Key Sources
Advertising and promotion : an integrated marketing communications perspective by
Nearly everyone is influenced to some degree by advertising and other forms of promotion. Organizations in both the private and public sectors have learned that the ability to communicate effectively and efficiently with their target audiences is critical to their success. Advertising and other types of promotional messages are used to sell products and services as well as to promote causes, market political candidates, and deal with societal problems such as alcohol and drug abuse. Consumers are finding it increasingly difficult to avoid the efforts of marketers, who are constantly searching for new ways to communicate with them.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2024
The Routledge companion to advertising and promotional culture by
This comprehensive second edition provides an updated essential guide to the key issues, methodologies, concepts, debates, and policies that shape our everyday relationship with advertising. This book is a go-to source for those looking to understand the ways advertising has shaped society, in the past and present, with original analyses and case studies from both established and emerging scholars in critical media and advertising studies. It contains eight sections: Historical Perspectives; Political Economy; Globalization; Audiences as Labor, Consumers, Interpreters, Fans; Identities; Social Institutions; Everyday Life; and The Environment. This updated edition takes a critical look at advertising and promotion during the explosion of digital and social media, as well as with significant social and cultural shifts, including the Covid-19 pandemic, the rise of the Black Lives Matter movement, the destabilization of democracies and rise of authoritarianism around the world, and intensification of the climate crisis. The book offers global perspectives on advertising and promotion with attention to issues of diversity and difference. With chapters written by leading international scholars working at the intersections of media and advertising studies, this book is a go-to source for scholars and students in communication, media studies, and advertising and marketing looking to understand the ways advertising has shaped consumer culture, in the past and present
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2023
Selling the American people : advertising, optimization, and the origins of Adtech by
How marketers learned to dream of optimization and speak in the idiom of management science well before the widespread use of the Internet. Algorithms, data extraction, digital marketers monetizing "eyeballs": these all seem like such recent features of our lives. And yet, Lee McGuigan tells us in this eye-opening book, digital advertising was well underway before the widespread use of the Internet. Explaining how marketers have brandished the tools of automation and management science to exploit new profit opportunities, Selling the American People traces data-driven surveillance all the way back to the 1950s, when the computerization of the advertising business began to blend science, technology, and calculative cultures in an ideology of optimization. With that ideology came adtech , a major infrastructure of digital capitalism. To help make sense of today's attention merchants and choice architects, McGuigan explores a few key questions: How did technical experts working at the intersection of data processing and management sciences come to command the center of gravity in the advertising and media industries How did their ambition to remake marketing through mathematical optimization shape and reflect developments in digital technology In short, where did adtech come from, and how did data-driven marketing come to mediate the daily encounters of people, products, and public spheres His answers show how the advertising industry's efforts to bend information technologies toward its dream of efficiency and rational management helped to make "surveillance capitalism" one of the defining experiences of public life.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2023
Your Messaging Sucks : Become the Brand Your Customers Love by
The gap between what you think you offer and what your audience believes you offer is a messaging problem. It is hard to recognize because it initially appears to be an implementation or execution issue. When prospects aren't buying, it is blamed on marketing not providing the right leads. We point to the product development (and marketing) team if customers flock to a competitor. If leads abandon the sales process, we fiddle with the user experience. And when all else fails, we point to the individuals, departments, or agencies involved. Indeed, the stressed marketer, lazy salesperson, product developer, founder's lack of vision, agencies, and those stupid customers didn't get you. We never realize the core problem - how we create messaging is broken.This book offers step-by-step guidance, advice, and workshops for marketers, founders, and agency leaders on what to do when:The customer perspective isn't embedded into every strategic decisionMarketing is reactionary - lacks the power to lead with the customer experience Brand strategy and digital experience aren't a competitive