Related Guides
- About Artists
- African American Art & Artists
- African Art & Architecture
- AH/ AA 215: Arts of Africa & Its Diaspora
- AH201: Understanding Architecture (Fall 2023)
- AH240: Medieval Art in Europe (Spring/Fall 2023)
- AH317: Morocco to Timbuktu: Art and Architecture at the Saharan Crossroads
- AH353: Renaissance Architecture
- AH363: THE ARC OF RUSSIAN AND UKRAINIAN ART
- AH391: Twentieth-Century Art to 1940 (Fall 2024)
- American Architecture
- American Art
- Architecture
- Art & Architecture Online Resources
- Art: Race, Racism, & Antiracism
- Arts Administration I: Researching Topics in Books, Journals, & Newspapers
- Arts Administration II: Data and Information Sources
- Asian Arts
- Boston & Its Neighborhoods
- Buddhist Arts
- CAS EN 122 Medieval Romance & Daily Life
- CFA AR 381 Graphic Design Junior Studio
- CFA AR 882 Graphic Design/Design Studio
- Chinese Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Classical Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Classical Studies
- Covid-19 & Its Predecessors: Pandemics, Plagues, Pestilence, & Peste in Art
- FA520: Career Development in the Arts
- Finding Images
- Historic Preservation in America
- Indigenous and Native American Studies
- Islamic Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Japanese Art, Architecture, & Archaeology
- Latin American & Latino Art
- Medieval Art & Architecture
- Museums & Museum Studies
- Photography
- The Back Bay of Boston
- Using Images
- WR151: Hispanic New York
- WR152: Art & Social Justice in Boston Now
eBook Collections
- ACLS Humanities eBook This link opens in a new window A collection of major scholarly works from all areas of the humanities, including online versions of printed works as well as original electronic publications.
- Cambridge Companions Complete Collection This link opens in a new window The Cambridge Companions present collections of essays written by leading experts in the field on themes, subjects, and key figures in three broad areas: Literature and Classics; Philosophy, Religion, and Culture; and Music.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window Contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window A comprehensive digital collection that aims to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera.
- eBook Central This link opens in a new window eBook Central provides a wide variety of eBook titles from publishers across many disciplines.
- Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window Cross-searchable library containing the full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of biology, business and management, classical studies, economics and finance, history, law, linguistics, literature, mathematics, music, neuroscience, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, public health and epidemiology, religion, and social work.
Open Access
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window HathiTrust is a collection of millions of volumes of searchable books, journals, and government documents, including many public domain materials available as full-text online. To take advantage of BU's membership in HathiTrust which allows full volume download of public domain items, go directly to the HathiTrust website. Click the Login button. Select Boston University from the drop-down list. Then enter your BU username and password in the next screen.
- Getty Publications Virtual Library This link opens in a new window Contains works from the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute covering art, photography, archaeology, architecture, conservation, and the humanities. Publications include illustrated works on artists and art history, exhibition catalogues, works on cultural history, conservation of materials and archaeological sites, scholarly monographs, and critical editions of translated works.
- MetPublications This link opens in a new window MetPublications includes all known publications from the Metropolitan Museum of Art from 1869-1974, along with a selection of later titles. The MetPublications Project adds publications from 1964 to the present. Exhibition catalogs from 1870 to the present are included.
- Guggenheim Open Books "...more than 200 Guggenheim art books available on the Internet Archive..."
- MoMA (Museum of Modern Art, New York), exhibition publications 1929 - present.
- Institut National d'Histoire de l'Art: Bibliothèque numérique (IINHA) Digitized art books from the INHA.
