Skip to Main Content
The sommelier prep course an introduction to the wines, beers, and spirits of the world
A comprehensive, must-have guide to beverage service including wine, beer, and spirits The Sommelier Prep Course is the ultimate resource for any aspiring sommelier, bartender, or serious wine lover
The Protection of Geographical Indications : Law and Practice
Encapsulating the most recent changes in the law, this second edition of The Protection of Geographical Indications investigates the European laws which regulate the way that geographical indications can be used in the marketing of agricultural products, food, wines and spirits. Key updates to this comprehensive second edition include two new chapters exploring the impact of Brexit and considering the protection of EU geographical indications outside Europe and of foreign geographical indications within the EU.
The Little Red Book of Wine Law : a Case of Legal Issues
This book takes a look at how law and the wine have intersected. You'll find a number of fascinating stories that examine the various legal concepts that are related to wine, vineyards, and wine-drinking, including law suits, disputes, and more. First, the book provides an introduction to, and survey of, the history of wine, wine business, and the laws affecting wine production and sale. Modeled after a case of wine, each of the twelve chapters, or bottles, examines a specific topic.
The Palgrave Handbook of Wine Industry Economics
This Palgrave Handbook offers the first international comparative study into the efficiency of the industrial organization of the global wine industry. Looking at several important vineyards of the main wine countries, the contributors analyze differences in implementation and articulation of three key stages: grape production, wine making and distribution (marketing, selling and logistics).
Dictionary of Wine: All the French Wine Appellations, from A-Z
In this comprehensive guide to French wine, each appellation covers one or two pages in a simple and clear presentation. Colour, appearance, taste, nose, grape varieties and soil - the essential information - is given for each, as well as recommended food pairings, production volume and serving temperatures.
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia
Filled with succinct, yet highly informative entries, the four-volume Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia covers all of the planet's nation-states, as well as various tribes and marginalized peoples.
World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence from Hunter-Gathers to the Age of Globalization
Comprehensive in scope, this two-volume encyclopedia covers agriculture and industry, food preparation and regional cuisines, science and technology, nutrition and health, and trade and commerce, as well as key contemporary issues such as famine relief, farm subsidies, food safety, and the organic movement. Articles also include specific foodstuffs such as chocolate, potatoes, and tomatoes; topics such as Mediterranean diet and the Spice Route; and pivotal figures such as Marco Polo, Columbus, and Catherine de' MΘdici. Special features include: dozens of recipes representing different historic periods and cuisines of the world; listing of herbal foods and uses; and a chronology of key events/people in food history.
Food and Drink in American History: A "Full Course" Encyclopedia
This three-volume encyclopedia on the history of American food and beverages serves as an ideal companion resource for social studies and American history courses, covering topics ranging from early American Indian foods to mandatory nutrition information at fast food restaurants.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America (2nd. ed)
Home cooks and gourmets, chefs and restaurateurs, epicures, and simple food lovers of all stripes will delight in this smorgasbord of the history and culture of food and drink. Professor of Culinary History Andrew Smith and nearly 200 authors bring together in 770 entries the scholarship on wide-ranging topics from airline and funeral food to fad diets and fast food; drinks like lemonade, Kool-Aid, and Tang; foodstuffs like Jell-O, Twinkies, and Spam; and Dagwood, hoagie, and Sloppy Joe sandwiches.