Related Guides
- About Artists
- African American Art & Artists
- African Art & Architecture
- AH/ AA 215: Arts of Africa & Its Diaspora
- AH201: Understanding Architecture (Fall 2023)
- AH240: Medieval Art in Europe (Spring/Fall 2023)
- AH317: Morocco to Timbuktu: Art and Architecture at the Saharan Crossroads
- AH353: Renaissance Architecture
- AH363: THE ARC OF RUSSIAN AND UKRAINIAN ART
- American Architecture
- American Art
- American Studies
- Architecture
- Art & Architecture Online Resources
- Art: Race, Racism, & Antiracism
- Arts Administration I: Researching Topics in Books, Journals, & Newspapers
- Arts Administration II: Data and Information Sources
- Arts Administration III: Art World
- Asian Arts
- Boston & Its Neighborhoods
- Buddhist Arts
- CAS EN 122 Medieval Romance & Daily Life
- CFA AR 882 Graphic Design/Design Studio
- Chinese Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Classical Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Classical Studies
- Covid-19 & Its Predecessors: Pandemics, Plagues, Pestilence, & Peste in Art
- FA520: Career Development in the Arts
- Finding Images
- Historic Preservation in America
- Islamic Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Japanese Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Latin American & Latino Art
- Medieval Art & Architecture
- Modern & Contemporary Art
- Museums & Museum Studies
- Photography
- The Back Bay of Boston
- Using Images
- WR151: Hispanic New York
- WR152: Art & Social Justice in Boston Now
Biographical Sources
- American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window Biographical dictionary of notable deceased American men and women from all eras of American history. Includes illustrations and links to other web resources.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century." Does not include living people or those recently deceased.
- Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Biography In Context offers biographical information about historically significant figures as well as present-day newsmakers. It includes reference content alongside magazine and journal articles, primary sources, videos, audio podcasts, and images.
- AskART Academic This link opens in a new window AskART Academic is a database of information about artists, including names, birth and death dates, state or local affiliation, fields in which artist worked, book and periodical references to artist, dealers and museums where works may be viewed, auction prices of works, and some biographical details.
- Catalogues Raisonnes Database - IFAR: International Foundation for Art Research "Many catalogues raisonnés have been partially or completely digitized. Clicking the buttons marked "Internet Archive" and "Other Full Text" will take the user to a site where they can view the complete digitized catalogue raisonné. In addition to the Internet Archive, other insitutions, including the University of Heidelberg, the Bibliothèque nationale de France and the Getty Research Institute, make complete digitized catalogues available for free online."
Note: Biographical material can be found in most of the resources listed under "Encyclopedias and Dictionaries." Also look under Biography in the Art & Architecture research guides. For information on contemporary artists, see About Artists: Biographical Sources.
