Related Guides
- About Artists
- African American Art & Artists
- African Art & Architecture
- AH/ AA 215: Arts of Africa & Its Diaspora
- AH201: Understanding Architecture (Fall 2023)
- AH240: Medieval Art in Europe (Spring/Fall 2023)
- AH317: Morocco to Timbuktu: Art and Architecture at the Saharan Crossroads
- AH353: Renaissance Architecture
- AH363: THE ARC OF RUSSIAN AND UKRAINIAN ART
- AH391: Twentieth-Century Art to 1940 (Fall 2024)
- American Architecture
- American Art
- Architecture
- Art & Architecture
- Art: Race, Racism, & Antiracism
- Arts Administration I: Researching Topics in Books, Journals, & Newspapers
- Arts Administration II: Data and Information Sources
- Asian Arts
- Boston & Its Neighborhoods
- Buddhist Arts
- CAS EN 122 Medieval Romance & Daily Life
- CFA AR 381 Graphic Design Junior Studio
- CFA AR 882 Graphic Design/Design Studio
- Chinese Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Classical Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Classical Studies
- Covid-19 & Its Predecessors: Pandemics, Plagues, Pestilence, & Peste in Art
- FA520: Career Development in the Arts
- Finding Images
- Historic Preservation in America
- Indigenous and Native American Studies
- Islamic Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Japanese Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Latin American & Latino Art
- Medieval Art & Architecture
- Museums & Museum Studies
- Photography
- The Back Bay of Boston
- Using Images
- WR151: Hispanic New York
- WR152: Art & Social Justice in Boston Now
Get Started: Suggested Resources for Art and Art History
You can find more resources in the tabs menu, but below is a short list of some of the most frequently used and recommended resources for finding scholarly articles, background information, and books in the field of art and art history, as well as images.
Find Background Information
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. This reference collection is a great place to begin learning about an artist, movement, or period.
Find Scholarly Journal Articles
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new windowOffers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications. Areas covered include advertising art, antiques, archaeology, architecture and architectural history, art history, computers in art, crafts, decorative arts, fashion design, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, Interior design, landscape architecture, motion pictures, museology, non-Western art, painting, photography, pottery, sculpture, television, textiles, video.
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
ARTbibiographies Modern (ABM) indexes and abstracts international journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary arts, including photography, dating from the late 19th century onwards.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