differentiationThe sales process is slow, painful, and confusing for everyoneBusiness functions aren't working collaboratively on a product, and service customers wantMarketing programs are stalled or aren't reaching the right people No one truly understands your value propositionLike people, brands want to be heard. To be understood. Valued. Shown appreciation with purchases, loyalty, and reputation. After all the market research, product development, brand strategy, lead generation programs, and campaigns, how can it be possible that no one is listening? No one wants you. You are left dumbfounded and frustrated when prospects, consumers, or investors don't hear you. When your marketing efforts don't connect with the people you believe need you, you can feel like you failed. But you didn't fail; you just followed a marketing process that failed you. This book uses design thinking and organizational leadership skills to allow brands and people to shift their perspective - unlocking more robust products, services, and experiences that customers want. The methodologies are baked into workshops to allow breakthrough insights and progress for individuals, teams, and companies.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2023
Brand storytelling : integrated marketing communication for the digital media landscape by
This innovative new text introduces students to the power of storytelling and outlines a process for creating effective brand stories in a digital-first integrated marketing communications plan. From the earliest works on storytelling to the latest research, this text explains why and how storytelling works, the forms storytelling takes, and how to develop an integrated advertising, PR, and strategic marketing communications campaign that leverages the power of story within the reality of today's digital-first media landscape. Quesenberry and Coolsen present a balance of research and theory with practical application and case studies within a classroom-friendly framework for undergraduate or graduate courses or for the marketing communications professional looking for a guide to integrate storytelling into their brand communications. Emphasizing digital and social media perspectives in the strategic planning and campaign process, Brand Storytelling also surveys TV, radio, outdoor, print opportunities as well as earned, shared, owned, and paid media.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2023
Advertising (4th ed.) by
Examines advertising from the perspective of the advertiser as well as the specialists who create advertising. M: Advertising takes students beyond theory to learn about roles within each of these organizations, and to consider which they might one day play themselves in a highly visual, condensed, engaging format. Supported by a robust digital Connect Advertising offer, M is relevant, engaging, and cost-effective for today’s business students.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2022
Marketing for the Mad Women of Tomorrow by
In an ever-changing digital world, marketeers might feel like they are constantly chasing an evolution they can't keep up with. And rightly so. Tesla cars can warn us of accidents before they have happened. Amazon has drone delivery up and running. Consumers are getting ready to embrace virtual reality, augmented reality and chatbots. Where do we go from here? To bridge the gap between the technology-addicted consumer and marketeers that are constantly chasing the facts, those marketeers can no longer rely on yesterday's solutions. This book offers an aid to finding new ways out of the slump and in centralising innovation in every marketing plan. Reviewing success stories and best practices forms an added dimension to this approach: by figuring out which methods worked in the past, why and how they worked, we can set out for even greater results - even in the ever-changing digital age. AUTHOR: Wim Vermeulen is Director of Strategy and Innovation at Dentsu Aegis Network. Wim is a highly sought-after speaker and visiting professor at Solvay Business School. SELLING POINTS: * Put innovation at the centre of marketing * Build up your own future-proof marketing system * Rely on proven methods to successfully adapt to the future 40 colour, 40 b/w images
Location: Pardee Stacks HF5415.13 V4713 2018Publication Date: 2018
Note: Organized by company name, this business reference encyclopedia covers 500 major marketing and advertising campaigns – current and historical. Includes overview, historical context, target market, competition, market strategy, and further reading.
Browse all of the Pardee Marketing Reference Books for statistics on spending habits and trends, demographics, international statistics, media directories and more.
Enter keyword(s) in the Pardee Library Homepage Search box. This will yield a mix of books and articles on your topic. To retrieve books, click on “All books”, “Ebooks”, or “Print books”, under “Filter My Results” on the right hand sidebar.
sample keywords include:
advertising
brand management
consumers and marketing
global marketing
internet marketing
marketing
marketing plan
marketing research
See results of a sample article search here.
Ask at the Information/Reference Desk for help with additional subject headings and keyword searching.
