Skip to Main Content
Database of Regional, National, and Global Winegrape Bearing Areas by Variety, 1960 to 2016
The book entitled 'Which winegrape varieties are grown where? A global empirical picture (Revised Edition)' is a unique compendium of data on winegrape bearing areas by variety and region. In its first edition it drew on the Anderson and Aryal database of December 2013, which covered 48 countries for the years 2000 and 2010 in detail plus less-complete national data for circa 1990, 1980, 1970 and 1960. That database and book have since been revised, expanded and updated to 2016.
Annual Database of Global Wine Markets, 1835 to 2019
The motivation to assemble these historical annual data was to learn more about wine’s globalization, and to publish a revised version of our Global Wine Markets statistical compendium.
Global Wine Markets, 1961 to 2009: A Statistical Compendium
Global wine market statistics produced by the Wine Economics Research Centre.
Australian Grape and Wine Industry Database, 1843 to 2013
Our book entitled 'Growth and Cycles in Australia's Wine Industry: A Statistical Compendium, 1843 to 2013' draws on a compilation of annual data on the economic history of the development of the grape and wine industry in Australia.
Data on the economic contributions and characteristics of grapes and wine to rural regions of Australia
Over the two decades each side of the new millennium, the Australian wine industry went through a remarkable period of export-oriented growth. The vineyard area in Australia trebled over the 20 vintages to 2008. Today, nearly two-thirds of Australia's production is exported and production itself increased nearly four-fold. Moreover, the average price of wine exports more than trebled in nominal terms over that period. Meanwhile, domestic consumption of wine has become more focused on
Annual Database of National Beverage Consumption Volumes and Expenditures, 1950 to 2015
This new database covers all countries of the world, introduces two new summary indicators to capture the extent of convergence in national alcohol consumption levels and in their mix of beverages, and distinguishes countries according to whether their alcoholic focus was on wine, beer or spirits in the early 1960s as well as their geographic region and their real per capita income. For recent decades expenditure data are included and we compare alcohol with soft drink retail expenditure, and