Food Justice Guide
Looking for more resources on food justice? Check out our Food Justice library guide by clicking here. It includes all the resources below with a wider scope of content, digital libraries, and lenses for engaging with food justice.
Introductory Video
Background Sources
- The Oxford Handbook of Food Ethics This Handbook provides a sample of recent philosophical work in food ethics. This philosophical work addresses ethical issues with agricultural production, the structure of the global food system, the ethics of personal food consumption, the ethics of food policy, and cultural understandings of food and eating, among other issues.
- Sage Encyclopedia of Food Issues The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues explores the topic of food across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and related areas including business, consumerism, marketing, and environmentalism. In contrast to the existing reference works on the topic of food that tend to fall into the categories of cultural perspectives, this carefully balanced academic encyclopedia focuses on social and policy aspects of food production, safety, regulation, labeling, marketing, distribution, and consumption.
- Routledge International Handbook of Food Studies Introduced by the editor and including original articles by over thirty leading food scholars from around the world, the Routledge International Handbook of Food Studies offers students, scholars and all those interested in food-related research a one-stop, easy-to-use reference guide. Each article includes a brief history of food research within a discipline or on a particular topic, a discussion of research methodologies and ideological or theoretical positions, resources for research, including archives, grants and fellowship opportunities, as well as suggestions for further study.
Find Books
More Than Just Food by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2016The industrial food system has created a crisis in the United States that is characterized by abundant food for privileged citizens and "food deserts" for the historically marginalized.
Food Justice by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2010The story of how the emerging food justice movement is seeking to transform the American food system from seed to table.
Life on the Other Border by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2019In her timely new book, Teresa M. Mares explores the intersections of structural vulnerability and food insecurity experienced by migrant farmworkers in the northeastern borderlands of the United States.
Everybody Eats by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2021Everybody Eats tells the story of food justice in Greensboro, North Carolina--a midsize city in the southern United States.
Black Food Matters by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2020An in-depth look at Black food and the challenges it faces today.
Feeding the Other by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2019How food pantries stigmatize their clients through a discourse that emphasizes hard work, self help, and economic productivity rather than food justice and equity.
Find Articles
The following is a selection of articles available from BU Libraries:
- "A scoping review of the conceptualisations of food justice" by Sandra Murray et. al (2023). Available here.
- "Social enterprise, food justice, and food sovereignty" by Katherine Merritt et. al (2024). Available here.
- "“What does Ferguson mean for the food justice movement?”: Reading Black visions of food justice in times of social unrest" by Bobby Smith et. al (2024). Available here.
- "Food Justice in the Public Library: Information, Resources, and Meals" by Noah Lenstra and Christine D'Arpa (2019). Available here.
- "Intersections between rural studies and food justice in the U.S.: some implications for today and the future" by Diego Thompson and Angie Carter (2024). Available here.
- "Must everything be called "food justice?" by Rachel Slocum (2018). Available here.
