French-English Dictionaries
-
Lexibase Intranet / Collins Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Online versions of Collins bilingual dictionaries including: English-French; English-Chinese; English-German; English-Italian; English-Russian; and German-Spanish.
-
Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2010This intermediate French dictionary now has a new grammar supplement that focuses on the key points of French grammar providing invaluable support to anyone learning to speak, read and write in French. -
Collins-Robert French-English, English-French DictionaryLocation: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PC2640 .C69 1990 )Publication Date: 1990This dictionary contains over 110,000 entries and 110,000 phrases/idiomatic expressions. It tries to include British and American English, and Canadian French.
-
Harrap’s New Standard French and English DictionaryLocation: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PC2640 .H317 1979M )Publication Date: 1979The Harrap’s has a slightly British flavor to its translations, but does include American English. It is especially good at providing context for words, as well as colloquialisms and idioms.
-
Dictionary of Modern Colloquial French by
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks PC2640 .H47 1984Publication Date: 1985
French Dictionaries
-
Petit Robert de la Langue Francaise This link opens in a new windowA well known French dictionary, highly regarded, easy to use. Originally in print.
-
Dictionnaire Vivant de la Langue FrançaiseThe DVLF, the Dictionnaire vivant de la langue française, is a new type of French language dictionary. Through a combination of dictionary definitions, usage example sentences, and linguistic tools like thesauri and pronunciation information, the DVLF is able to offer users a wide array of information about a given word.
-
Le Nouveau Petit Robert : Dictionnaire Alphabétique et Analogique de la Langue Française, Nouvelle Édition du Petit Robert de Paul Robert
by
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PC2625 .R554 2007 )Publication Date: 2007 -
Le Petit Larousse Illustré: En Couleur
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X AG25 .L25 2001Publication Date: 2001A 1,786 page encyclopedia with 87,000 articles, 4,600 illustrations, cartes, and designs. It is a popular desk dictionary. -
Grand Larousse de la Langue Française
by
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PC2625 .G7 )Publication Date: 1971Larousse is better known for encyclopedias than for dictionaries and this set feels a little like an encyclopedia. The definitions are less detailed and the phrases are fewer than those in the Grand Robert. -
Synonymes & contraires : grand dictionnaire
by
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PC2591 .S963 2004 )Publication Date: 2004"200 000 synonymes, 80 000 contraires"
Historical Dictionaries
-
Saute paillasse : les sens cachés des mots de la langue française
by
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PC2580 .D83 2004 )Publication Date: 2004 -
Dictionnaire historique de la langue française : contenant les mots français en usage et quelques autres délaissés, avec leur origine proche et lointaine ... byLocation: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PC2580 .D52 1993)Publication Date: 1993
-
Dictionnaire étymologique de la langue française byLocation: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PC2580 .B55 1989 )Publication Date: 1989
-
Petit dictionnaire des mots qui ont une histoire
by
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Stacks (PC2574 .H46 1991 )Publication Date: 1991 -
Dictionnaire du moyen français : la Renaissance
by
Location: Mugar Memorial Library Reference X (PC2650 .G74 1992 )Publication Date: 1992