- Vivvix This link opens in a new windowReports advertising expenditures by brand in twelve major media: Network TV, Cable TV, Syndication, Spot TV, Magazines, Sunday Magazines, National Newspapers, Newspapers, Network Radio, National Spot Radio, US Internet – Display and Outdoor. Please remember to log-out after every use. There is a Sign Out link in the upper right-hand corner of the database.
Description: An online database that tracks millions of brands across 18 media and ranks top spenders by industry, parent, brand, etc.
Note: There are only 3 users allowed at a time, so PLEASE LOG-OFF WHEN YOU ARE DONE!
For help, click on the Vivvix (formerly Ad$pender) tutorial.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel reports provide information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles, and leisure. Our subscription predominately covers products and markets in the United States. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape and consumer profiles.
Check out the graphing tutorial here.
- MRI-Simmons Catalyst (formerly MRI-Simmons Insights) This link opens in a new windowContains detailed consumer product and media data collected from a national sample of U.S. consumers. Data includes: demographics, product usage and media exposure.
Please see Pardee Library’s MRI-Simmons Catalyst (formerly MRI-Simmons Insights) tutorial here.
- SRDS (Standard Rate & Data Service) This link opens in a new windowStandard Rate & Data Service (SRDS) provides media advertising rates, contact information, circulation information, etc. for magazine, newspaper, television, direct marketing, radio, online, and out-of-home domestic and international markets. Claritas SMS provides demographic and consumer market segmentation data by geographic place (DMA, county, or state). Users can access pre-defined report templates to generate Pop-Facts Demographics Reports and Segmentation Reports.
- DM Newshttp://www.dmnews.com – This “online newspaper” offers a great variety of articles and tips on direct marketing. A highlight included is a list directory that is a “continuously updated directory of direct mail lists, opt-in e-mail lists and alternative media”. This site also contains searchable classified ads.
- Marketing Jobs.comhttp://www.marketingjobs.com – Featured employers include AT&T Wireless, Johnson & Johnson, and Eli Lilly and Company among others. The listings are broken down into major regions and searchable by keyword. Also of note on this site is a searchable salary survey based on job category and location.
- Marketing Terms.comhttp://www.marketingterms.com – Marketing Terms.com is an Internet marketing dictionary. The site includes e-marketing definitions, synonyms, cross-references, plus links to related articles and sites.
- Refdesk.comhttp://www.refdesk.com/factpop.html – An extensive listing with over 130 links to internet resources regarding population and demographics.
- Winmo This link opens in a new window
Directory of advertising agencies, key clients and brands, includes media expenditures and sample ads.
Please remember to log-out after every use. There is a Sign Out link on the upper right-hand corner of the database.
- GreenBookWorldwide directory of marketing research companies & services, and focus group facilities.
- National Cable and Telecommunications Association. Industry data and the impact of cable.
Ad Costs
Marketer's Guide to Media by Location: Pardee Reference High Use X HF5826.5 M45Publication Date: 2011A handy reference resource with current rates audience estimates for the major media. Get industry rates, trends and audience demographics for multiple types of media. Also includes general terminology/abbreviation glossaries, and media-specific term definitions.
- SRDS (Standard Rate & Data Service) This link opens in a new windowStandard Rate & Data Service (SRDS) provides media advertising rates, contact information, circulation information, etc. for magazine, newspaper, television, direct marketing, radio, online, and out-of-home domestic and international markets. Claritas SMS provides demographic and consumer market segmentation data by geographic place (DMA, county, or state). Users can access pre-defined report templates to generate Pop-Facts Demographics Reports and Segmentation Reports.
Network Spot Costs
TV network spot costs are published yearly in the late October edition of Advertising Age, which can be found in Current Periodicals at the Pardee Library. See data in this October 31, 2023 article which can be found online here.
