eBook Collections: Classical Studies
Texts
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window Loeb Classical Library is the digital version of 520 volumes of Greek and Latin texts with English translations of all the ancient authors from Homer 700 B.C.E. to Bede 700 C.E. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; medical writers and mathematicians; and Church Fathers who used pagan culture are represented. Readers can browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
- Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina This link opens in a new window BTL provides digital online versions of the Thesaurus linguae Latinae (TLL) and the Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) linked by a common user interface and accessed through one panel, allowing various searches. Texts are from the Latin series of the Bibliotheca scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum covering c. 300 B.C.E. – c. 500 C.E. (from Plautus to Martianus Capella). Both TLL and BTL are updated as new editions are published.
- Library of Latin Texts: Series A This link opens in a new window Library of Latin Texts is the world’s leading database for Latin texts. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965).
- Library of Latin Texts: Series B This link opens in a new window Library of Latin Texts is the world’s leading database for Latin texts. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965).
- Brepols Latin Cross Database Searchtool This link opens in a new window The Cross Database Searchtool (CDS) enables users to consult and search the different full-text Latin databases of Brepols Latin: the Library Of Latin Texts (LLT, Series A and B), the electronic Monumenta Germaniae Historica (eMGH), the Archive of Celtic-Latin Literature (ACLL), and the Aristoteles Latinus Database (ALD) simultaneously.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window A full text database of ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and the fall of Byzantium in 1453. Scholia and Byzantine historiographical and lexicographical works are also included. Includes the Canon of Authors and Works, a searchable database and a bibliographic guide to the authors and works included in the TLG. Use of the full corpus requires each user to create a user profile.
- SEG - Supplementum epigraphicum graecum "collects newly published Greek inscriptions as well as publications on previously known documents. It presents complete Greek texts of all new inscriptions with a critical apparatus; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents."
Secondary Sources: Classical Studies
Open Access
- HathiTrust Digital Library HathiTrust provides access to works in the public domain from research libraries across the country
- Internet Archive "The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. Now the Internet Archive includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in our collections"
Related & General Collections
- ACLS Humanities eBook This link opens in a new window A collection of major scholarly works from all areas of the humanities, including online versions of printed works as well as original electronic publications.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window Contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window A comprehensive digital collection that aims to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera.
- Literature Online This link opens in a new window LION includes texts, criticism, and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and encyclopedia entries on over 350,000 works of poetry, prose, and drama from the 8th to the 21st century.
- Patrologia Latina Database This link opens in a new window Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. Comprising the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216, the database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes, and Migne's column numbers.
- eBook Central This link opens in a new window eBook Central provides a wide variety of eBook titles from publishers across many disciplines.
