Skip to Main Content

Classical Studies

Biographical Sources

Ancient

Ancient Greek Scientists (Wikipedia)
 

Bildlexikon Antiken Personen.  German Hafner. Portraits. From Accius to Zenon. Portraits in sculpture, mosaic, and coin. Mugar Reserve Room DE 7 H33 1933.
 

Biographical Dictionary of the Byzantine Empire. Donald Nicol. Mugar Reference XDF 506 N53 1991.
 

Chronicle of the Roman Emperors: the Reign-by-Reign Record of the Rulers of Imperial Rome. Christopher Scarre. Mugar Library DG 274 S28 1995.
 

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World. Joyce Salisbury. Includes 150 biographies, 30 general entries, and mythological and legendary women. Mugar Reference X HQ 1127 S25 2001.
 

Roman Emperors: A Biographical Guide to the Rulers of Imperial Rome 31 B.C. to A.D. 46. Michael Grant, 1985. Brief entries, no references. Mugar Library DG 274 G73 1985B.
 

Prosopographia Imperii Romani, 6 vols. Mugar Library DG 203 5 P9 1933.
 

Prosopographie des Femmes de l’Ordre Senatorial.  Marie Raepsaet-Charlier, 2 vols.  Mugar Library DG 203.5 R34 1987.


Prosopography of the Later Roman Empire, ed. Arnold (A.H.M.) Jones, 1971 and John Martindale 1980, 3 vols. Mugar Library DG 203.5 F71.

 

TLG Online Canon of Greek Authors and Works

 

Who’s Who in the Ancient World, ed. Betty Radice. Historical and mythological figures. Mugar Reference XDE 7 R33 1973.
 

Who's who in the age of Alexander the Great : prosopography of Alexander's empire. Waldema Heckel.  Mugar Library DF234.2 .H39 2006.

Who’s Who in the Greek World.

Who's Who in the Classical World

Who’s Who in the Ancient Near East.

Modern

Database of Classcal Scholars

 

Brill's New Pauly Supplement: Volume 6:  History of Classical Scholarship: A Biographical Dictionary
 

Biographical Dictionary of North American Classicists. Ward Briggs. Mugar Library PA 83 B53 1994.
 

Classical Scholarship: An Encyclopedia. Ward Briggs. Biographies of 50 international scholars, from Beazley to Wolf. Mugar Library PA 83 C58 1990.
 

Women Classical Scholars: unsealing the fountain from the Renaissance to Jacqueline de Romilly.  Rosie Wyles.  2016.

 

General

Note: Biographies also can be found in many of the resources listed under “Encyclopedia Articles”

Librarian