Searching the BU Library
You can use the BU Libraries Search box to look for print and electronic resources available through the Boston University Libraries. These resources include books, peer-reviewed articles, and more.
Video Spotlight
Every food story is an economic story, says author Laura Shapiro. In "What She Ate," Shapiro offers tales of female empowerment or self-definition by way of the kitchen and dinner table, cooking up portraits of Eleanor Roosevelt, Eva Braun, Helen Gurley Brown and others:
Foundational Sources
- "Gender and Foodways" in The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues
- "Gendering Food," in The Oxford Handbook of Food History
- "Food Worlds, Film, and Gender," in Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
- "'Wolf in Chef's Clothing' Manly Cooking and Negotiations of Ideal Masculinity," in A Taste of Power: Food and American Identities
- "'The Difference is Spreading' Recipes for Lesbian Living," in A Taste of Power: Food and American Identities
- "Body Image, Gender and Food," in Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
- "Gender Norms and Food Behavior," in Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
- "Gender, Obesity and Stigmatization," In Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
- "Food and Gender," in The Routledge History of American Foodways
- "Gender Inequality and Food Security," in Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
- "Food and Gender," in Archaeology of Food: An Encyclopedia
- "Literature, Food and Gender," in Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
- "School Lunch and Gender," in Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
- "Gender and Dieting," in Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
- "Ecofeminist Food Ethics," in Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
- "Food, Gender, Identity and the Internet," in Food and the Internet
- "Gender, Body Image, and 'Healthy' Eating" in The Oxford Handbook of Food Ethics
- Feminist Food Studies : Intersectional Perspectives
Find Books
Beyond the kitchen table : Black women and global food systems by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2023The contributors address the ways Black women, both now and in the past, have used food as a part of community building and sustenance. They also examine matrilineal food-based education; Black women's social, cultural, and familial networks in addressing nutrition and food insecurity; the ways gender intersects with class and race globally.
Food Is Love: Advertising and Gender Roles in Modern America by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2013An engaging look at how food advertisements from the twentieth and twenty-first centuries have both helped define and played up to the stereotypical gender roles prevalent in American culture.
Gender, Food and COVID-19 by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2022This book documents how COVID-19 impacts gender, agriculture, and food systems across the globe with on-the-ground accounts and personal reflections from scholars, practitioners, and community members.
Food and femininity by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2015A compelling rethink of contemporary femininity, this is an indispensable read for anyone interested in the sociology of food, gender studies and consumer culture.
Gender and Food by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2019Synthesizes existing theoretical and empirical research on food, gender, and intersectionality to offer students and scholars a framework from which to understand how gender is central to the production, distribution, and consumption of food.
Find Articles
The following are a selection of the many articles available to you through BU Libraries:
- "Gender, Food and ‘The Right to the City’ in the Ghanaian Marketplace" by Arianna King (2022). Available online.
- "Cooking the books: Feminist restaurant owners' relationships with banks, loans and taxes" by Alexandra Ketchum (2022). Available online.
- ""Practical women": Waitress unionists and the controversies over gender roles in the food service industry, 1900-1980" by Dorothy Sue Cobble (1988). Available online.
- "From Shrimp to Foie Gras: Tales of Food, Gender, and Power in Contemporary China" by Jin Feng (2022). Available online.
- "Impression formation via #foodporn: Effects of posting gender-stereotyped food pictures on instagram profiles" by Nicoletta Cavazza et. al (2020). Available online.
