Oregon Hops and Brewing Archives, Oregon State University
"Oregon Hops and Brewing Archives, established in 2013, is the first in the U.S. dedicated to collecting, preserving, and sharing materials that tell the story of Northwest brewing. We focus on materials related the regional hops and barley farming, craft and home brewing, cider, mead, and the OSU research that dates to the 1890s."
Arthur & Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America
The library holds more than 100,000 volumes, ranging from rare 16th-century texts to 21st-century titles. Approximately 20,000 of these volumes are cookbooks or food related.
Distilled Spirits Council of the United States
Distilled Spirits Council of the United States is the national trade association representing producers and marketers of distilled spirits sold in the United States.
Cocktail History in America, Virginia Tech University Libraries
"The guide includes information about materials in the History of Food & Drink Collection relating to cocktail history in America and related food, social, domestic, and economic history. It also has tools and resources for completing historical research."
American Cocktail Books, 1869-1939 Selected Titles from Library of Congress Collections (Science Reference Guide, Library of Congress)
This survey of titles from the general collections of the Library of Congress includes some early books from the "golden age" of mixology and a number of titles published following the repeal of Prohibition. The books listed here are available in the Science and Business Reading Room.
Kentucky Bourbon Tales Oral History Project, University of Kentucky Libraries
"The Nunn Center has partnered with the Kentucky Distillers’ Association on the Kentucky Bourbon Tales Oral History Project. We have completed interviews at several distilleries, including Wild Turkey, Heaven Hill, Makers Mark, Jim Beam, Diageo North America (Diageo and Stitzel Weller), Four Roses and Brown Forman (Woodford Reserve). We have conducted interviews with many key figures, including master distillers, who have played important roles in the growth of this industry. There are more interviews in the pipeline."
Beer and Craft Brewing Oral History Interviews, Hagley Museum
"This collection contains a series of interviews conducted in 2015 and 2016 on the business of craft brewing in the Mid-Atlantic region of the U.S. The collection includes interviews with brewers and brewery owners from Delaware, New Jersey, Maryland, and Virginia. Additionally, interviews were conducted that cover packaging (canning), distribution, retail sales, and the politics around regulating the alcohol business.
"Beverage," Outdoor Advertising Association of America archives, Duke University Libraries
"More than 16,000 images of outdoor advertisements and other scenes from the Outdoor Advertising Association of America, the primary professional organization in the field." Includes 2900+ images of beverage advertisements.
Alcohol, Temperance, & Prohibition, Brown University
"The digitized items in the Alcohol, Temperance and Prohibition Collection are from the Alcoholism and Addiction Studies Collection, as well as from various collections in the Brown University Library — broadsides, sheet music, pamphlets and government publications."
"Moonshine - Blue Ridge Style," Blue Ridge Institute & Museum, Ferrum College
"Produced by the Blue Ridge Institute & Museum of Ferrum College
with funding and support from John Redd Smith, Jr., Martinsville, Virginia, and the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities."
Oral History Center, Bancroft Library, U.C. Berkeley
Oral history projects include "California Wine Industry," "West Coast Cocktails," and "America's Wine: The Legacy of Prohibition."
The Brewchive, University Archives, California State University an Marcos
The Brewchive (TM) is to be a comprehensive archive of San Diego county's brewing activity from personal and business aspects. The archives hold evidence in a wide variety of forms from individuals, breweries, organizations, and affiliated businesses involved primarily with beer, but also cider, mead, and kombucha.
Tapping into Beer History: University Creates Archive for Local Breweriana
“Who’s collecting San Diego’s beer history?” This question—asked by Char Booth, California State University San Marcos (CSUSM) Library associate dean, during a brewing science certificate proposal review in 2016—launched what would become the Brewchive at CSUSM Library. In 2018, the archive received the American Library Association’s John Cotton Dana Library Public Relations Award.
Something's Brewing: The Art, Science and Technology of Beer Brewing, University of Chicago Library
There is more to brewing than barley and hops. Beverages have been brewed from beans, oatmeal, honey, molasses, rye, wheat, old bread, and even whole chickens. Ancient Egyptians, medieval monks, and Chicago city founders have all practiced the art of brewing.
The Crerar Library exhibit, Something's Brewing: The Art, Science and Technology of Brewing, explores the development of brewing, from the ancient Sumerians' rice-based beverages to the rise and fall of the Chicago brewing industry.
Boston Brewery Posters, Digital Commonwealth
Boston, in the early 1900s, was home to 31 breweries. There were 24 breweries in Roxbury and Jamaica Plain and all were located in the vicinity of Columbus Avenue, Heath, and Armory Streets. Today, many of the old main brewing buildings are gone but they remain preserved in the collection of brewery advertising posters held in the Boston Public Library.