Libraries & Archives
- Boston-Area Repositories List, Harvard University Libraries. Compiled by librarians at Harvard, this guide serves as an outstanding guide to Boston-area libraries and repositories. The annotated descriptions of some institutions are especially useful. Please note: the guide does include many annotations of Harvard library holdings which are not accessible to the B.U. community. Nevertheless, the guide provides an important gateway to the rich library resources in the Boston area.
- Boston Athenaeum Archive The Athenæum maintains not only its own but also the institutional archive of two earlier Boston cultural institutions, the Anthology Society and the Boston Library Society; the Boston Library Society merged with the Athenæum in 1939. The Boston Library Society records include information on early members, catalogs, and reading lists from this early Boston institution. The Anthology Society records chronicle the evolution of a small group of scholars who became the founders of the
- Bostonian Society (see Revolutionary Spaces)
- Guide to the Records in the [Boston] City Archives "The historical information in the Guide was derived from multiple sources including city records, municipal registers, and laws and ordinances. The index includes alternate names, subordinate departments/divisions, as well as, obsolete or predecessor department/committee/program names."
- The Insurance Library "Founded in 1887, the Insurance Library Association of Boston is the leading resource for and provider of literature, information services, and quality professional education for the insurance industry and related interests."
- Massachusetts Historical Society Library Collections "The Massachusetts Historical Society collects manuscripts—the letters, diaries, and other personal papers of individuals and families. While the Society holds many famous documents—Paul Revere's own account of his famous ride and manuscript copies of the Declaration of Independence by both Thomas Jefferson and John Adams, for example... "
- Northeastern University Library Archives & Special Collections Among the collections are Freedom House Photographs of Roxbury Places, People, and Events, 1950-1975, Boston's Latino/a Community History Collection and Boston History Collections.
- Revolutionary Spaces Merged Bostonian Society [Old State House] & Old South [Meeting House] Association, January 2020
- University of Massachusetts Boston Healey Library Archives & Special Collections "...materials related to the university's history, as well as materials that reflect the university's urban mission and strong support of community service, notably in collections of records related to urban planning, social welfare, social action, alternative movements, community organizations and local history related to neighboring communities."
- Congregational Library & Archives Includes documents from Boston’s Old South, established in 1669, and Park Street Church, formed in 1809.
