prosecutions and convictions, types of sentences, and the number of people serving prison or community sentences. Statistics also include child and youth prosecution information.
- New Zealand Department of Corrections: Statistics Statistics regularly published by Corrections, including quarterly statistics for Prison and Community Probation.
Canada
- Statistics Canada: Crime and Justice Statistics Since 1981, the Federal, Provincial and Territorial Deputy Ministers Responsible for Justice and Public Safety in Canada have been working together, along with the Chief Statistician of Canada, in an enterprise known as the National Justice Statistics Initiative (NJSI). The mandate of the NJSI is to provide information to the justice community and the public on the nature and extent of crime and victimization and the administration of criminal and civil justice in Canada.
Mexico
- INEGI: Public Service and Justice Includes victimization; crime rate; registered crimes; victims, defendants, and sentenced registered; police interventions; prison population and juvenile offenders, and more.
- Justice in Mexico Data Center Justice in Mexico works to improve citizen security, strengthen the rule of law, and protect human rights in Mexico. We generate cutting edge research, promote informed dialogue, and work to find solutions to address these enormously complex issues.
- SESNEP Criminal Incidence On this page you can find information regarding criminal incidence: statistics, open data files, as well as relevant information in this regard.
- SESNEP: Crime reports per Year Crime reports in pdf and xlsx formats. State and municipal reports.
India
- Data.gov.in Search Sector: Home Affairs and Enforcement for crime and police datasets
- Crime in India (National Crime Records Bureau, India) This is the oldest and the most prestigious publication brought out by NCRB. Data from mega-cities (cities having population of 10 lakh or more as per the latest census) is also collected separately. District-wise data on some IPC heads is collected and published separately. The first edition of 'Crime in India' pertains to the year 1953 and the latest edition of the report pertains to the year 2020.
Pakistan
- Pubic Safety Datasets (Open Data Pakistan) Includes crimes reported by type and province, suicide bombings and drone attacks, honor killings, gangs, police stations, recovery of narcotics and arms, and more
South Africa
- ISS Crime Hub The Crime Hub is South Africa's most complete source for ready-to-use information, statistics and analysis on crime and safety
- South African Police Service (SAPS) Crime Statistics The South African Police Service (SAPS) has accepted a new and challeging objective of ensuring that its crime statistics are in line with international best practice. The crime statistics generated by SAPS are an important link in the value chain of the statistics system informs policy development and planning in the criminal justice system.
