Related Guides
Additional Resources
United States
- Foundation Plant Services Grape Registry FPS has a large publicly-available foundation collection of wine, table, juice, raisin and rootstock grape varieties that was started in 1958. The collection in 2017 has grown to 595 varieties consisting of 2,339 individual selections. The main purpose of this site is to serve as a catalogue for grape growers, winemakers and commercial nurseries seeking to determine what varieties and selections are available at FPS, as well as the origin or identity of those selections.
- The Wine Institute Wine Institute is the public policy advocacy association of California wineries. Wine Institute brings together the resources of 1,000 wineries and affiliated businesses to support legislative and regulatory advocacy, international market development, media relations, scientific research, and education programs that benefit the entire California wine industry.
- Wine Business.com Wine Business Monthly is the leading producer of information and events for the wine industry.
- Wine Appellations of Origin, Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, U.S. Dept. of the Treasury The TTB.gov Wine Appellations of Origin homepage serves as a virtual warehouse of all U.S. and foreign appellations of origin. The information provided here is as comprehensive as possible based on the information available to us.
- AgNIC Viticulture Guide, Michigan State University Libraries MSU maintains the Viticulture information site within the AgNIC alliance. The site contains links to information. AgNIC is a consortium of Land Grant libraries and Extension Services that strives to provide quality information resources.
- WineAmerica (The National Association of American Wineries) The mission of WineAmerica is to encourage the dynamic growth and development of American wineries and winegrowing through the advancement and advocacy of sound public policy. WineAmerica was founded in 1978 as the Association of American Vintners, a trade association of wineries with membership based in the eastern U.S. By 1991, the association had expanded and merged with the National Vintners Association forming the American Vintners Association. The association was renamed WineAmerica in 2003 to reflect its national role.
- American Wine Society A non-profit, educational, consumer-oriented organization for those interested in learning more about all aspects of wine.
- On Reserve: A Wine Law Blog What is wine law? This is a common question I receive whenever I tell people I focus on wine law. The answer, more or less, amounts to this: wine law in the U.S. entails many areas of the law and several different government agencies. Wine law is not one set of laws, nor one area of law. The topic spawns centuries of history (in the U.S. and outside), several federal statutes, multiple agency regulations, fifty-one differing state and district laws, international trade agreements, and much more.
United States - Library & Museum Collections
- Wine Industry Collection, Cal Poly Pomona The Wine Industry Collection includes hundreds of volumes, many linear feet of archival materials and artifacts, and continues to grow. Information is collected on California wine and viticulture, with emphasis on Southern California, but the scope of the collection is also worldwide.
- Food & Wine Collections, UC Davis Library The UC Davis Library’s food and wine collections tell the story of California’s global impact and significance in wine, craft beer brewing, organic farming, and cuisine.
- Amerine (Maynard) Wine Label Collection, UC Davis Library Includes labels from domestic and foreign wines and spirits. Most labels date between 1874-1969, though some date as late as 1992. In 1935, Amerine was hired by the fledgling University of California, Davis’ newly formed Department of Viticulture and Enology to help establish a solid technical foundation for the California wine industry
- Song of the Vine: History of Wine, Cornell University Cornell University Library celebrates the 10th anniversary of its Eastern Wine and Grape Archive (EWGA) with an exhibition devoted to the story of wine making. Formed in 1998 as a cooperative venture between Cornell University Library’s Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, and the Frank A. Lee Library at the New York State Agricultural Experiment Station (NYSAES) in Geneva, New York, the archive was established to preserve the records of grape growers, wine makers, and associated industry participants
- Eastern Wine and Grape Archive, Cornell University In 1998, Cornell University established the Eastern Wine and Grape Archive (EWGA) to collect the archival records of grape growers, wine makers, and associated industry participants.
- Oregon Wine History Archive, Linfield College In 2011, Linfield College established the Oregon Wine History Archive (OWHA), which is committed to preserving and sharing the story of Oregon wine. With our mission to preserve all aspects and collect from all regions of the Oregon wine industry, we have a growing group of collections from winery owners, winemakers, grape-growers, marketers, enthusiasts and sommeliers. DigitalCommons@Linfield provides an overview of the collection, as well as related exhibits and highlights from each wine grower or organization.
- Drinking Vessels Through History, Corning Museum of Glass This guide will include materials which focus specifically on goblets and other types of drinking vessels, including historical information, collecting guides, drawings and designs, and trade catalogs which provide images of drinking vessels.
- Arthur & Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America The library holds more than 100,000 volumes, ranging from rare 16th-century texts to 21st-century titles. Approximately 20,000 of these volumes are cookbooks or food related.
- "Speaking of Wine: Sonoma County Winemaker Oral Histories," Sonoma County Library "Speaking of Wine presents recordings and transcripts of interviews with winemakers, growers, and other notable figures in the Sonoma County wine industry from the early 1970s to the present. Transcripts have been published as part of the Wine Library Associates of Sonoma County and conducted by William Heintz, Carole Hicke and others."
- "Biblioteca Vinaria Sonoma," Sonoma County Library "From proclamations of George III on wine regulations to letters describing the grape production in Sonoma Valley vineyards, the Sonoma County Wine Library's collection includes a wide range of historical texts on all aspects of viticulture and winemaking. The digitized books, pamphlets and ephemera available through the Sonoma Heritage Collection represent the majority of the Wine Library's holdings available in the public domain (published before 1923)."
- Oral History Center, Bancroft Library, U.C. Berkeley Oral history projects include "California Wine Industry," "West Coast Cocktails," and "America's Wine: The Legacy of Prohibition."
Australia
- Wine Australia Wine Australia invests in research and development (R&D), marketing, disseminating knowledge, encouraging adoption and protecting the reputation of Australian wine. We work closely with our representative organisations, wine sector bodies and our partners to support the long-term success of the Australian grape and wine community.
- Wine Literature of the World This website aims to highlight the State Library of South Australia's wonderful collections of wine-related materials, the largest in the southern hemisphere, if not the world. The collection origins can be traced back to 1834 in London prior to European settlement of South Australia. The collections now encompass thousands of items including books, pamphlets, wine labels, company records and many other examples of exquisite oenography.
- Wine Economics Research Centre, University of Adelaide The Wine Economics Research Centre was established in February 2010 by the School of Economics and the Wine 2030 Research Network of the University of Adelaide, having been previously a research program in the University's Centre for International Economic Studies. Its purpose is to promote and foster its growing research strength in the area of wine economics, and to complement the University's long-established strength in viticulture and oenology research.
France
- Institut National de l’Origine et de la Qualité The organization in charge of recognizing, granting, administering, regulating, and protecting the French appellations contrôlées, or AOC, now known as appellation d’origine protégée or AOP.
