Introductory Video
Food is an expression of an individual's cultural identity, and food justice is about providing individuals access to foods that comforts and gives a sense of belonging:
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedias
- The Business of Food: Encyclopedia of the Food and Drink Industries
- The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America (2nd ed.)
- The Oxford Handbook of Food History
- A Cultural History of Food
- Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
- Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition
- We eat what? : a cultural encyclopedia of unusual foods in the United States
- Food and Drink in American History: A "Full Course" Encyclopedia
- Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia
- From Famine to Fast Food : Nutrition, Diet, and Concepts of Health around the World
- Street Food Around the World: An Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
- World Food: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Social Influence from Hunter-Gathers to the Age of Globalization
- Ethnic American Food Today: A Cultural Encyclopedia
- Larousse Gastronomique : the World's Greatest Culinary Encyclopedia
- Oxford Companion to Italian Food
- Encyclopedia of Pasta
- Encyclopedia of Jewish Food
Dictionaries and Other Online Sources
- Eating Your Words : 2000 Words to Tease Your Taste Buds
- Food History Almanac: Over 1,300 Years of World Culinary History, Culture, and Social Influence
- Food in Time and Place; the American Historical Association Companion to Food History
- A Dictionary of Food and Nutrition
- Food a Dictionary of Literal and Nonliteral Terms. 2000.
- WhatAmIEating.com
- Nitty Grits (international culinary dictionary)
- Food Timeline
- Guide to Cheeses of the World
- Culinary biographies : a dictionary of the world's great historic chefs, cookbook authors and collectors, farmers, gourmets, home economists, nutritionists, restaurateurs, philosophers, physicians, scientists, writers, and others who influenced the way we
- Foodways and Folklore: A Handbook
- Native American Food Plants : an Ethnobotanical Dictionary
- A historical dictionary of Indian food
Primary Sources
-
AM Explorer AM Explorer is a cross-collection search of the entire corpus of Adam Matthew's digitized arts and cultural heritage material.
-
Food and Drink in History (AM Explorer) From feast to famine, explore primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history.
- Global and Ethnic Cuisines (Food and Drink in History) This theme encompasses global cuisines and includes cookbooks published for a home readership – those that have indigenous recipes or encourage the use of local ingredients and produce – as well as those intended to introduce global cuisines to a new market.
-
Food, Race and Ethnicity (Food and Drink in History) Steeped in tradition and bound by ties of culture and community, food is often seen as central to one’s racial or ethnic identity. This theme includes cookbooks focused on the cuisines of different ethnic or national groups, as well as documents such as marketing reports and consumer studies which aim to analyse the behaviours and habits of these groups and adapt business strategies accordingly.
-
Food and Gender (Food and Drink in History) Gender and food have historically been closely intertwined. Food has also been central to gender debates and used to charge causes such as women’s rights and suffrage.
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange (AM Explorer) This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.
-
Everyday Life & Women in America (AM Explorer) Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
-
Trade Catalogues and the American Home (AM Explorer) Explore domestic consumerism, life and leisure in America between 1850-1950 with Trade Catalogues and the American Home.
-
J. Walter Thompson: Advertising America (AM Explorer) The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.
-
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 (AM Explorer)
Find Books
You can use the BU Libraries Search box to look for print and electronic resources available through the Boston University Libraries. These resources include print books and journals available in the library stacks, as well as e-books and full-text journal articles.
Meals Matter by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2020In Meals Matter, Michael Symons returns economics to its roots in the distribution of food and the labor required.
Food and Public Health by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2018Food and Public Health offers a contextualized, accessible introduction to understanding the foundations (and contradictions) at the intersection of these two topics.
Black Food Matters by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2020Framed through a focus on Black agency, the essays here showcase Black communities fighting for the survival of their food culture. The book takes listeners into the real world of Black sustenance, examining animal husbandry practices in South Carolina, the work done by the Black Panthers to ensure food equality, and Black women who are pioneering urban agriculture.
Feminist Food Studies by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2019By building on the work of feminist food scholars, this volume not only expands feminist food studies as an important field of study in its own right, but it also calls on food studies scholars to tend to the ways that intersections of oppression and privilege impact their research and scholarship.
The Secret Life of Groceries by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2020What does it take to run the American supermarket? How do products get to shelves? Who sets the price? And who suffers the consequences of increased convenience end efficiency?
Indigenous food systems : concepts, cases, and conversations by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2020In particular, the chapters of this book highlight (a) the salient features of Indigenous food systems, (b) some of the barriers and challenges to Indigenous food systems, and (c) the potential solutions to address these barriers and reclaim cultural identity and resurgence, thereby achieving food security and food sovereignty.
Food on the Page by Location: Available OnlinePublication Date: 2017In Food on the Page, the first comprehensive history of American cookbooks, Megan J. Elias chronicles cookbook publishing from the early 1800s to the present day.
