Related Guides
Databases
Environment
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Environment Complete is a comprehensive database focused on all aspects of environmental science including conservation, biodiversity, climate, pollution, agriculture and aquaculture, environmental law and policy, urban planning, environmental engineering, and more.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window GreenFILE searches journal articles, government documents, and ebooks relating to human impact on the environment. It covers interdisciplinary topics such as environmental policy, environmental engineering, pollution, conservation, and other areas in which human activities and nature coincide. GreenFILE also contains a cited references feature that allows the user to see what material the author has cited in their publication, and what later publications cite it.
Agriculture
- Agriculture Collection Available through the Massachusetts Library System
- VITIS: Viticulture and Enology Abstracts VITIS-VEA is an international English-language literature database in the field of viticulture. Publications are accessible in the following areas: Morphology, physiology, and biochemistry of grapevine, soil science, genetics and grapevine breeding, phytopathology and grapevine protection, cellar techniques, economics of viticulture and oenology, oenology, microbiology of wine.
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window Index to the National Agricultural Library, including primary sources on world agriculture.
- AGRIS AGRIS (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology) is a global public database providing access to bibliographic information on agricultural science and technology.
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Biological Abstracts searches journal articles in all areas of the biological sciences. Like all databases on the Web of Science platform, it also provides citation information — both articles cited and 'cited by' links, allowing the user to follow the literature on a topic both forward and backward in time. Also allows searching using BIOSIS indexing, MeSH terms, and CAS registry numbers.
Business & Industry
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back to 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses. Sources covered by this database include Economist Intelligence Unit country reports.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new window Comprehensive collection of Industry reports organized by NAICS code. Reports include competitive landscape, supply chain, statistics and key facts as well as information on key issues facing the industry. Includes U.S. Specialized Industry Reports and Global Industry Reports.
- ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window ProQuest One Business combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including ABI-Inform, Accounting, Tax & Banking and Entrepreneurship and contains more than 130 million documents. Content in this database also covers over 2,400 journals and magazines, several hundred news sources, thousands of ebooks, videos and company, industry and country reports.
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window Mintel reports provide information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles, and leisure. Our subscription predominately covers products and markets in the United States. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape and consumer profiles. For instructions see the Mintel Tutorial.
- MarketLine Company Profiles This link opens in a new window MarketLine (formerly Datamonitor) Company Profiles provide profiles of companies worldwide. Each profile includes a business description, company history, key employees, major products/services and competitors. Many of the profiles contain a Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities and Threats (SWOT) analysis. To locate company profile, browse alphabetical list of company profiles or type company name into Browse For search box and click on Browse button. Available through Business Source Complete.
- NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window NetAdvantage (S&P Global) provides web based access to S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Company Profiles, Stock Reports and Sub-Industry Reviews. Each S&P Industry Survey includes current trends, how the industry operates, downloadable company data and links to industry trade associations.
- First Research Industry Reports This link opens in a new window Industry reports with Career focus. Includes overview, sales & marketing, finance & regulation, regional & international issues, human resources, and statistics for over 100 industries. Additionally, contains quarterly industry updates, business challenges, trends & opportunities, call preparation questions, and ratios.
- Value Line This link opens in a new window Provides market and financial data on companies, industries, mutual funds and other securities. Includes online access to the Value Line Investment Surveys for over 1,000 companies in over 90 industries. The Value Line Investment Surveys include historical and current financial results, price and earnings projections, and financial commentaries.
- Encyclopedia of American Industries This link opens in a new window A three-volume business reference that provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. The work consists of more than 1,000 detailed profiles of the manufacturing and service industries. Published 2011.
Hospitality & Culinary Arts
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts articles and industry news on all areas of tourism and hospitality. Areas covered include: culinary arts; food and beverage management; hospitality law; hotel management, leisure and travel, market trends.
Science, Behavioral Science, & Medicine
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Provides access to articles, books and book chapters, and dissertations that cover the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window This database includes the full text of articles from more than 500 journals. It covers a broad range of topics related to psychology and the behavioral sciences including observational and experimental methods, child and adolescent psychology, and many areas of counseling.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is a general science database that searches journal articles and book chapters in all areas of science, technology, and health. ScienceDirect also provides full text access to a number of major reference works, allows the user to create email alerts for specific journal titles, book series, or research topics, and provides access to a limited number of "pre-pub" articles (articles accepted for publication but not yet officially released).
- General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary science database designed for students and non-specialists. Subjects includes astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, health, medicine, oceanography, physics, and zoology. Covers leading journals and magazines, biographical sketches, symposia, conferences, review articles, and special issues of journals. Also covers the New York Times Science Section and cites book reviews.
- Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window Science Citation Index Expanded, accessed via Web of Science, provides comprehensive data on bibliographic and citation information. This database allows a researcher to identify which later articles have cited any particular earlier article, or have cited the articles of any particular author, or have been cited most frequently. Searches more than 6,500 notable and significant journals, across 150 disciplines.
- MEDLINE This link opens in a new window Contains the MEDLINE database of the National Library of Medicine for the current year and previous six years. Includes bibliographic citations and abstracts for biomedical literature in English and all foreign languages and is fully indexed.
- Embase This link opens in a new window Embase.com is the database equivalent of EXCERPTA MEDICA. It is a comprehensive, international database covering Anesthesiology, Human Genetics, Gerontology, Drug Research, Pharmacology, Drug Side Effects and Interactions, Toxicology, Human Medicine (Clinical and Experimental), including Pediatrics and Obstetrics & Gynecology, Basic Biological Sciences, Biotechnology, Biomedicine, Health Policy and Management, Pharmacoeconomics, Public and Occupational Health, Environmental Health, Pollution Control, Substance Dependence and Abuse, Psychiatry, Forensic Science, Alternative and Complementary Medicine, Nursing.
