Boston University has access to many different databases beyond the ones listed above. The librarians at Mugar have made a comprehensive, A-Z list of all the databases available at Boston University:
Korean-language journal article database. Provides access to scholarly articles in over 2,000 journals, including over 70 journals in Religion and Theology.
Full-text collection of Korean classical books including: history, literature, folk literature, natural history, oriental medicine, religion, myth, and other classical works.
Korean-language scholarly database. Provides access to articles and other resources in both scholarly and popular journals.
The following databases, however, are on the same platform (EBSCO) and can be searched simultaneously with the ATLA database, by clicking "Choose Databases" above the search bar within the ATLA database.
In your studies at the School of Theology Library, the online database you will probably use the most is ATLASerials (which is hosted by EBSCO). This database includes full-text articles from over 300 journals on theology and indexing/citation information on almost 2,000 more. Discover the wealth of resources at your disposal by searching the database, the link is included below!
Our friends at ATLA have posted several YouTube video tutorials showing users how to unlock the power of the ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials so you can find the perfect article for your research. Check them out here! Toggle between playlists by clicking on the icon in the top left of the video!
An international bibliography of theology and religious studies, provided by the University of Tübingen.
The most complete database of e-books and e-journals on Spanish language for libraries. More than 27,000 elextronic documents in this database.
In addition to the above databases, statistical information can be found at the following free databases online:
The World Christian Database is provided by the Center for the Study of Global Christianity at Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary.
The World Religion Database is provided by the Institute on Culture, Religion, and World Affairs (CURA) at Boston University Pardee School of Global Studies.
The ARDA is a great resource if you are looking for statistics on religious topics. Need numbers on church membership, or surveys? Start here.
An attempt to complete a census of the congregations of churches across the United States.
Need any information about the make-up of the population of the United States? Look it up using the U.S. Census' abstract.
Library of Latin Texts, Series A, Library of Latin Texts Series B, Database of Latin Dictionaries, and the Cross-Database Search Tool
All theses and dissertations at Boston University are indexed in our BU Libraries Search catalog.
If you know the title or author, just simply search that information.
If you don't have a name or title, or just wish to browse, you can search dissertations and theses using a subject search on our online catalog.
Boston University's Institutional Repository, OpenBU, contains documents authored by people affiliated with Boston University (students, faculty, and staff), including full-text electronic copies of all dissertations at the University since 2008.
BU has subscriptions to the following Thesis/Dissertation Databases:
For Theological Theses and Dissertations, you may also want to search:
Other general Dissertation/Thesis databases and indexing websites include:
Not all of the articles indexed in our databases are available full-text. Don't worry though, because there are other ways to get them.
1. First, check BU Libraries search to see if we have a hardcopy
In many cases, we have a current subscription to the journal your article is in. Simply search for the journal in our BU Libraries Search catalog to find the call number. Then, check on the shelf at that call number location to find the correct volume and issue. Once you've located it, feel free to use it in library or scan the article you need.
2. If there is no copy at BU, place an interlibrary loan article request
If we don't own the journal, we can find another library that does and get a scan of your article. Simply go to "Interlibrary Loan Borrowing" on the "For Students" menu of the STH Library website. Log-in to ILLiad (our interlibrary loan program) with your password, make your free account, and choose "article request." Enter as much information as you can about the article and submit. You should receive an email when your PDF arrives in as little as 1-2 business days. The email will have a link back into the ILLiad program, and your article will be available there for download for 2 weeks. Questions? Check out our ILLiad tutorial here.