Featured Resources - History & Culture
Culture and Customs of Turkey by
Learn how Turkey has become culturally rich and diverse, mixing Western and Eastern traditions to form a unique bridge between Europe and Asia. Accounts of past traditions help readers to understand contemporary culture today.
Location: Mugar Stacks GN635.T82 A33 2009Publication Date: 2009-03-05
Turkey: The Quest for Identity by
This concise history tells the story of Turkey, a country caught between the ideologies of East and West. Feroz Ahmad provides a full survey of Turkey's chequered history, from its beginnings as a disparate group of tribes to its status as the first secular republic in the Islamic world. In addition to providing a detailed account of the key cultural, economic and social events, this accessible text also examines the problems faced by modern Turkey, from the rise of Islamic militancy to current tension in Turkey's government.
Location: Mugar Stacks DR440 .A625 2003Publication Date: 2003
Turkey, Islam, Nationalism, and Modernity: a History, 1789-2007 by
Turkey, Islam, Nationalism, and Modernity reveals the historical dynamics propelling two centuries of Ottoman and Turkish history. As mounting threats to imperial survival necessitated dynamic responses, ethnolinguistic and religious identities inspired alternative strategies for engaging with modernity. A radical, secularizing current of change competed with a conservative, Islamically committed current. Crises sharpened the differentiation of the two currents, forcing choices between them. The radical current began with the formation of reformist governmental elites and expanded with the advent of “print capitalism,” symbolized by the privately owned, Ottoman-language newspapers. The radicals engineered the 1908 Young Turk revolution, ruled empire and republic until 1950, made secularism a lasting “belief system,” and still retain powerful positions. The conservative current gained impetus from three history-making Islamic renewal movements, those of Mevlana Halid, Said Nursi, and Fethullah G#65533;len. Powerful under the empire, Islamic conservatives did not regain control of government until the 1980s. By then they, too, had their own influential media. Findley's reassessment of political, economic, social, and cultural history reveals the dialectical interaction between radical and conservative currents of change, which alternately clashed and converged to shape late Ottoman and republican Turkish history.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2010
Language Dictionaries
Dictionary of the Turkic Languages: English, Azerbaijani, Kazakh, Kyrgyz, Tatar, Turkish, Turkmen, Uighur, Uzbek by
This multi-language dictionary covers the eight major Turkic languages: Turkish, Azerbaijani, Turkmen, Uzbek, Uighur, Kazakh, Kirgiz, and Tatar. 2000 headwords in English are translated into each of the eight Turkic languages. Words are organized both alphabetically and topically. Original script and Latin transliteration are provided for each language. For ease of use, alphabetical indices are also given for the eight languages. This is an invaluable reference book for both students and learners and for those enaged in international commerce, research, diplomacy and academic and cultural exchange.
Location: Mugar Reference X PL26 .D53 1999Publication Date: 1996
A Dictionary of Turkish Verbs: in context and by theme = Örnekli ve tematik Türkçe fiiller sözlüǧü by
One of the keys to learning the Turkish language is to understand the importance and function of the verb. The stem of the verb, together with various suffixes of mode, tense, person, along with a subject and/or object, may be the equivalent of an entire English sentence. A Dictionary of Turkish Verbs is an aid to both the beginning and more advanced student of the language by providing approximately 1,000 verbs in context as they appear in up-to-date colloquial Turkish phrases and sentences, or short dialogues in translation. Contrasting English and Turkish ways of expression, this multipurpose dictionary also helps the English speaker avoid the most common errors--with most verbs cross-referenced to related verbs, synonyms, or antonyms, and to the broader themes or categories of meaning to which they belong. Includes an English-Turkish index and a thesaurus section (using Roget's categories) where verbs of related meaning appear together and a short reference list of verb-forming suffixes. For students at any stage of learning the Turkish language, or for the self-motivated traveler, this unique dictionary will help open the door to greater understanding in an increasingly important area of the world.
Location: Mugar Reference X PL161 .J34 2006Publication Date: 2006
Redhouse Türkçe/Osmanlıca-İngilizce sözlük = Redhouse Turkish/Ottoman-English Dictionary by
Over 160,000 words, phrases and proverbs have been fully defined by definitions, translations and idiomatic equivalents. The dictionary includes colloquial and slang words as well as technical terms.
Location: Mugar Reference X PL191 .R547 1999Publication Date: 2002
Osmanlıca-Türkçe ansiklopedik büyük lûgat by Location: Mugar Reference X PL189 .O86 2006Publication Date: 2006
Etimolojik Osmanlı Türkçesi sözlüğü by Location: Mugar Reference X PL189 .K36 2005Publication Date: 2005
Encyclopedias
Cumhuriyet ansiklopedisi : 1923-2000 by
Contents: v. 1. 1923-1940 -- v. 2. 1941-1960 -- v. 3. 1961-1980 -- v. 4. 1981-2000
Location: Mugar Reserve Room DR590 .C77 2002 and Offsite StoragePublication Date: 2002
- Encyclopaedia Iranica This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool designed to record the facts of Iranian history and civilization. A precisely documented reference work on the lands, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies.
- Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window Includes "articles on distinguished Muslims of every era and origin, on tribes and dynasties, on crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities" of the Islamic world.
