Research: Marketing: Home

About This Guide

This guide gathers useful resources, in print and online, for marketing, advertising, e-commerce, and internet marketing.

Click on the page tabs at left to display various sub-topics under each page topic.

For further help, see the Get Help Box in the left margin or contact the guide author from the Profile box on the right to set up a research appointment.

Top Sources

Vivvix This link opens in a new window
Reports advertising expenditures by brand in twelve major media: Network TV, Cable TV, Syndication, Spot TV, Magazines, Sunday Magazines, National Newspapers, Newspapers, Network Radio, National Spot Radio, US Internet – Display and Outdoor. Please remember to log-out after every use. There is a Sign Out link in the upper right-hand corner of the database.For help, click on the Vivvix (formerly Ad$pender) tutorial.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Mintel reports provide information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles, and leisure. Our subscription predominately covers products and markets in the United States. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape and consumer profiles. For instructions see the Mintel Tutorial.
Winmo This link opens in a new window
Directory of advertising agencies, key clients and brands, includes media expenditures and sample ads.
Standard Rate & Data Service (SRDS) This link opens in a new window
Standard Rate & Data Service (SRDS) provides media advertising rates, contact information, circulation information, etc. for magazine, newspaper, television, direct marketing, radio, online, and out-of-home domestic and international markets. Claritas SMS provides demographic and consumer market segmentation data by geographic place (DMA, county, or state). Users can access pre-defined report templates to generate Pop-Facts Demographics Reports and Segmentation Reports.
MRI-Simmons Catalyst This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed consumer product and media data collected from a national sample of U.S. consumers. Data includes: demographics, product usage and media exposure. See MRI-Simmons Catalyst for instructions.
Please note that MRI Simmons has updated its interface. In order to follow our MRI-Simmons Insights (formerly University Reporter) tutorials you must launch the 1.0 interface by clicking Launch 1.0 in the top right corner.