Related Guides
About this Guide
This guide highlights selected classical art, architecture, and archaeology sources and resources both in print and online.
Background Sources
- Brill's New Pauly This link opens in a new window Brill’s New Pauly provides access to Brill’s New Pauly, an encyclopedia of the ancient world translated into English; Der Neue Pauly, the original German version; and Supplements I, Volumes 1-6 (in English) on chronologies; author/text dictionary; atlas; reception of myth, mythology, and classical literature; and scholarship.
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window Grove Art Online is an encyclopedia covering both Western and non-Western art and all aspects of visual culture. Articles include bibliographies and searchable images. As part of Oxford Art Online, keywords also are simultaneously searched in The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.
- Classical Archaeology The fully revised second edition of this successful volume includes updates on the latest archaeological research in all chapters, and two new essays on Greek and Roman art. It retains its unique, paired essay format, as well as key contributions from leading archaeologists and historians of the classical world.
- The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture is the most current and comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period.
- A Companion to Greek Architecture A Companion to Greek Architecture provides an expansive overview of the topic, including design, engineering, and construction as well as theory, reception, and lasting impact. Covers both sacred and secular structures and complexes, with particular attention to architectural decoration, such as sculpture, interior design, floor mosaics, and wall painting.
- A Companion to the Archaeology of Early Greece and the Mediterranean Presents an in-depth exploration of the society and material culture of Greece and the Mediterranean, from the 14th to the early 7th centuries BC. The two-volume companion sets Aegean developments within their broader geographic and cultural context, and presents the wide-ranging interactions with the Mediterranean. The companion bridges the gap that typically exists between Prehistoric and Classical Archaeology and examines material culture and social practice across Greece and the Mediterranean.
- A Companion to Roman Art A Companion to Roman Art encompasses various artistic genres, ancient contexts, and modern approaches for a comprehensive guide to Roman art.
- The art of Rome, c. 753 B.C.-A.D. 337 : sources and documents This book consists of a comprehensive collection of ancient literary evidence on Roman art and artists, assembled together in translation and provided with linking passages to set the historical context. Its purpose is to make this evidence accessible to students who are not specialists in the classical languages or classical archaeology.
- A Companion to Greek Art A comprehensive, authoritative account of the development Greek Art through the 1st millennium BC. An invaluable resource for scholars dealing with the art, material culture and history of the post-classical world Includes voices from such diverse fields as art history, classical studies, and archaeology and offers a diversity of views to the topic.
- Handbook of Greek sculpture The Handbook of Greek Sculpture aims to provide a detailed examination of current research and directions in the field.
- The art of ancient Greece : sources and documents The Art of Ancient Greece contains a comprehensive collection in translation of ancient literary evidence relating to Greek sculpture, painting, architecture, and the decorative arts. The material is presented in a way which makes this important evidence available to students who are not specialists in the Classical languages or Classical archaeology. Accompanying the author's translations of a wide selection of Greek and Latin texts is an accessible, substantial bibliography, as well as an introduction, and explanatory commentary.
- A Companion to Roman Architecture A Companion to Roman Architecture presents a comprehensive review of the critical issues and approaches that have transformed scholarly understanding in recent decades in one easy-to-reference volume. Offers a cross-disciplinary approach to Roman architecture, spanning technology, history, art, politics, and archaeology.
- Lexicon iconographicum mythologiae classicae (LIMC). On classical myth in art. Extensively illustrated. Articles in English, French, German and Italian.
- Enciclopedia virgiliana Encyclopedia on the works of Virgil.
- The Art Story: Classical Greek and Roman Art and Architecture Classical Art encompasses the cultures of Greece and Rome and endures as the cornerstone of Western civilization. Including innovations in painting, sculpture, decorative arts, and architecture, Classical Art pursued ideals of beauty, harmony, and proportion, even as those ideals shifted and changed over the centuries. While often employed in propagandistic ways, the human figure and the human experience of space and their relationship with the gods were central to Classical Art.
Atlases & Topographies
- Atlas of Classical History From the Bronze Age to the reign of Constantine, the Atlas of Classical History provides a comprehensive series of maps, diagrams, and commentary designed to meet the needs of classical scholars, as well as general readers. Over 135 maps of the Greek and Roman worlds clearly mark the political affiliations of the cities and states, major military events, trade routes, artistic, cultural and industrial centers, and colonization and exploration.
- Brill’s New Pauly Supplements I - Volume 3 : Historical Atlas of the Ancient World This new atlas of the ancient world illustrates the political, economic, social and cultural developments in the ancient Near East, the Mediterranean world, the Byzantine Empire, the Islamic world and the Holy Roman Empire from the 3rd millennium BC until the 15th century AD.
- Lexicon topographicum urbis Romae The Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae provides an up-to-date account of current research on public and private buildings and monuments constructed within the Aurelianic walls through the early seventh century A.D. Both classical and Christian structures are discussed, whether identified through archaeological remains or known only from ancient or later sources. Each volume is heavily illustrated with drawings, photographs, floor plans, and maps.
