Chicago Style
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition by Location: Mugar Reference Z253 .U69 2017
Music Library Open reserve Z253 .U69 2017ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017
- The Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThe Chicago Manual of Style Online is a searchable guide for the Chicago style of citation, editorial, and publishing practices. It includes 16th and 17th editions plus Q&A content, sample forms, letters, and style sheets, and other tools.
- Chicago Style, 17th Edition by Excelsior Online Writing Lab17th Edition Chicago-style citations utilize two distinct formats: the notes and bibliography format and the author-date format. Both formats usually include a separate bibliography page where all references are listed. Students should double-check with their instructors about which format is preferred.
American Psychological Association (APA) Style Manual
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Sci/Eng Reference BF76.7 P83
Education Reference BF76.7 P83
Pardee Reference BF76.7 P83
MLA Style
MLA stands for the Modern Language Association, and its style guidelines have been assisting authors since 1951. MLA style is most commonly used to cite sources within the language arts, cultural studies, and other humanities disciplines. For more information, please consult the official MLA Handbook (9th ed.).
Please note that MLA guidelines do change over time, so it’s important to be aware of the most current information. As always, follow the requirements of your teacher or professor; their requirements take precedence.
- MLA Formatting & Style GuideExcelsior's Online Writing Lab offers this open access style guide, tutorial, and checklist for formatting your papers in MLA style.
- MLA Essay TemplateThe Excelsior Online Writing Lab created this template to give writers a foundation for formatting using the Modern Language Association guidelines.
- MLA Style: How to Format (Excelsior Online Writing Lab)Excelsior Online Writing Lab is an excellent open-access resource for citing in MLA style.
MLA Handbook by Location: Mugar Reference LB2369 G5ISBN: 9781603293518Publication Date: 2021-04-22The ninth edition of the MLA Handbook is a textbook and reference guide that offers student writers and writing instructors guidance on creating works-cited-list entries in MLA style using the template of core elements. It features advice on punctuation, grammar, inclusive language, formatting research papers, and in-text citations. Includes an appendix of sample works-cited-list entries, illustrations, and an index.
NLM (National Library of Medicine Style)
Citing Medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers
The official style manual for the National Library of Medicine (NLM), and suggested when citing documents from the associated databases MedLine and PubMed. The online edition supercedes the print edition as the most up to date.
General Citation Guides
- EasyBib.comEasyBib.com has partnered with WorldCat, and can format, alphabetize and print a bibliography based on APA, MLA, or Chicago styles.
- Excelsior Online Writing Lab: Citation & DocumentationThis section features instructional videos that show you how to set up your papers in APA, MLA, and Chicago formats, interactive checklists, and visual support for both in-text documenting and referencing at the end of your paper.
- Purdue Online Writing LabThe Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.
