Dictionaries
- Digital Dictionaries of South Asia The mission of the Digital Dictionaries of South Asia (DDSA) program is to make available the highest quality electronic dictionaries for South Asian languages as free public services via the Internet. DDSA encompasses languages of the current nation-states of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.
The Oxford Hindi-English Dictionary by
The first new Hindi-English dictionary in over a century, The Oxford Hindi-English Dictionary is the comprehensive reference to modern standardized language, both spoken and literary. This handy paperback dictionary is designed to meet the needs of the growing number of people now learning to speak Hindi. It provides translations for over 36,000 headwords, using illustrative material to show words in use. Students of Hindi and South Asian studies of all kinds will find extensive coverage of historical Hindi, together with the most up-to-date colloquial and literary vocabulary. In addition, the Urdu vocabulary of Hindi is well represented. Providing contemporary, idiomatic Hindi and English, The Oxford Hindi-English Dictionary is the perfect reference guide for students, businesspeople, and travelers alike.
Location: Theology Library Reference PK1936 .M34 1997Publication Date: 1993
Essential Hindi Dictionary by
With over 14,000 definitions, including everyday idioms and expressions, here is the perfect tool to support anyone learning Hindi Essential Hindi Dictionary contains mutated forms of nouns, verbs, adjectives, and prepositions integrated into the main alphabetical structure. This enables you to trace the standard form of a mutated word without difficulty. Irregularly formed plural nouns are systematically included, and each Hindi verb is complete with its first person singular form in the present tense. In addition, many of the prepositions governed by various verbs are included. Throughout, the dictionary is illustrated with examples of language in action, with an emphasis on Hindi idiomatic usage. The book also features a short introduction to some of the relevant features of Hindi grammar, including the conjugation of verbs and prepositions, the comparison of adjectives, forms of personal pronouns, and a summary of the main rules of consonantal mutation.
Location: Mugar Stacks PK1936 .S64 2011Publication Date: 2012- A dictionary of Urdū, classical Hindī, and English byLocation: Mugar Reference X PK1986 .P4 1968MPublication Date: 1968
- A comparative dictionary of the Indo-Aryan languages byLocation: Mugar Reference X PK175 .F66Publication Date: 1966
Pañjābī-Aṅgrezī, Aṅgrezī-Pañjābī kosha = Punjabi-English, English-Punjabi dictionary by Location: Mugar Reference X PK2636 .P333 2000Publication Date: 2000- Samsad English-Bengali dictionary byLocation: Mugar Reference X PK1687 .B52 1973Publication Date: 1973
Encyclopedias
South Asian Folklore : an encyclopedia : Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka by
With 600 signed, alphabetically organized articles covering the entirety of folklore in South Asia, this new resource includes countries and regions, ethnic groups, religious concepts and practices, artistic genres, holidays and traditions, and many other concepts. A preface introduces the material, while a comprehensive index, cross-references, and black and white illustrations round out the work. The focus on south Asia includes Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, with short survey articles on Tibet, Bhutan, Sikkim, and various diaspora communities. This unique reference will be invaluable for collections serving students, scholars, and the general public.
Location: Mugar Reference X GR302 .S68 2003Publication Date: 2003
Everyday Life in South Asia by
This anthology provides a lively and stimulating view of the lives of ordinary citizens in India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, and Sri Lanka. For the second edition of this popular textbook, readings have been updated and new essays added. The result is a timely collection that explores key themes in understanding the region, including gender, caste, class, religion, globalization, economic liberalization, nationalism, and emerging modernities. New readings focus attention on the experiences of the middle classes, migrant workers, and IT professionals, and on media, consumerism, and youth culture. Clear and engaged writing makes this text particularly valuable for general and student readers, while the range of new and classic scholarship provides a useful resource for specialists.
Location: Mugar Stacks DS339 .E94 2010 and OnlinePublication Date: 2010-07-16
- Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window Includes "articles on distinguished Muslims of every era and origin, on tribes and dynasties, on crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities" of the Islamic world.
- Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window Focuses on women and the civilizations and societies in which Islam has played a historic role. Surveys all facets of life (society, economy, politics, religion, the arts, popular culture, sports, health, science, medicine, environment, etc.) of women in these societies.
The Oxford Handbook of Indian Philosophy by
The Oxford Handbook of Indian Philosophy tells the story of philosophy in India through a series of exceptional individual acts of philosophical virtuosity. It brings together forty leading international scholars to record the diverse figures, movements, and approaches that constitute philosophy in the geographical region of the Indian subcontinent, a region sometimes nowadays designated South Asia. The volume aims to be ecumenical, drawing from different locales, languages, and literary cultures, inclusive of dissenters, heretics and sceptics, of philosophical ideas in thinkers not themselves primarily philosophers, and reflecting India's north-western borders with the Persianate and Arabic worlds, its north-eastern boundaries with Tibet, Nepal, Ladakh and China, as well as the southern and eastern shores that afford maritime links with the lands of Theravda Buddhism. Indian Philosophy has been written in many languages, including Pali, Prakrit, Sanskrit, Malayalam, Urdu, Gujarati, Tamil, Telugu, Bengali, Marathi, Persian, Kannada, Punjabi, Hindi, Tibetan, Arabic and Assamese. From the time of the British colonial occupation, it has also been written in English. It spans philosophy of law, logic, politics, environment and society, but is most strongly associated with wide-ranging discussions in the philosophy of mind and language, epistemology and metaphysics (how we know and what is there to be known), ethics, metaethics and aesthetics, and metaphilosophy. The reach of Indian ideas has been vast, both historically and geographically, and it has been and continues to be a major influence in world philosophy. In the breadth as well as the depth of its philosophical investigation, in the sheer bulk of surviving texts and in the diffusion of its ideas, the philosophical heritage of India easily stands comparison with that of China, Greece, the Latin west, or the Islamic world.
Location: OnlinePublication Date: 2017
Brill's Encyclopedia of Hinduism by
The five-volume Brill s Encyclopedia of Hinduism is a thematically organized encyclopedia, presenting the latest research on all the main aspects of the Hindu traditions. Its essays are original work written by the world s foremost scholars on Hinduism. The encyclopedia aims at a balanced and even-handed view of Hinduism, recognizing the divergent perspectives and methods in the academic study of a religion that is both an ancient historical tradition and a flourishing tradition today. Following a pluralistic approach, the encyclopedia embraces the greatest possible diversity, plurality, and heterogeneity. It thus emphasizes that Hinduism encompasses a variety of regional religious traditions, as well as a global world religion. Volume I of the Encyclopedia of Hinduism covers two main thematic fields. First it presents the regional traditions of Hinduism with articles on the Indian states and main regions of India and on historical regions outside of India. Here the reader will also find entries on sacred space and pilgrimage traditions, sacred time and festival traditions. The second thematic field concerns the various gods, goddesses and divine powers of Hinduism past and present.
Location: Mugar Reference X BL1105 .B75 2010Publication Date: 2009
