Related Guides
Databases
History
- Food and Drink in History (AM Explorer) From feast to famine, explore primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange (AM Explorer) This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window AM Explorer is a cross-collection search of the entire corpus of Adam Matthew's digitized arts and cultural heritage material in subjects including Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to present times; indexes journal articles, book titles and chapters, reviews from numerous multilingual sources; all abstracts in English.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window IMB (International Medieval Bibliography) indexes articles in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays, covering all aspects of medieval studies within the period 450 to 1500 for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
Searching Across Disciplines
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window This database is a core general science resource, covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and to use associated journal metrics provided by the vendor.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a general science database that searches journal articles and book chapters in all areas of science, technology, and health. ScienceDirect also provides full text access to a number of major reference works, allows the user to create email alerts for specific journal titles, book series, or research topics, and provides access to a limited number of "pre-pub" articles (articles accepted for publication but not yet officially released).
Featured Journals for Food History
- Food, Culture & Society An international peer-reviewed publication dedicated to exploring the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as in the world of food beyond the academy.
- Food and Foodways Older volumes (Food & Foodways) are in Mugar Stacks TX341 .F695 Holdings: V.1-4, 14-22 1985/86-1990/91, 2006-2014
- Gastronomica Gastronomica is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, international journal publishing critical, translational studies on food.
- Global Food History Global Food History is a peer-reviewed, academic journal with an international scope, presenting new research in food history from the foremost scholars in the field. The journal welcomes original articles covering any period from prehistory to the present and any geographical area, including transnational and world histories of food.
Newspaper Article Databases
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window Fully searchable digital images of newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries.
- Boston Globe (1872 - 1993) This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the newspaper The Boston Globe and its title variants. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 1993, please use Boston Globe 1980 - Present.
- Chicago Tribune (1849 - 1999) This link opens in a new window Full-page and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the Chicago Tribune and all its title variants. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 1999, please use Nexis Uni.
- Los Angeles Times (1881- 2000) This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the Los Angeles Times under all its title variants. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 2000, please use Nexis Uni.
- Washington Post (1877 - 2008) This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text from the Washington Post under all its title variants. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 2008, please use Nexis Uni.
- New York Times (1851 - 2020) This link opens in a new window Full-page images and article images (PDF) with searchable full text of the New York Times back issues. Additional content is added on a one year rolling basis. PLEASE NOTE: For articles published since 2020, please use Nexis Uni.
