Chinese-English Dictionaries
- Lexibase Intranet / Collins Dictionaries This link opens in a new window Online versions of Collins bilingual dictionaries including: English-French; English-Chinese; English-German; English-Italian; English-Russian; and German-Spanish.
- Chinese-English Dictionary of Modern Usage Online edition of Lin Yutang's Chinese-English Dictionary of Modern Usage
Tuttle Concise Chinese Dictionary by
This Mandarin dictionary is perfect for Chinese language students, or business people and tourists traveling to China who wish to learn Chinese. It contains over 25,000 words and expressions (including all the required words for the official HSK Chinese Proficiency Examination), carefully selected to cover all important aspects of life and commerce in China. In addition, extensive information on Chinese grammar and Mandarin pronunciation are included.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2014
The Oxford-Duden Pictorial English and Chinese Dictionary
The Oxford-Duden Pictorial English & Chinese Dictionary provides parallel English and Chinese word-lists containing 28,000 items for each language. Based on the premise that pictures can more clearly convey certain kinds of information, the dictionary presents a list of vocabulary relating to a subject together with a picture illustrating that subject. Each double-page spread links the words by number to the picture situation drawn from everyday life. Approximately 384 sections cover a broad range of subjects in the fields of science, medicine, technology, industry, commerce, the arts, and leisure, including astronomy, automobiles, swimming, supermarkets, nuclear energy, and much more. Both English and Chinese vocabulary appear on the same page for easy use. It also provides fully aphabetized indexes in both languages which refer the reader not only to the various subjects and contexts in which a word is used but also to the correct translation and vocabulary of an entire subject. An essential reference for general readers, students, translators, travelers, and business people, The Oxford-Duden Pictorial English & Chinese Dictionary serves as a valuable supplement to English-Chinese and Chinese-English dictionaries.
Location: Mugar Reference X PL1423 .O94 1989Publication Date: 1989
Oxford Chinese Dictionary by
By far the largest and most up-to-date single-volume English-Chinese and Chinese-English dictionary available and endorsed by academics worldwide, the Oxford Chinese Dictionary has been designed both for English speakers learning Mandarin Chinese and Mandarin Chinese speakers learning English. It has been produced using the latest lexicographic methods and the unique dictionary resources of Oxford University Press in Oxford and Foreign Language Teaching and Research Press in Beijing, together with an international body of expert advisors. The Oxford Chinese Dictionary contains over 300,000 words and phrases and 370,000 translations, including tens of thousands of example phrases illustrating key points of construction and usage. There are over 300 cultural notes giving essential information about many aspects of life and culture in the Chinese- and English-speaking worlds. Extensive supplementary material and over 50 pages of lexical and usage notes contain helpful extra information about Chinese and English. The organization and layout have been designed for maximum clarity and accessibility. All Chinese headwords are given in Simplified Chinese characters, and headwords and compounds are shown with Pinyin transcriptions. All the English headwords are also shown with phonetics, so that the learner of English can pronounce each one correctly.
Location: Theology Library Reference PL1455 .O88 2010Publication Date: 2010-09-01
A Frequency Dictionary of Mandarin Chinese by
A Frequency Dictionary of Mandarin Chinese is an invaluable tool for all learners of Mandarin Chinese, providing a list of the 5,000 words and the 2,000 Chinese characters (simplified) most commonly used in the language. Based on a fifty-million-word corpus composed of spoken, fiction, non-fiction and news texts in current use, the dictionary provides the user with a detailed frequency-based list, as well as alphabetical and part-of-speech indexes. All entries in the frequency list feature the English equivalent and a sample sentence with English translation. The Dictionary also contains thirty thematically organized lists of frequently used words on a variety of topics such as food, weather, travel and time expressions. A Frequency Dictionary of Mandarin Chinese enables students of all levels to maximize their study of Mandarin vocabulary in an efficient and engaging way. It is also an excellent resource for teachers of the language. A CD version is available to purchase separately. Designed for use by corpus and computational linguists it provides the full text in a format that researchers can process and turn into suitable lists for their own research work.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2009
The right word in Chinese = [Han yü chih nan] = Hànyǔ zhǐnán by
What is a quick way to learn enough Chinese to get around in China? Where can you look up a Chinese word you do not know or remember? These and more problems can be solved with the aid of The Right Word in Chinese, a quick reference for everyday and specialized vocabularies. It is a good companion for business people and tourists visiting China.
Location: Mugar Stacks PL1455 .S28 1986Publication Date: 1986-01-01- Mathews' Chinese-English dictionary byLocation: Mugar Reference X PL1455 M34 2010Publication Date: 2010
Far East Chinese-English Dictionary = Yuan dong Han Ying da ci dian by Location: Mugar Reference X PL1455 .Y826 1992Publication Date: 1992
Ying-hua ta tz'u tien = A New English-Chinese Dictionary by
The largest English to Chinese dictionary ever produced in the People's Republic of China, with over 120,000 entries. It includes over 300,000 idioms, phrases, and examples, showing appropriate word usage. All entry words and most derivatives are syllabicated and given popular international phonetic marks. Many new words have been adopted and obsolete and incorrect ones have been deleted. Brief grammatical or linguistic notes are provided in Chinese for particularly difficult entries. Important biographical and geographical names and frequently occurring foreign words and phrases are all included.
Location: Mugar Reference X PL1455 .Y5 1984Publication Date: 1985
Chinese Dictionaries
- Chinese Characters: A Genealogy and Dictionary This dictionary is designed to help students understand, appreciate and remember Chinese characters. Charts show how each part of the more than 4000 characters in the dictionary can be traced back to about 200 simple pictographs and ideographs. Every character entry includes a brief traditional Chinese etymology based on the Shuowen Jiezi and commentaries on it that date back nearly 2000 years. Simplified forms for each character are given, though the dictionary is structured around traditional forms.
- Chinese Characters Dictionary Web Simultaneously search of major online Chinese dictionaries
- MDBG Character Dictionary The character dictionary contains information about single Chinese characters. Each entry in the character dictionary consists of a Chinese character, radical / stroke count, English definition, Mandarin pinyin pronunciation, Yale & Jyutping Cantonese pronunciation, simplified / traditional variants and cangjie.
