Social Science & Gastronomy Research Methods
Featured Titles
-
Food Culture
by
ISBN: 9781785332906Publication Date: 2017This volume offers a comprehensive guide to methods used in the sociocultural, linguistic and historical research of food use. -
Food Health: Nutrition, Technology, and Public Health
by
Publication Date: 2019Nutritional Anthropology and public health research and programming have employed similar methodologies for decades; many anthropologists are public health practitioners while many public health practitioners have been trained as medical or biological anthropologists. -
Food Research: Nutritional Anthropology and Archaeological Methods
by
Publication Date: 2017Biocultural and archaeological research on food, past and present, often relies on very specific, precise, methods for data collection and analysis. -
Researching Food Habits
by
Publication Date: 2004The term ''Anthropology of Food'' has become an accepted abbreviation for the study of anthropological perspectives on food, diet and nutrition, an increasingly important subdivision of anthropology that encompasses a rich variety of perspectives, academic approaches, theories, and methods. -
Research Methods in Digital Food Studies
by
Publication Date: 2021This book offers the first methodological synthesis of digital food studies.
Ethnographic Research Methods
-
SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods Core is a tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and other areas of research.
-
Key Concepts in Ethnography At last, an accessible, authoritative, no-nonsense guide to the key concepts in one of the most widely used methodologies in social science: Ethnography.
-
Being Ethnographic: A Guide to the Theory and Practice of Ethnography Being Ethnographic is an essential introductory guidebook to the methods and applications of doing fieldwork in real-world settings. It discusses the future of ethnography, explores how we understand identity, and sets out the role of technology in a global, networked society.
-
Doing Ethnographic and Observational Research Including coverage of the selection of cases, observation and interviewing, recording data, and takes into account ethical issues, Doing Ethnographic and Observational Research introduces the reader to the practice of producing data through ethnographic fieldwork and observational research.
-
Thinking Ethnographically Written by a leading authority, Thinking Ethnographically discusses a wide range of analytic ideas that can and should inform ethnographic analysis. In introducing the notion of “granular ethnography” it argues for an approach to qualitative research that is sensitive to the complexities of everyday social life. A much-needed antidote to superficial research and analysis, the text deals not merely with the practical methods of fieldwork, but with the far more ambitious enterprise of turning ethnographic data into productive ideas and concepts.
-
Video Ethnography in Practice: Planning, Shooting, and Editing for Social Analysis Video Ethnography in Practice is a brief guide for students in the social disciplines who are required to produce an ethnographic video, the most significant new methodological technique in 21st century social analysis. The authors, both accomplished videographers, cover the basic techniques of creating a video that documents human culture and behavior with true stories of the process of videography throughout. This text shows how new technologies like smart phones, widely available video editing software, and YouTube, have turned video ethnography into something that is within reach of students in a conventional course framework.
-
Writing Ethnographically This original and authoritative exploration of ethnographic writing comes from one of the world's leading academics in the field, Paul Atkinson. The third book in his seminal quartet on ethnographic research, it provides thoughtful, reflective guidance on a crucial skill that is often difficult to master. Informed throughout by extracts from Paul’s own writing, this book explores and examines a broad range of types and genres of ethnographic writing, from fieldnotes and ‘confessions’, to conventional ‘realist’ writing and more. Whilst highlighting the possibilities and implications of ethnographic text, this valuable resource will help those conducting ethnographic research select and adopt the most appropriate approach for their study.
-
Advances in Quantitative Ethnography The contributions in this volume come from diverse fields and perspectives, and present the studies on advantages of using quantitative ethnography methods and techniques in a number of different domains and contexts, including ethnography and statistics, human interpretation and machine processing,
-
Anthropologists in the Field: Cases in Participant Observation This book is an excellent introduction to real-world ethnography, using familiar and not-so-familiar cultures as cases. The book covers participant observation and ethnographic interviewing, both short and long term. These methodologies are open to problems such as lack of communication, depression, hostility, danger, and moral and ethical dilemmas—problems that are usually sanitized for publication and ignored in the curriculum
-
Ethnography (Understanding Qualitative Research) Ethnography (Understanding Qualitative Research) provides a comprehensive guide to understanding, conceptualizing, and critically assessing ethnographic research and its resultant texts
-
Research Methods in Anthropology: Qualitative and Quantitative Approaches 5th ed. Written in Russ Bernard's unmistakable conversational style, this guide has launched tens of thousands of students into the fieldwork enterprise with a combination of rigorous methodology, wry humor, and commonsense advice. Whether you are coming from a scientific, interpretive, or applied anthropological tradition, you will learn field methods from the best guide in both qualitative and quantitative methods.
-
Watching Closely: A Guide to Ethnographic Observation Watching Closely provides a practical, interactive guide for improving one's powers of observation, synthesizing data, and tapping into more visual elements of observation, such as photography and sketching, encouraging both a more creative and more scientific approach to fieldwork. Geared towards ethnographic field work, the book includes nine exercises for practicing and strengthening observational skills. Watching Closely will appeal to students and scholars of the social and behavioral sciences, as well as designers, architects, and anyone engaged in fieldwork.
-
Ethnographic Methods In this comprehensive, yet concise introduction, Karen O'Reilly introduces the reader to the technical, practical and philosophical issues that arise when employing traditional and innovative research methods in relation to human agents. She invites the reader to engage in reflexive and creative research that draws critically and creatively from the full range of qualitative methods.
-
Decolonizing Methodologies : Research and Indigenous Peoples To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism; the ways in which academic research has been implicated in the throes of imperialism remains a painful memory. This essential volume explores intersections of imperialism and research - specifically, the ways in which imperialism is embedded in disciplines of knowledge and tradition as 'regimes of truth.' Concepts such as 'discovery' and 'claiming' are discussed and an argument presented that the decolonization of research methods will help to reclaim control over indigenous ways of knowing and being.
Ethnographer's Toolkit
eHRAF World Cultures
We have a subscription to eHRAF World Cultures: a systematically organized collection of thousands of books and articles on cultures from all regions of the world; provides information on particular cultures, ethnic groups, or immigrant groups, their beliefs and superstitions, or subjects such as political structure, architecture, kinship units, or settlement patterns. The information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. It currently consists of more than 360 indexed cultures. See the Quick Start Guide and Video Tutorials for help with using eHRAF.
If the cultural group you are looking for is not in eHRAF World Cultures, be sure to check the Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) microfiche collection of books, articles, and unpublished papers on more than 300 ethnic, religious, cultural, and national groups worldwide. Materials are arranged according to a classification system based on manuals cited below.
There is also a collection of eHRAF World Cultures Workbooks on a variety of sociocultural anthropology topics.
-
eHRAF WorkbooksBrowse our collection of anthropology workbook activities for eHRAF World Cultures. esigned to complement any textbook or anthropology curriculum, eHRAF Workbook activities are presented as PowerPoint slideshows that instructors can modify, share, and upload to Blackboard, Canvas, Moodle, or a similar learning management system.
-
eHRAF World Cultures: Video TutorialsShort tutorials for Browsing, Searching and Collecting Data in eHRAF World Cultures.
-
The Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM)The Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM) is an ethnographic subject classification system. The OCM is used to index the eHRAF World Cultures database.
