Skip to Main Content
Food Tourism : A Practical Marketing Guide
The fastest growth in tourism is the culinary sector. Covering farmers markets, taste tours, agri-entertainment, glamping, restaurants, farm shops and more, food tourism has become both an important part of holidaying and a purpose in itself. With growth occurring in most developed countries and tourists searching out culinary tourism throughout the world, this book provides an overall direction to the development of food tourism and a section on the future of this trend.
"Culinary Tourism," in The Oxford Handbook of Food History
A product of both world history and contemporary mass culture, culinary tourism is a scholarly field of study that is emerging as an important part of the tourism industry.
"Consuming food and drinks," in Tourist Behaviour: The Essential Companion
Food and eating are integral components of the tourist experience. So too is consuming
drinks in all their forms. Food has many roles to play for tourists: it is functional (sustains
life); it plays a key role in personal, family, social, religious and community celebrations;
it is a conduit for socialising and friendship; it is entertainment; it is often sensuous and
sensual; and it is a way of experiencing and recollecting cultures, destinations and travel
Handbook of Niche Tourism
This Handbook provides a critical analysis of the evolution of the contemporary niche tourism phenomenon. By framing discussions around sustainable development thinking, concepts and practical applications, each chapter provides specific reflections on niche tourism trends, successes and/or failures, and the challenges and opportunities that destinations that pursue tourism as a vehicle for sustainable development face around the world.
Handbook on Tourism and Social Media
This comprehensive Handbook offers an overview of current research on the use of social media within the tourism industry, investigating a range of social media practices and proposing strategies to address key challenges faced by tourist destinations and operators. Includes 5 chapters on Social Media and Food.
International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management
The International Encyclopedia of Hospitality Management is the definitive reference work for any individual studying or working in the hospitality industry.
The Ashgate Research Companion to Heritage and Identity
Brings together an international team of authors to discuss the concepts, ideas and practices that inform the entwining of heritage and identity.
Encyclopedia of Tourism
This encyclopedia is the most comprehensive and updated source of reference in tourism research and practice. It covers both traditional and emerging concepts and terms and is fully international in its scope. More than 700 contributions of 766 internationally renowned experts from 113 countries provide a definitive access to the knowledge in the field of tourism, hospitality, recreation and related fields.
The Routledge Handbook of Tourism and Hospitality Education
The purpose of this Handbook is to provide an insightful and authoritative account of the various issues that are shaping the higher educational world of tourism, hospitality and events education and to highlight the creative, inventive and innovative ways that educators are responding to these issues.
Background Sources on Puerto Rico
Eating Puerto Rico : a history of food, culture, and identity
Available for the first time in English, Cruz Miguel Ortiz Cuadra's magisterial history of the foods and eating habits of Puerto Rico unfolds into an examination of Puerto Rican society from the Spanish conquest to the present. Each chapter is centered on an iconic Puerto Rican foodstuff, from rice and cornmeal to beans, roots, herbs, fish, and meat. Ortiz shows how their production and consumption connects with race, ethnicity, gender, social class, and cultural appropriation in Puerto Rico. Using a multidisciplinary approach and a sweeping array of sources, Ortiz asks whether Puerto Ricans really still are what they ate. Whether judging by a host of social and economic factors--or by the foods once eaten that have now disappeared--Ortiz concludes that the nature of daily life in Puerto Rico has experienced a sea change.
Puerto Rico past and present : an encyclopedia
Puerto Rico, an island rich with culture and national pride, continues to inspire debate over its designation as a commonwealth of the United States. This updated edition of a popular encyclopedia captures important historical, social, political, and cultural developments of the oldest colony in the world, up to and including the region's current status in relation to the United States.
Anthropology/Sociology & interim Philosophy Librarian