Types of Resources
There are many different types of valuable resources and data for research. This list is a starting point of additional existing data sets, government resources, newspapers, images, and statistical sources.
BU Spotlight: Recipe Boxes and Recipe Scrapbooks
Check out the Gastronomy at OpenBU: Recipe Boxes and Recipe Scrapbooks for digital materials relating to recipes, recipe scrapbooks, and cooking traditions.
Digital Libraries
- Cookery and Culture Digital Collection, Utah State University.
- Service Through Sponge Cake
- Corpus of Culinary & Dietetic Texts of Europe from the Middle Ages to 1800
- Digitized Cookbook, Texas Tech University
- Digitized Rare Books from the Culinary History Collection, Virginia Tech
- History of Food & Drink Collection, Rare Books, Virginia Tech
- Szathmáry Recipe Pamphlet Digital Collection, University of Iowa Libraries
- Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project.
- Advertising Cookbooks, Duke University
- Digitized Cookbooks, Iowa Cookbook Collection, Iowa State University
- Fons Grewe: d'alimentació i gastronomia (Universitat de Barcelona)
- Katherine Golding Bitting Collection: Publications and manuscripts on gastronomy, 15th through 20th centuries. Library of Congress
- Home Economics Archive (HEARTH), Cornell University
- Historic Recipe File, Milwaukee Public Library
Journals and Magazines
Are you interested in writing for a food studies journal? Check out Emily Contois' Publishing in Food Studies Journals: An Index.
-
Food, Culture & Society: An international peer-reviewed publication dedicated to exploring the complex relationships among food, culture, and society from numerous disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as in the world of food beyond the academy.
-
Gastronomica: Gastronomica is a peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, international journal publishing critical, translational studies on food.
-
Global Food History: Global Food History is a peer-reviewed, academic journal with an international scope, presenting new research in food history from the foremost scholars in the field.
-
Culture, Agriculture, Food and Environment Central to the mission of CAFE is work that explores and demonstrates the connections between the full array of cultural dimensions and the environment, ecology, agriculture, aquaculture, fisheries, natural resources, energy, water, food, and nutrition.
-
Agriculture and Human Values: Dedicated to an open and free discussion of the values that shape and the structures that underlie current and alternative visions of food and agricultural systems.
-
Journal for the Study of Food and Society: An international peer-reviewed publication dedicated to exploring the complex relationships among food, culture, and society.
-
Journal of Sensory Studies Read the international journal that publishes human reactions to basic tastes on foods, beverages, wine, liquor/beer, the environment, medications, and other human exposures in every day life.
-
Graduate Journal of Food Studies An international student-run and refereed platform dedicated to encouraging and promoting interdisciplinary food scholarship at the graduate level.
-
CuiZine: The Journal of Canadian Food Cultures: Canada nourishes intellectual exchanges on the subject of food in Canada from multicultural perspectives.
-
Digest: A Journal of Foodways & Culture: Digest, the online journal of the Foodways Section of the American Folklore Society, publishes a variety of scholarly articles, research reports, creative pieces and recipes, and reviews related to food and folklore.
-
Digest: An Interdisciplinary Study of Food and Foodways (1977-1999): Digest, the online journal of the Foodways Section of the American Folklore Society, publishes a variety of scholarly articles, research reports, creative pieces and recipes, and reviews related to food and folklore.
-
Anthropology of Food: Anthropology of food is a multilingual refereed web journal devoted to the social sciences of food.
-
American Food Journal (1913-1928): The national magazine of the food field
Associations, Organizations, and Institutions
- Association for the Study of Food and Society
- Canadian Association for Food Studies
- Southern Foodways Alliance
- Culinary Historians of Boston
- Folkstreams: Documentary Films of American Culture
- American Folklife Center, Library of Congress
- Northeast Historic Film
- Smithsonian Center for Folklife & Cultural Heritage
- Massachusetts Cultural Council Folk Arts & Heritage Program
- Center for Food and Culture
- Voices Oral History Archives (NOAA Fisheries)
- Agriculture, Food and Human Values
- Association for the Study of Food and Society
- Culture & Agriculture section of the American Anthropological Association
- Society for the Anthropology of Food and Nutrition
