Skip to Main Content

Students
Faculty
Alumni
Archives
Special Collections
Events and Exhibits
About the Library
Account

Boston University Libraries
Research
Theology Library Guides
STH: Special Collections
AME Church Periodicals

Search this Guide

STH: Special Collections

An introduction to some of the many special collections owned by the School of Theology Library.

STH Special Collections Home
Digital CollectionsToggle Dropdown
Methodist Collections
Wesleyan Methodist Missionary Society Archives [Microfiche]Toggle Dropdown
Methodist Missionary Files [Microfilm]
Missions CollectionsToggle Dropdown
Biblical CollectionsToggle Dropdown
Hymnological CollectionsToggle Dropdown
Art Collections
More Special CollectionsToggle Dropdown
A. David Lewis Religion and Graphica Collection
Power, Privilege, and Prophetic Witness Collection (STH Class of 2016 Gift)
Faculty Publications

Library Congress Subject Headings

African Methodist Episcopal Church -- Periodicals

AME Church Periodicals

Christian Recorder
The Christian Recorder is available online (1854-1856, 1861-1892) and as microfilm (1854-1902) in the BU School of Theology Library's special collections.
Southern Christian Reporter (1890-1904)
The Southern Christian Reporter is available (1890-1904) in the database African American Historical Serials Collection.

Related Books about AME Church Periodicals:

Black Print Unbound : The Christian Recorder, African American Literature, and Periodical Culture by Eric Gardner
ISBN: 9780190237080
Publication Date: 2015
Race Patriotism : Protest and Print Culture in the A.M.E. Church by Julius H. Bailey
ISBN: 9781572338456
Publication Date: 2012

Related Workshop!!

Church History with the African American Historical Serials Collection
Find out how to use our full-text database the African American Historical Serials Collection to research church history from the period 1829-1922.

This workshop covers:

why and how to incorporate historical periodicals in their research
the African American Historical Serials Collection and its contents
how to access, download, and cite articles from AAHSC.
how to find continuations of these journals past 1922 in other databases and in libraries.

Click the link above to view future dates for this workshop, as well as slides from past sessions.

<< Previous: AME Church Records
Next: New England Conference Commission on Archives and History >>

Last Updated: Nov 5, 2024 3:05 PM
URL: https://library.bu.edu/sthspecialcollections
Print Page

Login to LibApps