Related Guides
- About Artists
- African American Art & Artists
- African Art & Architecture
- AH/ AA 215: Arts of Africa & Its Diaspora
- AH201: Understanding Architecture (Fall 2023)
- AH240: Medieval Art in Europe (Spring/Fall 2023)
- AH317: Morocco to Timbuktu: Art and Architecture at the Saharan Crossroads
- AH353: Renaissance Architecture
- AH363: THE ARC OF RUSSIAN AND UKRAINIAN ART
- AH391: Twentieth-Century Art to 1940 (Fall 2024)
- American Architecture
- American Art
- Architecture
- Art & Architecture Online Resources
- Art: Race, Racism, & Antiracism
- Arts Administration I: Researching Topics in Books, Journals, & Newspapers
- Arts Administration II: Data and Information Sources
- Asian Arts
- Boston & Its Neighborhoods
- Buddhist Arts
- CAS EN 122 Medieval Romance & Daily Life
- CFA AR 381 Graphic Design Junior Studio
- CFA AR 882 Graphic Design/Design Studio
- Chinese Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Classical Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Classical Studies
- Covid-19 & Its Predecessors: Pandemics, Plagues, Pestilence, & Peste in Art
- FA520: Career Development in the Arts
- Finding Images
- Historic Preservation in America
- Indigenous and Native American Studies
- Islamic Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Japanese Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Latin American & Latino Art
- Medieval Art & Architecture
- Museums & Museum Studies
- Photography
- The Back Bay of Boston
- Using Images
- WR151: Hispanic New York
- WR152: Art & Social Justice in Boston Now
Background Sources
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window Grove Art Online is an encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art and all aspects of visual culture. Articles include bibliographies and searchable images. As part of Oxford Art Online, keywords also are simultaneously searched in The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- Oxford Dictionary of Art (3rd ed.) The Oxford Dictionary of Art is the unrivalled one-volume guide to the art of the Western world. It provides a careful balance of fact and critical appraisal, ranging across painting, sculpture, and the graphic arts from classical times to the present.
- Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists (5th ed.) Covering Western art from the ancient Greeks to the present day, this best-selling and authoritative dictionary is more wide-ranging than any comparable reference work. It contains clear and concise entries on styles and movements, materials and techniques, and museums and galleries. It also includes biographical entries for artists, critics, collectors, dealers, and patrons, with places and full dates of birth and death (in many instances correcting misinformation that has found its way into other sources)
- Grove Encyclopedia of American Art The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art (GEAA) deals with all aspects of American art and architecture from Native American art to Colonial art to contemporary American art.
- Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists (2nd. ed.) An indispensable biographical and critical guide to American art from colonial times to contemporary postmodernism, this dictionary offers readers a wealth of factual detail on and analysis of America’s leading artists, along with analysis of their work. T
- The Oxford Companion to the Garden This Companion is devoted to gardens of every kind and the people and ideas involved in their making. It combines a survey of the world's gardens with articles on a range of topics, such as garden visiting, horticulture, scientific issues, and the social history of gardens, as well as biographies of garden designers, nurserymen, and others.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture is the most comprehensive reference work in this complex and diverse area of art history. Built on the acclaimed scholarship of the Grove Dictionary of Art, this work offers over 1,600 up-to-date entries on Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Central and South Asia, Africa, and Europe and spans over a thousand years of history.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art offers the most current and comprehensive scholarly information on the visual arts of the Renaissance in Northern Europe. Unparalleled in scope and depth, covers a wide range of subject areas, addressing people and subjects specific to all areas of Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture features an abundance of in-depth articles on this field of enduring importance—from biographies to thematic entries on architecture, ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture.
- Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts contains over 3,000 entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures.
- The Oxford Companion to the Photograph Providing a wide range of technical information, the Companion also presents, in a concise and readily accessible form, the mass of recent scholarship on photography as a social and artistic practice. There are over 800 biographical entries, both on photographers and on others who have influenced photographic culture from the 19th century to the present.
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms is an accessible and useful A-Z, covering a wide range of terms from the visual art world, including materials, techniques, and important styles and periods.
- A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture (2nd ed.) There are entries on architects, terms, periods, and styles, covering all periods of Western architectural history. Biographies range from Brunelleschi and Imhotep to Le Corbusier and Richard Rogers. New entries include definitions of landscape terms, and biographies of modern architects. Each entry is followed by a mini-bibliography, with suggestions for further reading.
- Oxford Companion to Architecture The Oxford Companion to Architecture contains over 1500 A-Z entries covering all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definitions.
- Routledge Companion to Art and Politics The Routledge Companion to Art and Politics offers a thorough examination of the complex relationship between art and politics, and the many forms and approaches the engagement between them can take. The contributors - a diverse assembly of artists, activists, scholars from around the world - discuss and demonstrate ways of making art and politics legible and salient in the world.
- A Dictionary of Modern Design (2nd ed.) From the Arts and Crafts Movement to Postmodernism, Apple to Frank Lloyd Wright, this fascinating dictionary covers the past 160 years of international design, with accessible entries on branding, graphics, industrial design, functionalism, and fashion. New entries on digital design and sustainable design bring the coverage up to date. The dictionary’s international focus takes in major movements, key concepts, design terminology, and important design institutions, museums, and heritage sites.
- A Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art (3rd ed.) This authoritative reference work boasts worldwide coverage of modern and contemporary art from 1900 to the present day. It features A to Z entries on movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, schools, and galleries. A valuable resource for artists, art students, and art lovers, it gives indication of public collections and publicly sited works as well as suggestions for further reading within entries.
- Routledge Companion to Photography Theory With newly commissioned essays by some of the leading writers on photography today, this companion tackles some of the most pressing questions about photography theory's direction, relevance and purpose.
- Routledge Companion to Research in the Arts The Routledge Companion to Research in the Arts is a major collection of new writings on research in the creative and performing arts by leading authorities from around the world.
Related Encyclopedias
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window The Berg Fashion Library includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an e-book collection, and an image database. This database covers all regions of the world with content from pre-history to the present.
- Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new window Brill’s New Pauly provides access to Brill’s New Pauly, an encyclopedia of the ancient world translated into English; Der Neue Pauly, the original German version; and Supplements I, Volumes 1-6 (in English) on chronologies; author/text dictionary; atlas; reception of myth, mythology, and classical literature; and scholarship.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window Online version of Encyclopædia Britannica along Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals and other reference sources.
- Encyclopaedia Iranica This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool designed to record the facts of Iranian history and civilization. A precisely documented reference work on the lands, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new window Encyclopaedia Judaica provides "an overvew of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to 'Americana' and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window Includes "articles on distinguished Muslims of every era and origin, on tribes and dynasties, on crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities" of the Islamic world.
