Epigraphy & Papyrology
Inscriptions and Their Uses in Greek and Latin Literature by
From the archaic period onwards, ancient literary authors deployed inscriptions as ornamental devices, as alternative voices to that of the narrator, to display scholarship, to make points about history, politics, individual morality, and piety, and even to express moral views about the nature of epigraphy.
Location: Online and in print. Mugar Stacks CN340 .I57 2013
Greek Inscriptions
- Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online is an annual publication collecting newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents. It covers the entire Greek world from the early Greek texts up to the 8th century A.D.
- Attic Inscriptions Online Attic Inscriptions Online (AIO) is a resource structured around English translations of the inscriptions of ancient Athens and Attica. The core of the site comprises annotated English translations of Attic inscriptions. The most popular means of accessing a translation is via browse by source. If you browse by an outdated reference (e.g. an old edition of IG) you will always be led to a translation of the most up-to-date Greek text. Each translation includes a link to the Greek text translated, whether on an external site or on AIO.
The Study of Greek Inscriptions, 2nd edition by Location: Mugar Stacks CN350 .W65 1992Publication Date: 1992
Latin Inscriptions
- Corpus inscriptionum Latinarum seriesPrint volumes -- Mugar Folio CN520 .C6M
- (CIL) Archivum Corporis Electronicum The database provides access to the archival material of the CIL, the squeezes, photos and records of the inscriptions edited in the CIL. The entries are linked to the epigraphic database Clauss – Slaby EDCS, so that the text of the inscriptions is also available.
- Epigraphic Database Heidelberg he Epigraphic Database Heidelberg contains the texts of Latin and bilingual (i.e. Latin-Greek) inscriptions of the Roman Empire. The epigraphic monuments were collected and kept up to date on the basis of modern research.
- Illustrated Introduction to Latin Epigraphy byLocation: Mugar Stacks CN510 .G63 1983Publication Date: 1983
The Cambridge Manual of Latin Epigraphy by
This book advances our understanding of the place of Latin inscriptions in the Roman world. It enables readers... to appreciate both the potential and the limitations of inscriptions as historical source material, by considering the diversity of epigraphic culture in the Roman world and how it has been transmitted to the twenty-first century.
Location: Mugar Library CN510 .C665 2012Publication Date: 2012
