Greek
- Logeion Logeion is a free online dictionary that provides simultaneous look-up of entries in all the Latin and Greek dictionaries available through the Perseus Classical collection. A user can search by headword or an inverse search and use the tabs to switch between dictionary sources, including: Lewis and Short, Gaffiot, and others.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window A full text database of ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and the fall of Byzantium in 1453. Scholia and Byzantine historiographical and lexicographical works are also included. Includes the Canon of Authors and Works, a searchable database and a bibliographic guide to the authors and works included in the TLG. Use of the full corpus requires each user to create a user profile.
A Greek-English Lexicon by
Liddell and Scott's Greek-English Lexicon (9/e 1940) is the most comprehensive and up-to-date ancient Greek dictionary in the world. Nearly twice the size of the 1968 edition, with over 20,000 entries, it adds to the dictionary words and forms from papyri and inscriptions discovered between 1940 and the1990s as well as a host of other revisions,
Location: Mugar Reference X PA445.E5 L6 1996Publication Date: 1996
Etymological Dictionary of Greek (2 Vols. ) by
A must-have research tool that should be on every classicist's desk.Greek is among the most intensely and widely studied languages known. Since the publication of the last etymological dictionary of Greek, both the reconstruction of Proto-Indo-European, and our knowledge of the Greek substrate have led to numerous, often surprising new insights into the history and formation of the Greek vocabulary.This dictionary is a treasure trove covering 2000 years of Ancient Greek: from Mycenaean via Homer and the classical period to lexicographers, such as Hesychius (5th century A.D.).It at last brings together all new data, resulting in scores of thoroughly revised etymologies. This is a truly indispensable tool for classicists in search of a deeper understanding of the Greek vocabulary, its history and, therewith, a better understanding of the language. middot; Nearly 8000 entries middot; Each lemma gives clear information about origin and reconstruction, the first date of attestation, and all relevant variant formsmiddot; Extensive bibliography and exhaustive references for each lemmamiddot; Rich source of information on Greek and its relation to other Indo-European languages
Location: Mugar Reference X PA422 .B44 2010Publication Date: 2010
The Pocket Oxford Greek Dictionary by
This dictionary provides clear guidance on selecting the most appropriate translation through illustrative examples, with an extensive introduction explaining the history of the Greek language, Modern Greek vocabulary, and pronunciation. Features: Two way: Greek-English/English-GreekOver 67,000 words and phrases, and 82,000 translations10-page list of principle parts of Greek verbs.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2000
Latin
- Logeion Logeion is a free online dictionary that provides simultaneous look-up of entries in all the Latin and Greek dictionaries available through the Perseus Classical collection. A user can search by headword or an inverse search and use the tabs to switch between dictionary sources, including: Lewis and Short, Gaffiot, and others.
- Database of Latin Dictionaries This link opens in a new window The purpose of the Database of Latin Dictionaries is to produce for scholars and students an online database comprising a large number of Latin dictionaries. The database includes dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words, and historical Latin dictionaries.
- Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina This link opens in a new window BTL provides digital online versions of the Thesaurus linguae Latinae (TLL) and the Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) linked by a common user interface and accessed through one panel, allowing various searches. Texts are from the Latin series of the Bibliotheca scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum covering c. 300 B.C.E. – c. 500 C.E. (from Plautus to Martianus Capella). Both TLL and BTL are updated as new editions are published.
- Thesaurus Linguae Latinae This link opens in a new window Thesaurus linguae Latinae provides digital online versions of the Thesaurus linguae Latinae (TLL) and the Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) linked by a common user interface and accessed through one panel, allowing various searches. Texts are from the Latin series of the Bibliotheca scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum covering c. 300 B.C.E. - c. 500 A.D./C.E. (from Plautus to Martianus Capella). Both TLL and BTL are updated as new editions are published.
Oxford Latin Dictionary by
Fifty years in the making, the Oxford Latin Dictionary is the first Latin-English dictionary based on a fresh reading of original sources. The Dictionary was published in eight fascicles between 1968 and 1982 and is now available in a single bound volume. Features of the Oxford Latin Dictionary · First Latin-English dictionary composed directly from original sources · Comprehensive coverage of classical Latin with entries for approximately 40,000 words · Based on a collection of over one million quotations that illustrate the meaning and use of Latin words from the earliest known instance · Definitions are in modern English and based on modern lexicographical principles · Up-to-date with the inclusion of better texts as well as epigraphical material that was previously unavailable The Oxford Latin Dictionary is a comprehensive and authoritative reference work for students, teachers, professionals, and general readers interested in classical languages and literature, ancient history, medieval studies, languages, art history, ancient philosophy, religion, archaeology, law, medicine, and natural science.
Location: Mugar Reference X PA2365.E5 O9 1982 and other locationsPublication Date: 1983
Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary Latin-English by
Features: Covers over 46,000 words and phrases, including new Latin words from Plautus, Terence, and Silver Latin, while common irregular stems are now given as headwords Existing appendices on historical, mythological, and geographical names have been expanded and new appendices include money, weights and measures, dates, and times, as well as sections on metre, and medieval Latin With a timeline of important dates, and biographies on Roman writers, this edition is packed with interesting and useful information on Roman history New in-text boxed notes provide help with language usage, and with difficult words and constructions.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2005- Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary English-Latin by
Features: Covers over 46,000 words and phrases, including new Latin words from Plautus, Terence, and Silver Latin, while common irregular stems are now given as headwords Existing appendices on historical, mythological, and geographical names have been expanded and new appendices include money, weights and measures, dates, and times, as well as sections on metre, and medieval Latin With a timeline of important dates, and biographies on Roman writers, this edition is packed with interesting and useful information on Roman history New in-text boxed notes provide help with language usage, and with difficult words and constructions.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2005