Ad Expenditures
- Vivvix This link opens in a new windowReports advertising expenditures by brand in twelve major media: Network TV, Cable TV, Syndication, Spot TV, Magazines, Sunday Magazines, National Newspapers, Newspapers, Network Radio, National Spot Radio, US Internet – Display and Outdoor. Please remember to log-out after every use. There is a Sign Out link in the upper right-hand corner of the database.
For help, click on the Vivvix (formerly Ad$pender) tutorial.
- Winmo This link opens in a new windowDirectory of advertising agencies, key clients and brands, includes media expenditures and sample ads.
Agencies & Trends
- NetAdvantage (S&P Global) This link opens in a new windowNetAdvantage (S&P Global) provides web based access to S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Company Profiles, Stock Reports and Sub-Industry Reviews. Each S&P Industry Survey includes current trends, how the industry operates, downloadable company data and links to industry trade associations.
- Winmo This link opens in a new windowDirectory of advertising agencies, key clients and brands, includes media expenditures and sample ads.
Brands & Branding
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns by
This reference looks at 500 major marketing and advertising campaigns of the 20th century from a historical perspective and several related initiatives of earlier years that developed the basis for present day advertising.
Location: e-bookPublication Date: 2006
- The Brandweek DirectoryLocation: Pardee Reference X HF6182.U5 A34Publication Date: 2011Profiles brands, products, and services marketed in the US and the organizations that market them. Find brands by state or region, number of brands by media expenditures, number of brands by industry category and more.
Media Demographics and Directories
- Marketer's Guide to Media by Location: Pardee Reference High Use X HF5826.5 M45Publication Date: 2011A handy reference resource with current rates audience estimates for the major media. Get industry rates, trends and audience demographics for multiple types of media. Also includes general terminology/abbreviation glossaries, and media-specific term definitions.
- MRI-Simmons Catalyst (formerly MRI-Simmons Insights) This link opens in a new windowContains detailed consumer product and media data collected from a national sample of U.S. consumers. Data includes: demographics, product usage and media exposure.
- Google Display PlannerDisplay Planner shows you the potential reach and cost of targeting ideas to help you plan your Display Network campaigns
- Video Advertising Bureau (VAB)Site has profiles of cable networks which include estimates of network viewers, base demographics, and programming genres. Browse by multicultural groups, programming genres, and demographic segments.
- SRDS (Standard Rate & Data Service) This link opens in a new windowStandard Rate & Data Service (SRDS) provides media advertising rates, contact information, circulation information, etc. for magazine, newspaper, television, direct marketing, radio, online, and out-of-home domestic and international markets. Claritas SMS provides demographic and consumer market segmentation data by geographic place (DMA, county, or state). Users can access pre-defined report templates to generate Pop-Facts Demographics Reports and Segmentation Reports.
TV Rankings & Ratings
- Ad AgeOne of the leading advertising trade
journals. - Top 20 Cable Program NetworksStatistics from National Cable and Telecommunications Association.
- Television Bureau of AdvertisingResearch Central from the Television Bureau of Advertising. Program Ratings & Rankings.
For more free studies and reports on radio, see (lower right).
Sample Ads
- Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns by
This reference looks at 500 major marketing and advertising campaigns of the 20th century from a historical perspective and several related initiatives of earlier years that developed the basis for present day advertising.
Location: e-bookPublication Date: 2006
- Ad AgeOne of the leading advertising trade
journals. - Ad*AccessDuke University has digitized over 7000 advertisements that were
printed in newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. They reflect
main developments in American society, culture, business and technology. - AdForum.comCollections of ads in all types of media and various industries.
- AdAge: CreativitySearchable database of TV ads.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 (Duke University)Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States
- Advertising AgeOne of the leading advertising trade journals.
- Winmo This link opens in a new window Directory of advertising agencies, key clients and brands, includes media expenditures and sample ads.
Reference & Instruction Librarian
Dorice Moylan
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
Pardee Library
dmoylan@bu.edu
Room 318F
Pardee Library
dmoylan@bu.edu
Room 318F
Pardee Library
617-353-4310
Subjects: Business & Management