Skip to Main Content
Images on the Web A to Z
African Americans in Boston: More Than 350 Years, written by RobertC.Hayden
Illustrated. Community Development, Civil Rights, Education, Creative Arts, Business/Industry, Government/Politics, Law, Journalism, MilitaryService, Religion, Science/Technology/Medicine, Sports
Berenice Abbott Boston Photographs, Boston Athenaeum Digital Collection.
"These twenty-four photographs of Boston were taken in 1934 by the modernist photographer Berenice Abbott (1898-1991)."
Boston (Mass.) -- Pictorial Works
Books in Boston University Libraries
Boston, US National Park Service
3,500 NPS sites relating to Boston
Boston Fire Historical Society
This site provides an illustrated chronological history of the Boston Fire Department from 1600's to 1859. The several pages on Fires, Apparatus, etc. provide links to newspaper articles and photographs. See also below "Great Fire of 1872."
Boston Gas Company Photographs, Boston College
"...approximately 4,500 photographs documents various construction projects and provides candid portraits of employees at work and at company sponsored social activities."
Boston Modern: The Spirit of Reinvention, National Trust for Historic Preservation
Photographs of modern buildings including Boston University School of Law Tower, Boston; Sert, Jackson & Gourley, 1961, and some spectacular aerial views of the city.
Boston Publlic Library's photos on flickr
Use the search box for specific subjects and sets such as Old Boston Photographs, Boston Stereographs, McGreevey Collection (baseball), Trustees' McKim Construction, Boston Brewery Posters, postcards.
The City Seen, Boston Globe
"Over the course of two years, Globe photographer Suzanne Kreiter captured hidden views, seldom-seen images, and unexpected sounds around Greater Boston." Includes audio.
Faber Gravestone Collection, David Rumsey
17th and 18th centuries
American Antiquarian Society. 1,059 photographs of gravestones in Boston and the neighborhoods. Click on Browser, then search by keywords=Boston. Double click on image for larger version and for additional image data (click on icon).
Harriet Hayden Albums, Boston Athenaeum
Survivor of slavery and an anti-slavery activist.
Albums of cartes-de-visite and tintype portraits of white and Black abolitionists, activists, soldiers, and parishioners.
Images of the Antislavery Movement in Massachusetts, Massachusetts Historical Society
"This collection offers digital images of 840 visual materials that illustrate the role of Massachusetts (especially Boston) in the national debate over slavery. Included are photographs, paintings, sculptures, engravings, artifacts, banners, and broadsides that were central to the debate and formation of the antislavery movement."
MACRIS - Massachusetts Cultural Resource Information System
Records for 16,357 properties listed by street address. From the menu, select “Boston.” INV indicates Massachusetts Historical Commission information. NR indicates nomination forms of the National Register of Historic Places, US Department of the Interior, National Park Service. Not all properties have INV and/or NR records. Photographs of buildings.
Pre-1877 Art Exhibition Catalogue Index (AECI), Smithsonian American Art Museum
"Boston in art work title." 150 titles. AECI indexes "artworks exhibited in the United States and Canada up through 1876 (the Centennial year)." NO ONLINE IMAGES.
Thompson Island Collection, Joseph P. Healey Library, UMass Boston
"...in 1835 the Boston Aylum for Indigent Boys and the Boston Farm School Society merged and moved to the Island as the Boston Aylum and Farm School for Indigent Boys, popularly called the Boston Farm School."
Associated Press Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Associated Press Images Collection is a searchable collection of recent and historical photos from the Associated Press, plus AP graphics, articles, and brief sound clips.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a database of images from museums, artists, libraries, colleges and universities, scholars, private collections, and photo archives available for teaching, education, and scholarship, with all images cleared for educational use.