Related Guides
Websites
- Beazley Archive Pottery Database - BAPD The BAPD is the world largest database of ancient Greek painted pottery (‘Greek vases’). It contains records of almost 130,000 ancient pots and about 250,000 images. Nearly all of the pots included were made during the 6th to 4th centuries BC, and about three quarters of them were made in Athens.
- Arachne - iDAI.objects (all projects) iDAI.objects arachne (short form: Arachne) is the central object database of the German Archaeological Institute (DAI) and the Archaeological Institute of the University of Cologne.
- Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser (Perseus Digital Library) Browse images of buildings, coins, gems, sculptures, sites, and vases in the Greco-Roman world.
- CVA (Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum) The Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum ('Corpus of Ancient Vases') is the oldest research project of the UAI. It consists of a series of high-quality catalogues of mostly ancient Greek painted pottery in collections around the world. The first fascicule appeared in 1922 and since then more than 400 have appeared, illustrating more than 100,000 vases in 24 countries
- Iconiclimc - Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae LIMC (Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae) Mugar Reference X N7760 .L49 1981 ThesCRA (Thesaurus cultus et rituum antiquorum) Mugar Reference X BL727 .T44 2004
- Early Photography in Greece and the Mediterranean (Getty Research Institute) arly Photography in Greece and the Mediterranean details over 560 19th- and early-20th-century photographs of ancient Greek and Roman architecture. Focusing on Greece, Asia Minor, the Aegean islands, Cyprus, South Italy, and Sicily, the majority of the photographs depict Athens, particularly the Athenian Acropolis. Also represented are ancient monuments located elsewhere in Athens, selected site views in Greece and throughout the Mediterranean, and ancient sculpture
- The Ancient City of Athens (Stoa Consortium for Electronic Publication in the Humanities) The Ancient City of Athens is a photographic archive of the archaeological and architectural remains of ancient Athens (Greece). It
Museum Collections Online
Boston & Cambridge
- Art of Ancient Egypt, Nubia, and the Near East, Museum of Fine Arts, Boston With more than 65,000 works of art including sculpture, jewelry, coffins, mummies, coins, weapons, architecture, vases, carved gems, musical instruments, and mosaics, the Art of Ancient Egypt, Nubia, and the Near East department houses one of the world’s premiere encyclopedic collections of antiquities.
United States
- Kelsey Museum of Archaeology, University of Michigan The finds from excavations sponsored by the University of Michigan in Egypt and the Middle East constitute the majority of the objects in the Kelsey Museum, most of them dating to the Roman period. In most cases, the original excavation records are also stored at the Museum. In addition, the Museum contains a representative collection of Classical, Egyptian, and Middle Eastern objects, dating from the Neolithic period to the Middle Ages, and an important collection of archival photographs.
- Arts of the Ancient Mediterranean and Byzantium, Art Institute of Chicago The Art Institute’s department of Arts of the Ancient Mediterranean and Byzantium (AAMB) showcases the early development of Western art from the dawn of the third millennium BCE to the time of the Byzantine Empire. It includes examples of sculpture in stone, clay, and bronze, as well as coins, glass, jewelry, vases, and mosaics of outstanding quality and interest. There are some 2,300 works of ancient Mediterranean art in the department’s holdings.
- Greek and Roman Art, Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York City The Museum's collection of Greek and Roman art comprises more than thirty thousand works ranging in date from the Neolithic period (ca. 4500 B.C.) to the time of the Roman emperor Constantine's conversion to Christianity in A.D. 312.
- Ancient Greece, Walters Art Museum, Baltimore The Walters' outstanding collection of ancient Greek art illustrates the history and culture of Greece from the Cycladic to the Hellenistic period (ca. 3rd millennium–1st century BC). It ranges from engraved gemstones to exceptional vases and marble statues.
- Penn Museum, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia Welcome to the Penn Museum online collections—here you can explore collections information, images, archival films, and more.
International
- Greco-Roman Antiquities, Bibliotheca Alexandrina Antiquities Museum, Alexandria, Egypt The largest collection in the Bibliotheca Alexandrina Antiquities Museum dates back to the Greco-Roman period. It reflects the Greek and Roman religious concepts, and part of it represents some aspects of the daily life.
- National Archaeological Museum of Athens, Greece The National Archaeological Museum of Athens is the largest archaeological museum in Greece and one of the most important museums in the world devoted to ancient Greek art. It was founded at the end of the 19th century to house and protect antiquities from all over Greece, thus displaying their historical, cultural and artistic value.
- Musei Capitolini, Rome, Italy The creation of the Capitoline Museums has been traced back to 1471, when Pope Sixtus IV donated a group of bronze statues of great symbolic value to the People of Rome. The collections are closely linked to the city of Rome, and most of the exhibits come from the city itself.
- The British Museum, London, England Collection online allows access to almost four and a half million objects in more than two million records.
- Museum of Classical Archaeology, University of Cambridge, England The collection of the Museum of Classical Archaeology ranges from the largest of sculptures to the smallest of artefacts. Our cast collection is one of very few surviving plaster cast collections in the world today – and we have more than 450 of our casts on display in the Cast Gallery, including our famous painted Peplos Kore.
- Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology, University College London, England The Petrie Museum houses an estimated 80,000 objects, making it one of the greatest collections of Egyptian and Sudanese archaeology in the world. It illustrates life in the Nile Valley from prehistory through the time of the pharaohs, the Ptolemaic, Roman and Coptic periods to the Islamic period.
- Louvre, Paris, France The database for the Louvre’s collections consists of entries for more than 480,000 works of art that are part of the national collections and registered in the inventories of the museum’s eight curatorial departments (Near Eastern Antiquities; Egyptian Antiquities; Greek, Etruscan and Roman Antiquities; Islamic Art; Paintings; Medieval, Renaissance and Modern Sculpture; Prints and Drawings; Medieval, Renaissance and Modern Decorative Arts), those of the History of the Louvre
- State Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg, Russia The collection of the State Hermitage includes over 3 million works of art and world culture artefacts. It contains paintings, graphic works, sculptures, works of applied art, archaeological artefacts and numismatic objects.
- Museo Arqueológico Nacional, Madrid, Spain The Greek collections comprise pottery items, bronzes, terracotta figures, sculptures and gold and silver ware. The Hispano-Roman collection comprises a diverse range of everyday and monumental objects, primarily dating from the first century BC to the fifth century AD. The Egyptian and Nubian collections comprise objects dating from Prehistory to the Roman period and the Middle Ages. The Ancient Near East collection consists of a small number of pieces stretching from Prehistory to Roman times.
- Collection of Greek and Roman Antiquities, Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna, Austria The objects in the Collection of Greek and Roman Antiquities span a period of more than three millennia and range from Bronze Age ceramics of Cyprus dating from the 3rd millennium BC to early Medieval finds. Some 2500 objects are on permanent display.
