Skip to main content

Open Access

Directories & Repositories

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
  • Provides access to free, full-text, peer-reviewed articles from over 13,000 journals
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
  •  Over 17,000 peer reviewed books available.
OpenDOAR: Directory of Open Access Respositories
  •   Presents a listing of academic open access repositories. Can search by name, location, subject area, content type, and repository type. It     is also possible to search the contents of the repositories.
OAIster
  •  A union catalog of academic digital resources. Includes over 50 million text, image, audio, and video records.
BioMedCentral
  • An independent publisher committed to providing immediate open access to research articles in over 300 peer-reviewed biomedical journals.
PubMed Central
  • U.S. National Institutes of Health free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.

Free Medical Journals

  •  Articles from a large number of journals are available with some date restrictions.

OSTI.gov

  •  Collection of search tools maintained by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). Provides research and development (R&D) results emanating from DOE funding including data, software, patents, and videos.
ArXiv.org
  • Contains over one million  e-prints in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance,  statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. 
ROARMAP
  • The Registry of Open Access Repository Mandates and Policies (ROARMAP) is a searchable international registry charting the growth of open access mandates and policies adopted by universities, research institutions and research funders that require or request their researchers to provide open access to their peer-reviewed research article output by depositing it in an open access repository.

MDPI Open Access

  •  MDPI is an academic open access publisher based in Basel, Switzerland. It publishes over 200 peer-reviewed, scientific, open access e-journals.
Public Library of Science (PLoS)
  • Publishes a number of open access journals and is an important advocate of open access

Oasis

  • Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 90 different sources and contains 364,699 records.

Internet Archive

  • Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

RePEc (Research Papers in Economics)

  • RePEc is an international decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, book chapters, and software components.

OSF Preprints

  • Subject-based repositories maintained by the Center for Open Science. Disciplines include architecture, arts, humanities, business, education, engineering, law, life sciences, medicine, health sciences, physical sciences, mathematics, social sciences, and behavioral sciences.

Law Review Commons

  • Large collection of free and open law scholarship. Includes current issues and archives going back to 1852 for some journals.

Digital Commons Network

  • Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions worldwide, the Digital Commons Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.

SSRN

  • SSRN provides access to over 800,000 research papers in many disciplines, including social sciences, humanities, life sciences, applied sciences, physical sciences, and health sciences.

OpenBU

  • The Boston University Institutional Repository contains documents and publications authored or co-authored by BU faculty, students, and staff.

Librarian

Meredith Kirkpatrick's picture
Meredith Kirkpatrick
Contact:
meredith@bu.edu
Mugar Library
771 Commonwealth Ave.
Boston, MA 02215
617-358-3956