Guides and Handbooks
The Routledge Handbook of Translation Studies by
The Routledge Handbook of Translation Studies provides a comprehensive, state-of-the-art account of the complex field of translation studies. Written by leading specialists from around the world, this volume brings together authoritative original articles on pressing issues including: the current status of the field and its interdisciplinary nature the problematic definition of the object of study the various theoretical frameworks the research methodologies available. The handbook also includes discussion of the most recent theoretical, descriptive and applied research, as well as glimpses of future directions within the field and an extensive up-to-date bibliography. The Routledge Handbook of Translation Studies is an indispensable resource for postgraduate students of translation studies.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2012
Routledge Handbook of Arabic Translation by
Translation-related activities from and into Arabic have significantly increased in the last few years, in both scope and scale. The launch of a number of national translation projects, policies and awards in a number of Arab countries, together with the increasing translation from Arabic in a wide range of subject areas outside the Arab World - especially in the aftermath of the Arab Spring - have complicated and diversified the dynamics of the translation industry involving Arabic. The Routledge Handbook of Arabic Translation seeks to explicate Arabic translation practice, pedagogy and scholarship, with the aim of producing a state-of-the-art reference book that maps out these areas and meets the pedagogical and research needs of advanced undergraduate and postgraduate students, as well as active researchers.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2020
The Routledge Handbook of Spanish Translation Studies by
Written by leading experts in the area, The Routledge Handbook of Spanish Translation Studies brings together original contributions representing a culmination of the extensive research to date within the field of Spanish Translation Studies. The Handbook covers a variety of translation related issues, both theoretical and practical, providing an overview of the field and establishing directions for future research. It starts by looking at the history of translation in Spain, the Americas during the colonial period and Latin America, and then moves on to discuss well-established areas of research such as literary translation and audiovisual translation, at which Spanish researchers have excelled. It also provides state-of-the-art information on new topics such as the interface between translation and humour on the one hand, and the translation of comics on the other. This Handbook is an indispensable resource for postgraduate students and researchers of translation studies. able resource for postgraduate students and researchers of translation studies.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2019
The Routledge Handbook of Literary Translation by
The Routledge Handbook of Literary Translation provides an accessible, diverse and extensive overview of literary translation today. This next-generation volume brings together principles, case studies, precepts, histories and process knowledge from practitioners in sixteen different countries. Divided into four parts, the book covers many of literary translation¿s most pressing concerns today, from teaching, to theorising, to translation techniques, to new tools and resources. Featuring genre studies, in which graphic novels, crime fiction, and ethnopoetry have pride of place alongside classics and sacred texts, The Routledge Handbook of Literary Translation represents a vital resource for students and researchers of both translation studies and comparative literature.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2019
The Palgrave Handbook of Literary Translation by
This Handbook offers a comprehensive and engaging overview of contemporary issues in Literary Translation research through in-depth investigations of actual case studies of particular works, authors or translators. Leading researchers from across the globe discuss best practice, problems, and possibilities in the translation of poetry, novels, memoir and theatre. Divided into three sections, these illuminating analyses also address broad themes including translation style, the author-translator-reader relationship, and relationships between national identity and literary translation. The case studies are drawn from languages and language varieties, such as Catalan, Chinese, Dutch, English, French, German, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Nigerian English, Russian, Spanish, Scottish English and Turkish. The editors provide thorough introductory and concluding chapters, which highlight the value of case study research, and explore in detail the importance of the theory-practice link. Covering a wide range of topics, perspectives, methods, languages and geographies, this handbook will provide a valuable resource for researchers not only in Translation Studies, but also in the related fields of Linguistics, Languages and Cultural Studies, Stylistics, Comparative Literature or Literary Studies.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2018
A Companion to Translation Studies by
This companion offers a wide-ranging introduction to the rapidly expanding field of translation studies, bringing together some of the best recent scholarship to present its most important current themes Features new work from well-known scholars Includes a broad range of geo-linguistic and theoretical perspectives Offers an up-to-date overview of an expanding field A thorough introduction to translation studies for both undergraduates and graduates Multi-disciplinary relevance for students with diverse career goals
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window A complete version of the second edition of the Oxford English Dictionary (1989) with onlines updates added four times a year since 2000.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Published by Oxford University Press, it is a fully-indexed, cross-searchable database containing dictionaries, language reference and subject reference works.
