Skip to Main Content
AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
AM Explorer is a cross-collection search of the entire corpus of Adam Matthew's digitized arts and cultural heritage material in subjects including Area Studies, Cultural Studies, Empire and Globalism, Ethnic Studies, Gender and Sexuality, History, Politics, Literature, Theatre, and War and Conflict.
Food and Drink in History (AM Explorer)
From feast to famine, explore primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production.
Alcohol Production and Consumption (Food and Drink in History)
This theme spans almost the entire historical range of the resource, with alcohol never far removed from the discourse of food. It covers the production and consumption of alcohol in both commercial and domestic contexts, from sixteenth-to eighteenth century cookbooks with household recipes for alcoholic drinks, to nineteenth century texts on commercial brewing and distilling and twentieth century marketing reports for brands of spirits. Documents in this theme encompass the production, marketing, sale and consumption of alcohol, as well as abstinence from it, with coverage of temperance and the prohibition movement.
The Business of Alcoholic Beverages: Introduction to the Seagram Collection (Food and Drink in History)
The Seagram records (from Hagley Museum and Library) provide a glimpse into our society through a history of alcoholic beverages.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration & Cultural Exchange (AM Explorer)
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
City of London Alehouse Registration, Early Modern England (AM Explorer)
This collection, from London Metropolitan Archives, gives an insight into the system of licensing for alehouses, taverns and other public houses which had been written into legislation since the mid-sixteenth century when the Alehouse Act (1552) stated that no-one was allowed to sell beer or ale without the consent of the local Justices of the Peace.
Temperance and Prohibition Movement, 1830-1933 (ProQuest History Vault) This link opens in a new window
This collection contains records and publications of the principal organizations which sought to reduce and ultimately to eliminate the manufacture and sale of alcoholic beverages in the United States during the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. This collection contains almost all known records of the major national temperance organizations, including the Anti-Saloon League of America (A.S.L.A.) and the Woman's Christian Temperance Union (W.C.T.U.).