Skip to Main Content
Words without Borders
Founded in 2003, Words Without Borders promotes cultural understanding through the translation, publication, and promotion of the finest contemporary international literature.
World Literature Today
World Literature Today is the University of Oklahoma's award-winning literary quarterly magazine of international literature and culture.
"Winner of the 2015 London Book Fair's International Literary Translation Initiative Award, Asymptote is the premier site for world literature in translation. We take our name from the dotted line on a graph that a mathematical function may tend toward, but never reach. Similarly, a translated text may never fully replicate the effect of the original; it is its own creative act."
Exchanges: Journal of Literary Translation
Exchanges is an online journal of literary translation published biannually. Founded in 1989 by poet and translator Daniel Weissbort, Exchanges has published the work of award-winning writers and translators across the country and the globe, including Deborah Smith, Jennifer Croft, Jeremy Tiang, Aron Aji, Yvette Siegert, Aviya Kushner, Ottilie Mulzet, Urayoán Noel, Craig Santos Perez, Lawrence Venuti, and many others.
InTranslation (The Brooklyn Rail)
InTranslation features English translations of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and dramatic writing from around the world that have not yet been acquired for publication.
ArabLit is a literary blog for non-Arabic readers interested in Arabic literature and culture
Banipal: Magazine of Modern Arab Literature
Banipal magazine showcases contemporary Arab authors in English translation, from wherever they are writing and publishing. An independent magazine, founded 19 years ago, in 1998, by Margaret Obank and Iraqi author Samuel Shimon, Banipal's three issues a year present both established and emerging Arab writers through poems, short stories or excerpts of novels, plus the occasional features of LITERARY INFLUENCES, TRAVELLING TALE. The magazine features interviews with authors, publishers and translators, book reviews and photo-reports of literary events
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text access to the back issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Book reviews are included as well as journal articles. Abstracts are available for some of the articles. Date coverage: earliest issues of each journal up to the most current five years for most publications and to the present for some.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project Muse provides digital access to scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences. The scholarly content comes from non-profit scholarly publishers, including university presses and societies. The full text resources include journal articles, book reviews and book chapters.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Includes citations from worldwide publications: periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies. Date coverage: 1920s - present.
BITRA. Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation
Searchable open-access database that Identifies articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations on translation and interpreting. Abstracts are available for about half of the citations.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) provides citations to the contents of scholarly journals published around the world on Latin America and the Caribbean. Coverage ranges from political, economic, and social issues to the arts and humanities. Date coverage: 1970 - present.
Bibliografía de la Literatura Española This link opens in a new window
An index of scholarship in and related to Spanish Literature. It includes citations for books, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, bibliographies, congress proceedings, and other miscellaneous material published in Spain or abroad. It covers literature published in Spain as well as documenting critical writing related to Hispanic and Filipino authors writing prior to independence from Spain. Date coverage: Middle ages - present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
An index to works, primarily in the humanities and the social sciences, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, and books. Date coverage: 1971 - present except for books (1971-1992).
Linguistics Collection This link opens in a new window
The Linguistics Collection is comprised of index and full-text databases covering all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. The collection includes the Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), which abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. And Linguistics Database, which includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics including many titles indexed in LLBA.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is one of the core general science databases covering all aspects of scientific literature. It also has a number of tools that make it a unique resource for finding scholarly literature. Item records come with links both to the works cited by the paper in question and the future works that cite that paper. Web of Science also allows the user to set up email alerts for specific authors or topics, provides researcher profiles, and allows the user to search conference proceedings.
Online Text Collections
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction This link opens in a new window
Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. The collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Loeb Classical Library is the digital version of 520 volumes of Greek and Latin texts with English translations of all the ancient authors from Homer 700 B.C.E. to Bede 700 C.E. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; medical writers and mathematicians; and Church Fathers who used pagan culture are represented. Readers can browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content.
Perseus Digital Library
This site, produced at Tufts University, provides digital images and transcribed text (in translation or original language) from ancient Greek and Latin sources. Also includes documents related to English Renaissance literature and to London.
Open access collection of Japanese literary works in the public domain
Extensive collection of German texts in digital form, ranging from the beginning of the printing press up to the first decades of the 20th century