- JapanKnowledge This link opens in a new window JapanKnowledge is an extensive database, mostly in Japanese, with information about Japanese language, culture, history, and more. It Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, ebooks, news articles, and multimedia.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies, 2nd edition by
Praise for the previous edition of the Encyclopedia of Translation Studies: ''Translation has long deserved this sort of treatment. Appropriate for any college or university library supporting a program in linguistics, this is vital in those institutions that train students to become translators.'' - Rettig on Reference ''Congratulations should be given to Mona Baker for undertaking such a mammoth task and...successfully pulling it off. It will certainly be an essential reference book and starting point for anyone interested in translation studies.'' - ITI Bulletin ''This excellent volume is to be commended for bringing together some of [its] most recent research. It provides a series of extremely useful short histories, quite unlike anything that can be found elsewhere. University teachers will find it invaluable for preparing seminars and it will be widely used by students.'' - The Times Higher Education Supplement '' ... a pioneering work of reference ...''- Perspectives on Translation The Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies has been the standard reference in the field since it first appeared in 1998. The second, extensively revised and extended edition brings this unique resource up-to-date and offers a thorough, critical and authoritative account of one of the fastest growing disciplines in the humanities. The Encyclopedia is divided into two parts and alphabetically ordered for ease of reference. Partnbsp;One (General) covers the conceptual framework and core concerns of the discipline. Categories of entries include: central issues in translation theory (e.g. equivalence, translatability, unit of translation) key concepts (e.g. culture, norms, ethics, ideology, shifts, quality) approaches to translation and interpreting (e.g. sociological, linguistic, functionalist) types of translation (e.g. literary, audiovisual, scientific and technical) types of interpreting (e.g. signed language, dialogue, court). New additions in this section include entries on globalisation, mobility, localization, gender and sexuality, censorship, comics, advertising and retranslation, among many others. Partnbsp;Two (History and Traditions) covers the history of translation in major linguistic and cultural communities. It is arranged alphabetically by linguistic region. There are entries on a wide range of languages which include Russian, French, Arabic, Japanese, Chinese and Finnish, and regions including Brazil, Canada and India. Many of the entries in this section are based on hitherto unpublished research. This section includes one new entry: Southeast Asian tradition. Drawing on the expertise of overnbsp;90 contributors fromnbsp;30 countries and an international panel of consultant editors, this volume offers a comprehensive overview of translation studies as an academic discipline and anticipates new directions in the field. The contributors examine various forms of translation and interpreting as they are practised by professionals today, in addition to research topics, theoretical issues and the history of translation in various parts of the world. With key terms defined and discussed in context, a full index, extensive cross-references, diagrams and a full bibliography the Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies is an invaluable reference work for all students and teachers of translation, interpreting, and literary and social theory. Mona Baker is Professor of Translation Studies at the University of Manchester, UK. She is co-founder and editorial director of St Jerome Publishing, a small press specializing in translation studies and cross-cultural communication. Apart from numerous papers in scholarly journals and collected volumes, she is author of In Other Words: A Coursebook on Translation (Routledge 1992), Translation and Conflict: A Narrative Account (2006) and Founding Editor of The Translator: Studies in Intercultural Communication (1995), a refereed international journal published by St Jerome since 1995. She is also co-Vice President of the International Association of Translation and Intercultural Studies (IATIS). Gabriela Saldanha is Lecturer in Translation Studies at the University of Birmingham, UK. She is founding editor (with Marion Winters) and current member of the editorial board of New Voices in Translation Studies, a refereed online journal of the International Association of Translation and Intercultural Studies, and co-editor (with Federico Zanettin) of Translation Studies Abstracts and Bibliography of Translation Studies.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Literary Translation into English (2 vols) by
Includes articles about translations of the works of specific authors and also more general topics pertaining to literary translation.
Location: Mugar Reference X PN241 .E56 2000Publication Date: 2000
