Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Der Neue Pauly This link opens in a new window Der Neue Pauly is the original German version of the encyclopedia of the ancient world published by Verlag J. B. Metzler since 1996. It includes the Classical Tradition in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history. Antiquity to the present, mostly before 400 CE. English translation available via Brill's New Pauly.
- Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new window Brill’s New Pauly provides access to Brill’s New Pauly, an encyclopedia of the ancient world translated into English; Der Neue Pauly, the original German version; and Supplements I, Volumes 1-6 (in English) on chronologies; author/text dictionary; atlas; reception of myth, mythology, and classical literature; and scholarship.
- Brill's New Pauly Supplements Online I This link opens in a new window
- Volume 1: Names, Dates, and Dynasties
- Volume 2: Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts
- Volume 3: Historical Atlas of the Ancient World
- Volume 4: The Reception of Myth and Mythology
- Volume 5: The Reception of Classical Literature
- Volume 6: History of Classical Scholarship: A Biographical Dictionary
- Volume 1: Names, Dates, and Dynasties
A New Topographical Dictionary of Ancient Rome by
The first topographical dictionary since Platner and Ashby's in 1929 describes the known buildings and monuments, and the geographical and topographical features, of ancient Rome with a concise history of each, measurements, dates, and citations of significant ancient and modern sources.
Location: Mugar Stacks DG 68 R5 1992Publication Date: 1992
Aufstieg und Niedergang der römischen Welt (ANRW) by Location: Mugar Stacks DG209 .T36Publication Date: 1972 <1988>Scholarly research on Roman civilization including the history of the reception and influence of the Roman culture.
- Oxford Reference: Classics
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture (2007)
- Oxford Classical Dictionary (3rd ed rev,2005)
- Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization (2nd ed, 2014)
- Oxford Companion to Classical Literature (3rd ed, 2011)
- Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World (2009)
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece (2010)
- Who's Who in the Classical World (2003)
- Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture (2007)
The Oxford Handbook of Ancient Greek Religion by
This handbook offers both students and teachers of ancient Greek religion a comprehensive overview of the current state of scholarship in the subject, from the Archaic to the Hellenistic periods. It not only presents key information, but also explores the ways in which such information isgathered and the different approaches that have shaped the area. In doing so, the volume provides a crucial research and orientation tool for students of the ancient world, and also makes a vital contribution to the key debates surrounding the conceptualization of ancient Greek religion. The handbook's initial chapters lay out the key dimensions of ancient Greek religion, approaches to evidence, and the representations of myths. The following chapters discuss the continuities and differences between religious practices in different cultures, including Egypt, the Near East, the BlackSea, and Bactria and India. The range of contributions emphasizes the diversity of relationships between mortals and the supernatural - in all their manifestations, across, between, and beyond ancient Greek cultures - and draws attention to religious activities as dynamic, highlighting how theychanged over time, place, and context.
Location: Mugar Stacks BL783 .O94 2017Publication Date: 2017
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium by
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium is a three-volume, comprehensive dictionary of Byzantine civilization. The first resource of its kind in the field, it features over 5,000 entries written by an international group of eminent Byzantinists covering all aspects of life in the Byzantine world. According to Alexander Kazhdan, editor-in-chief of the Dictionary: "Entries on patriarchy and emperors will coexist with entries on surgery and musical instruments. An entry on the cultivation of grain will not only be connected to entries on agriculture and its economics but on diet, the baking of bread, and the role of bread in this changing society." Major entries treat such topics as agriculture, art, literature, and politics, while shorter entries examine topics that relate to Byzantium such as the history of Kiev and personalities of ancient and biblical history. Each article is followed by a bibliography, and numerous maps, tables, architectural designs, and genealogies reinforce and clarify the text. The new Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium will be the standard research tool and reference work for Byzantinists from graduate students to advanced scholars, and an essential resource for college and school libraries. It will also be an invaluable guide for classicists, Western medievalists, Islamicists, Slavicists, art historians, religious historians, and scholars of archaeology.
Location: Mugar Reference X DF521 .O93 1991 or OnlinePublication Date: 1991
The Oxford Handbook of Roman Studies by
The Oxford Handbook of Roman Studies is an indispensable guide to the latest scholarship in this area. Over fifty distinguished scholars elucidate the contribution of material as well as literary culture to our understanding of the Roman world. The emphasis is particularly upon the new andexciting links between the various sub-disciplines that make up Roman Studies - for example, between literature and epigraphy, art and philosophy, papyrology and economic history. The Handbook, in fact, aims to establish a field and scholarly practice as much as to describe the current state ofplay. Connections with disciplines outside classics are also explored, including anthropology, psychoanalysis, gender and reception studies, and the use of new media.
Location: Mugar Reference X DG209 .O94 2010Publication Date: 2010
Science in the Ancient World by
The first A-Z resource to catalog the achievements and legacy of more than four millennia of scientific thought in the ancient world of the Mediterranean and the Near East, providing a complete overview of the physical, chemical, life, medical, and social sciences of the classical world. Many are familiar with such wonders as steam power and the discovery that the planets revolve around the Sun. The fact that such phenomena were known to the ancient Greeks more than 2,000 years ago is less well known. Now, Science in the Ancient World fills this gap by covering all the major scientific developments during 4,000 years of ancient history. Over 200 A-Z entries explore the origins of science, from astronomy and mathematics to medicine and chemistry. Giants like Aristotle and Plato are examined, together with more obscure figures like Nearchus, explorer of the Indian Ocean, and Hero, discoverer of steam power. Emphasis is placed on the diversity of ancient science, from the achievements of the Mesopotamians to the science of the Romans. The philosophies behind ancient science are explored, from the Epicurean pursuit of happiness to the asceticism of the Stoics. This comprehensive survey brings to the modern reader a long lost age of scientific discovery. A complete bibliography of primary source documents, secondary source biographies, and critical analyses 50 illustrations including maps, portraits of the key scientific figures, and depictions of scientific instruments and phenomena
Location: Science & Engineering Library Reference Q124.95 .L39 2004Publication Date: 2004
