Skip to main content

Arts Administration II: Data and Information Sources

US Government Data & Statistics

National Endowment for the Arts (NEA).  The NEA conducts annual surveys on arts participation that include statistical data by regional and demographic information.  

Annual Reports

Arts Data Profile Series

 

U.S. Census: Economic Census.  This census is conducted every five years.  It tabulates the number, location, and size of businesses.  Search by industry using NAICS (North American Industry Classification System).  For arts administration research use NAICS Code 71 (Arts, Entertainment, Recreation) and its subsections:

7111 Performing Arts Companies: 71111 Theater Companies and Dinner Theaters, 71112 Dance Companies, 71113 Musical Groups and Artists, 71119 Other Performing Arts Companies

712 Museums, Historical Sites and Similar Institutions: 71211 Museums, 71212 Historical Sites, 71213 Zoos and Botanical Gardens, 71219 Nature Parks and other Similar Institutions

7113 Promoters of Performing Arts

7114 Art Agents and Managers

7115 Independent Artist (Fine Art), Writers, Performers 

Example:  Museums (NAICS 71211): Industry Snapshot

 

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics:  American Time Use Survey (ATU).  Measures the amount of time people spend on various activities.  Data sets by year can be found here; arts are under “Sports and Leisure” which can be found in the list of activities on the right-hand side of the screen.

 

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE).  The program involves two surveys: the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey.  Data includes expenditures, income, consumer unit.  Click on a table and scroll down to “Entertainment.”

Industry Reports

IBISWorld.  Comprehensive collection of Industry reports organized by NAICS code.  Also by keyword and company name.    Use  the tabs at the top of the web page, e.g, Industry at a Glance, Industry Outlook, Key Statistics.  Related industries are grouped under NAICS Code 71. 

Example:  Museums in the U.S.
 

Mergent online. In-depth company information and financials for international public companies.   Use tabs for more information.  Click Reports to generate a single-page comprehensive report. 

Example: 5th Avenue Theatre Association.

Business Tutorial: Mergent

 


 

Nielsen Reports.  You can search for reports here and read summaries.  The full-report downloads are very expensive and must be purchased individually.  Top Ten Charts provided free.

Marketing & Advertising Databases

Ad$pender.  Provides information on a company, brand, or product expenditure for advertising in traditional media. “… tracks millions of brands across 18 media and ranks top spenders by industry, parent, brand, etc.”  

Business Tutorial: Ad$pender.
 

Advertising Redbooks.  Directory of advertising agencies, key clients and brands, includes media expenditures and sample ads.   If you are not searching for a particular organization, use Advanced Search and select NAICS codes. 

Example:  Art Institute of Chicago.
 

SRDS (Standard Rate and Data Service).  Provides advertising costs for periodicals and other traditional media.  Information for each periodical includes General Information, Contacts, Circulation, Rates and Policies, Issues and Specs (Special Feature Issues), and Brand Portfolio.  Type the periodical name in the search box, click the dropdown arrow to the right of All Media, and check the Title Only box. For a list with "art" in the title, type "art" in the search box and check Title Only. For complete periodical information, click on the title link.

Examples: Opera News or Art in America

Specialized Marketing Databases

Factiva (Dow Jones).  “Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data.”  Updated daily.

Business Tutorial: Factiva

Mintel Academic.  Provides thematic reports on industries and demographic groups.  Research question: “How do I market to group X?”  

  

University Reporter (Formerly MRI+) .  "consolidates, in one convenient place, many of the databases used to evaluate magazines or seeking directory and editorial information. It has a powerful search and access capability, plus a cost-planning module. MRI+ is a library of key magazine planning data resources providing an information link between the planner and publisher. Mediamark Research Inc. is the leading provider of magazine audience data to the advertising and marketing communities. We produce this data rich resource as an extension of our comprehensive single-source media/marketing database. MRI clients also get access to our Reporter database that provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from our national probability sample of 27,000 households.” Includes Mediamark reporter system. 

Business Tutorial: University Reporter (Formerly MRI+)

 

Librarian