Area Studies
- American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies This link opens in a new window Covers North American scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books and book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window An index to works, primarily in the humanities and the social sciences, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, and books.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the U.S. Includes both historic publications, starting in 1959, as well as current ones.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean. Scope ranges from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities.
- Redalyc (Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe,España y Portugal) Provides access to over 500 journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.
- SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) Provides access to journals from Latin America, South Africa, Spain, and Portugal. Strongest in science, medicine and public health, but also includes applied social sciences and humanities.
Searching across Disciplines
- BU Libraries Search This link opens in a new window BU Libraries Search provides a single place to search for a wide variety of research material provided by the library. Resources covered by the search includes books and eBooks, journals, scores and sheet music, video and audio recordings, and other physical and electronic items held by the library. Coverage encompasses materials relating to the prehistoric and antique world through to the present.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window This database is a core general science resource, covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and to use associated journal metrics provided by the vendor.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Academic Search Premier contains indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for scholarly publications, most of them peer-reviewed. The subjects covered include topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window This database contains indexing and abstracts of American doctoral dissertations accepted at accredited institutions since 1861 and a selection from other countries. Masters level theses are included selectively.
Featured Journals & Trade Magazines
- IVES technical reviews : vine & wine Published by the International Viticulture and Enology Society (IVES), IVES Technical Reviews is a tool to transfer current vine and wine research to end users, i.e. consultants, enologists, agronomists, experts, teachers, students, winegrowers, equipment suppliers, and people working in biotechnological and chemical industries. The articles published are sourced from OENO One and other scientific and technical journals. Topics investigated range from viticulture and enology to economics, sociology and health.
- Australian & New Zealand Wine Industry Journal Contains wine-making, grape growing, finance & marketing information, including papers, industry news, market reports, new products.
- Food & Wine For those interested in various aspects of food, wine, entertaining, and travel. Topics include home, travel, what's new, and healthy eating.
- Harpers Wine & Spirit Provides information about the UK drinks industry and analyses the key business trends and developments
- International Journal of Wine Business Research The International Journal of Wine Business Research (IJWBR) is the only journal that provides complete and full coverage across business disciplines, continents and countries, on all issues related to managing wine-related businesses, and its perspective is inclusive of other alcoholic beverages, such as beer and spirits. It provides a mechanism for the exchange of information within the broadly defined fields of wine business, marketing, consumer behaviour, wine tourism and management (as a business organisation, viticulture and wine sensory aspects). It is inclusive rather than exclusive but aims to maintain content in the wine business and alcoholic beverage industry.
- International Journal of Wine Research An international, peer-reviewed, open access journal that focuses on all scientific aspects of wine, including: vine growing wine elaboration human interaction with wine health aspects of wine
- Journal of Wine Research The Journal of Wine Research is an international and multidisciplinary refereed journal publishing the results of recent research on all aspects of viticulture, oenology and the international wine trade. It was founded by the Institute of Masters of Wine to enhance and encourage scholarly and scientific interdisciplinary research in these fields. The main areas covered by the journal include biochemistry, botany, economics, geography, geology, history, medicine, microbiology, oenology, psychology, sociology, marketing, business studies, management, wine tasting and viticulture.
- OENO One Vine and Wine Open Access Journal OENO One was founded in 2016 by a group of leading European universities and research institutes in the field of vine, grape and wine sciences.
- VITIS: Journal of Grapevine Research VITIS appears quarterly and publishes original scientific papers and critical reviews concerning grapevine biology, molecular biology, breeding, plant pathology, oenology and related fields.
- Wine & Viticulture Journal Wine industry technology and innovation. Dedicated to covering all aspects of winemaking and technology, viticulture, wine business and marketing - from vine to market. Essential reading for wine industry professionals and producers including growers, winemakers, engineers, consultants, marketers and educators.
- Wine Economics and Policy Studies and researches applied to wine sector, as well as the management skills needed for the competitive development of wine companies, require an increasing international approach. The mission of this journal is to bring together academic researchers and business professionals interested in the economics and politics of wine around the world, and bring about a worldwide opinion on the current issues that the wine sector faces
- Wine Studies Wine Studies is a peer-reviewed, international multidisciplinary open-access Journal presenting and discussing new and significant researches related to the complex wine supply chain. The Journal will publish original research articles as its core material supplemented by reviews, editorials and point of views in a broad area of topics including: chemistry, biochemistry, sensory science, environmental impacts, by-products valorization, microbiology, production technologies, genetics, oenology, viticulture, medicine, public health, psychology, social sciences, economics and business.
Featured Industry Reports
- State of the US Wine Industry 2022 (Silicon Valley Bank) After a difficult 2020 of closed tasting rooms and restaurants, 2021 was bound to be better for the industry. Surprisingly, the industry instead lost volume and share to spirits, but the premium segment thrived.
- Wine Industry Profile: United States A resource of information on key vertical markets. This industry profile identifies market size, competitive landscape and provides forecast data of market performance.
- Wine Industry Profile: France A resource of information on key vertical markets. This industry profile identifies market size, competitive landscape and provides forecast data of market performance.
- Wine Industry Profile: Italy A resource of information on key vertical markets. This industry profile identifies market size, competitive landscape and provides forecast data of market performance.
- Wine Industry Profile: Australia A resource of information on key vertical markets. This industry profile identifies market size, competitive landscape and provides forecast data of market performance.
